We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great disappointment - dreary and cramped.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A great disappointment - dreary and cramped.”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I really had wanted to like this - I enjoy the quirky and non-chain type hotel but this was quite a disappointment. It is in a very good location for Port Townsend, near the main street but quiet, and with its own parking but the interior was not so much quaint as depressing. It is clean enough, but quite tired, and the furniture all looked like things my grandmother would have thrown away . We were on the second floor (up a very steep flight of steps from the street entrance -and there is no offer of assistance) in a double suite. The bedroom and living room, with small kitchenette, were cramped and the bathroom was in need of an upgrade. There is an odd smell abotut the common parts that the air freshener could not quite overcome. The breakfast basket (you decide the day before and it is left, promptly, at your choice of an early or late slot) was adequate but in cheerless little packets. Fortunately the weather was good in Port Townsend as we spent as little time in the room as possible. The 'gardens' which appear charming on the website were almost entirely taken up with a drooping marquee.

One very good feature, however, was the complimentary entry to the Athletic Club just down the street. It didn't look very promising from the outside but is large and very well equipped inside.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    113
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
96
186
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Make sure to check this gem out before you book somewhere else. This is a lovely place to stay and it it one of a kind.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmayerdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
We pride ourselves on providing a unique and memorable hotel experience in Port Townsend, and we are very glad that you feel the same way! Thank you for sharing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The front desk at the Bishop Victorian was very pleasant and accommodating. I stayed in a one bedroom suite which was quite spacious and clean. I received my breakfast in a small basket outside my door. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were nice. The hotel is located centrally and within walking distance to most of the retail area including restaurants and shops.

On the negative side - you would REALLY have to enjoy Victorian decor to stay there. I had to climb stairs with heavy luggage to my room. It was very dark and depressing inside my room with poor lighting. The room was not pleasant enough for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coppersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Bishop Victorian Hotel. We’re happy that you enjoyed the amenities we offer here. We pride ourselves on our authentic Victorian atmosphere- including the grand staircases, ambient lighting, and antique decorations. Yet, we understand that this style doesn’t appeal to everyone. We’re sorry that you didn’t find this aesthetic to your liking. Perhaps during your next visit to Port Townsend you can stay at our sister hotel, the Swan, which boasts a more nautical, casual atmosphere and has 8 rooms on the first floor to choose from. Our 4 cottages even have skylights, allowing for a sunnier, cheerier hotel experience. We look forward to seeing you at the Swan in the future!

Sincerely,
The Bishop Victorian Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stayed at the Bishop Victorian for one night and really enjoyed the quaint old building. The front desk service was excellent at check in and they recommended local restaurants and hiking ideas. The building is very nice and the room (which was a suite) was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beijingres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

A very quiet hotel, but close to downtown. A nice breakfast is included and left on your doorstep. The staff is very helpful. The gardens are very pretty - often used for weddings. The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor require a trip up some very steep stairs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sazzijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at the Bishop over the 4th of July weekend. The staff was very freindly and helpful. The room was very nice and cozy. Very clean. The hotel is a great location and within walking distance to almost anything. We will definitly stay there again when in PT Townsend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jiggy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Looking for accommodation in Port Townsend proved tricky and The Bishop seemed to be the best choice in a limited field - we wouldn't normally choose a "Victorian" themed place to stay. Unsurprisingly, the decor and atmosphere was not to our taste and our opinion of the hotel is clearly affected by that.
First impression was of a dark, heavily furnished reception though the welcome was warm and our room was ready. We were travelling with a friend, so chose a two bedroom fireplace suite when we booked, knowing it to be on the first floor. However, our room was reached by one steep flight of stairs, directly accessed from a second front door. Our friend, who doesn't find climbing stairs easy found this very daunting indeed.
Our suite, number 16, consisted of two small bedrooms, each with a Queen bed with a sitting room with kitchenette corner and a bathroom. All were adequately but not generously fitted out and we felt it was dowdy and tired. The beds were made up with blankets and a pretty quilt, but could have been crisper and more inviting.
The complimentary breakfast, ordered by 9pm the previous evening, is delivered in a basket and left outside the room at either 7am or 9am. Consisting of a collection of individual portions of cereals, milk and juice with either bagel or croissant in a shrink wrap, it was again adequate but somewhat joyless.
Other people may well be charmed by the Victorian atmosphere, but truthfully, this wasn't at all to our taste. As we checked out, we discovered that we were charged for our stay when we checked in - something which we had not realised.
In conclusion, The Bishop was an adequate and well located place for a couple of nights in Port Townsend, but ultimately didn't enhance our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We’re excited to hear that you tried something new by staying at the Bishop Victorian Hotel, despite Victorian atmosphere not usually being to your liking. We acknowledge that old-world charm such as stairs-only access and antique decoration doesn’t suit everyone’s tastes. Perhaps a stay at our maritime-inspired Swan hotel during your next visit to Port Townsend would better suit your needs.

As for the check-in, we do process payment at the start of your stay, which leaves you free to check-out on the day you leave without any hassles or waiting. In regards to our continental breakfast, we have noted your suggestions and are in the process of re-vamping our menu so as to offer more choices and convenience to our guests.

Thank you again for going out of your element to give our hotel a try.

Sincerely,
The Bishop Victorian Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
540 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Property: Bishop Victorian Hotel
Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing