We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This is a true Victorian Hotel, one street back from the main street and waterfront of town. Midweek nights in April are quiet. The gas fireplace was on when we entered, but excellent cross-ventilation from opened windows got the temperature to our liking. The bed was huge and the bath was clean and modern. The kitchenette had a fridge, sink and microwave. The two flights of stairs were steep and the stair carpet was somewhat worn. ADA accommodations were not obvious, so enquire when checking on a reservation. Restaurants and all of downtown are within walking distance, but something like a grocery is 1/2 mile away. Access to fitness center.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigCBellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Bishop Victorian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 358 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2011

This was an overnight stop on our way to Seattle and we were very happy we paused here! The hotel has the perfect ambiance to reflect the small town feel of Port Townsend. In an old cigar factory, it has been updated to provide comfort with a kitchenette and a modern and very clean bathroom. Nice touches throughout, we found it very cozy and comfortable. We had a one bedroom suite on the third floor for our family of four which was certainly adequate but don't expect "spacious"...it is in an old building, after all! The staff was wonderful and provided a very nice breakfast basket which others have mentioned. One warning: if you are on the third floor, try to travel light...I think I remember counting 48 steps on the way up...but it was worth the exercise!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to check out our hotel during your stop in Port Townsend. We’re glad you enjoyed the unique character of our hotel, with its mix of old-world ambiance and modern amenities. During your next stay with us, in order to avoid using the Victorian era grand staircase, perhaps one of the two ground-floor suites would suit you best. Also, our sister hotel The Swan, located two blocks North of the Bishop Victorian, has four studio rooms and four cozy cottages located on the ground floor that may meet your needs as well.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

When visiting Port Townsend, there are a number of historic hotels. What that means is that the rooms are on the second and third floors which requires carrying luggage up several steps. Travelers with bad legs or bad hearts may want to avoid climbing so many steps. We found the Bishop Victorian Hotel to be cozy with a very friendly staff/owner. The location is in the heart of Port Townsend which made it very convenient to go shopping . We stayed in Room 11 on the second floor which consisted of a sitting room with a kitchette, bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom was sparse, but the sitting room was tastefully decorated. We will stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PacNWTraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I visited with my sweetie for a weekend getaway and had a wonderful time. The Bishop is centrally located, the staff were friendly, the room was clean and very nice, and it was just what we were looking for. The continental breakfast was waiting in a basket outside our door in the morning. It was a little out of our price range, but I am glad we decided to stay anyway, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I came here for business but would certainly come back here for a weekend with friends/romantic getaway. I upgraded to a bigger room (#19) and it was great - spacious, mini kitchen, very cozy and comfy and quaint. turning on the little fireplace to eat my continental breakfast - delivered in a basket to my DOOR! - made me very happy. Very comfortable bed, no tub but a shower. Loads of stairs going up so if you're not overly mobile it could be a challenge, but it was worth the hoof up the stairs. Great sitting areas in and outside the room, coffee provided and walkable to everything in the historical part of PT.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We ended up in town unexpectedly and all of our usual places don't take kids under 12. When we called, the staff was so warm and friendly, such a difference from some other establishments. The hotel is an older property that has a great feel to it. Lots of stairs up to the top, not the largest or most modern rooms, but very charming, clean and welcoming. They left a breakfast basket outside our door that was a nice treat to wake up to. The location is perfect for exploring the town on-foot. Very happy with our stay and we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2weeksis2little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We loved our stay at this victorian hotel. The location was perfect for walking around town. The bed was comfortable, we liked the flat screen TV and sitting area. The front desk service was great. She helped us with a ferry reservation and gave us maps of the town. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
268 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
53 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $149 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing