We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good attention to details but not my favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The front desk at the Bishop Victorian was very pleasant and accommodating. I stayed in a one bedroom suite which was quite spacious and clean. I received my breakfast in a small basket outside my door. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were nice. The hotel is located centrally and within walking distance to most of the retail area including restaurants and shops.

On the negative side - you would REALLY have to enjoy Victorian decor to stay there. I had to climb stairs with heavy luggage to my room. It was very dark and depressing inside my room with poor lighting. The room was not pleasant enough for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coppersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Bishop Victorian Hotel. We’re happy that you enjoyed the amenities we offer here. We pride ourselves on our authentic Victorian atmosphere- including the grand staircases, ambient lighting, and antique decorations. Yet, we understand that this style doesn’t appeal to everyone. We’re sorry that you didn’t find this aesthetic to your liking. Perhaps during your next visit to Port Townsend you can stay at our sister hotel, the Swan, which boasts a more nautical, casual atmosphere and has 8 rooms on the first floor to choose from. Our 4 cottages even have skylights, allowing for a sunnier, cheerier hotel experience. We look forward to seeing you at the Swan in the future!

Sincerely,
The Bishop Victorian Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 361 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stayed at the Bishop Victorian for one night and really enjoyed the quaint old building. The front desk service was excellent at check in and they recommended local restaurants and hiking ideas. The building is very nice and the room (which was a suite) was comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beijingres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

A very quiet hotel, but close to downtown. A nice breakfast is included and left on your doorstep. The staff is very helpful. The gardens are very pretty - often used for weddings. The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor require a trip up some very steep stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sazzijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at the Bishop over the 4th of July weekend. The staff was very freindly and helpful. The room was very nice and cozy. Very clean. The hotel is a great location and within walking distance to almost anything. We will definitly stay there again when in PT Townsend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jiggy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Looking for accommodation in Port Townsend proved tricky and The Bishop seemed to be the best choice in a limited field - we wouldn't normally choose a "Victorian" themed place to stay. Unsurprisingly, the decor and atmosphere was not to our taste and our opinion of the hotel is clearly affected by that.
First impression was of a dark, heavily furnished reception though the welcome was warm and our room was ready. We were travelling with a friend, so chose a two bedroom fireplace suite when we booked, knowing it to be on the first floor. However, our room was reached by one steep flight of stairs, directly accessed from a second front door. Our friend, who doesn't find climbing stairs easy found this very daunting indeed.
Our suite, number 16, consisted of two small bedrooms, each with a Queen bed with a sitting room with kitchenette corner and a bathroom. All were adequately but not generously fitted out and we felt it was dowdy and tired. The beds were made up with blankets and a pretty quilt, but could have been crisper and more inviting.
The complimentary breakfast, ordered by 9pm the previous evening, is delivered in a basket and left outside the room at either 7am or 9am. Consisting of a collection of individual portions of cereals, milk and juice with either bagel or croissant in a shrink wrap, it was again adequate but somewhat joyless.
Other people may well be charmed by the Victorian atmosphere, but truthfully, this wasn't at all to our taste. As we checked out, we discovered that we were charged for our stay when we checked in - something which we had not realised.
In conclusion, The Bishop was an adequate and well located place for a couple of nights in Port Townsend, but ultimately didn't enhance our stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

We’re excited to hear that you tried something new by staying at the Bishop Victorian Hotel, despite Victorian atmosphere not usually being to your liking. We acknowledge that old-world charm such as stairs-only access and antique decoration doesn’t suit everyone’s tastes. Perhaps a stay at our maritime-inspired Swan hotel during your next visit to Port Townsend would better suit your needs.

As for the check-in, we do process payment at the start of your stay, which leaves you free to check-out on the day you leave without any hassles or waiting. In regards to our continental breakfast, we have noted your suggestions and are in the process of re-vamping our menu so as to offer more choices and convenience to our guests.

Thank you again for going out of your element to give our hotel a try.

Sincerely,
The Bishop Victorian Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Port Townsend is nice and the location of the hotel is fine, but I think the carpets were still original from Victorian times and very, very dusty. I suffered badly from allergies, and was glad we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steffi32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

We’re sorry to hear that your allergies were aggravated during your stay here. Although, our décor may be antique in style, it is upheld to modern cleaning standards. All of our rooms and common areas are serviced by our housekeeping staff daily. However, in light of your difficulties we will now review our housekeeping policies and see if we can add more hypo-allergenic cleaning procedures to our repertoire.

We greatly appreciate your business and thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
The Bishop Victorian Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This hotel was great! We arrived in Port Townsend on a Tuesday afternoon at the end of May and had not booked anywhere to stay. We stopped at the Visitor Info Centre and they gave us lots of suggestions for accommodation but said the Bishop was probably the best choice. We arrived at the hotel and the lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful. She said there were three rooms available so she gave us the prices and the keys and let us check out the rooms before we made a choice. We ended up choosing #18, corner room, king size bed, great room! All the rooms are suites with kitchens, HD tv and Internet hook up. She even gave us a deal because it was mid week! The location of the hotel was perfect, a block off the main street so it was quiet but close to lots of great places to eat and shop. We had a great stay here and wish we could have stayed longer, we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBHBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

We’re so glad that you took the time to share your positive experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We strive to make each room as comfortable and convenient as possible, with every room having the amenities you mentioned as well as DVD players, wired internet access, fireplaces, continental breakfast and Port Townsend Athletic Club access. Come visit us this fall and take advantage of our new Mid-Week Specials Package and save $60-90 on your stay!

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
269 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $148 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing