We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Dissappointed!!”
Review of The Belmont Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Belmont Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So Dissappointed!!”
Reviewed May 9, 2007

My husband and I planned a trip to Port Townsend during Spring Break for 3 days. We booked 2 nights at The Belmont. We were SO dissappointed that we stayed only 1 night and moved over to the Waterfront Hotel the next night.
Our first impression of the Belmont was the musty smell that greeted us as we walked up the stairs to our room, a waterside room with a loft. We walked into our room, at first liking the ambience. But quickly our enthusiam dwindled as we walked through a cloud of flies, circling around the bed. Yes, there was the bird poop streaking the windows but at least it was on the outside! We talked to the person at the front desk regarding the flies who said she would have someone spray some insect spray. WHAT!? There was no way I wanted Insecticides filling our airless room. (You couldn't open the windows and the fan couldn't be kept on at night....there was no way to turn the light off)
The room was clean though but did not provide shampoo for our morning shower. For $105.00 a night, you would think the small amenities should be provided. We were credited for the 2nd night but it would have been nice to hear "I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay".
Stay clear of The Belmont, we are!

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Lots of flies in our room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
13
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

The Vienna Suites has some great potential!
Room 302 has newer flooring, except for the bathroom. The sheets were clean and the beds very comfy. And the view was great! But it could use a good cleaning! Where to start: a previous guests ice cream was still in the freezer, there were crumbs in the kitchen drawers, there was confetti under the cushions of the sofa, there was dust on the insides of the window seal, there was a year-old newspaper in the drawer of the coffee table, and the light above the dining room table never completely turned off.
All of those things could easily be fixed in a days worth of work. Now the grimy carpets in the hallways would need more time to replace those.
I also found it odd that hotel guests were sharing the same halls as permanent tenants. Although we only every saw one other person.
We were looking for quaint with a water view. The quaint didn't really meet our standards, however.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OregonTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Townsend hotels

Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2007

First of all, there are no longer buckets in the hallway. The roof/leak issues appear to have been resolved. The room was a bit chilly, but it's an old building with huge windows and a 12 foot ceiling, so not too surprising. Also, it was very cold and windy when we were there. There is a small heater vent in the wall that can be adjusted, which we kept cranked on high. The room was tidy, the bathroom was huge, and while maybe not "spotless", it was clean.
I was also pleasantly surprised with the restaurant, it was way better than I expected, and the best whiskey sours ever from the bar!
Someone mentioned to not expect a good night sleep because it's next to the saloon. The bar has a class H license, so it closes when the kitchen does. We hear absolutely no noise from the street or the bar. And that smell in the hallways? That's history, people! Really, it wasn't bad, it just smells like an old building. It may not be the Hilton, but it's a cool, old place with lots of history and character. We were perfectly happy for a place right in town for under $100!

  • Liked — The character.
  • Disliked — chilly
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrsk02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2006

What a gross experience. The toilet was covered with pubic hair and everything was dirty. When asked to get the bathroom cleaned again, it was as if i asked for their first born! One response was, "It's an old hotel. Sometimes it looks dirty, but really isn't." There was a paper on the coffee table from 4 months ago. There was a random paper towel with a glass print on the bedside table. It was dirty and gross. The only positive thing i can say is it had a nice view, through poop stained windowns (pictured...and i read another review saying the same thing!). Veer clear!

  • Disliked — DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LissyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2006

Wow - what a beautiful, charming place this was. We had the Allen room with the king sleigh bed and both of us never had a better night's sleep! One of us has arthritis and slept pain free for both night's. Bruce and Sherry, our Innkeepers were awesome! They gave us much info on the surrounding area, restaurant menu's, boats to sail, etc. We followed their lead and had a great time for two days. The gourmet breakfasts were excellent; fresh fruit, spinach egg cups and the orange yogurt pancakes were to die for! We enjoyed our morning coffee on the wrap around porch overlooking Sherry's (a Master Gardener) gorgeous garden. Town is a short 5 minute walk away. Although we did not experience the afternoon tea, there was chocolate mousse cake awaiting us until 9:30 p.m. each night. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast and would stay there again. It just doesn't get any better than this!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardengirl1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 15, 2006

I was in shock! This place is terrible. DO NOT STAY AT THE BELLMONT HOTEL!!! I have attached photos of the lobby, complete with a flurry of carpet stains, dirty buckets and a couple pictures of the rotting ceiling. Enjoy!

I have stayed at the Belmont a few times in the past. I used to use words like "charm" and "rustic" now words like dilapidated and disgusting are more appropriate. The service is even worse. Another note - don't expect regular housekeeping service, and if they do arrive, don't expect much. They don't vacuum, clean the bathroom or dust.

Do yourself a favor - stay at the Palace hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 5, 2006

normally when i stay at a hotel i go for posh. i spare no expense, and want the best. i've paid upwards of 300 dollars for a night. but this time we were getting in late and leaving early, so it didn't matter. this one was fairly priced, and right in the middle of everything. so we took it,and made reservations. we stayed in #2 (street side). when we got there the staff was helpfull, and informative. guided us to late night eateries, and all. we went to the room. and when we got in it was cold (the only dissapointment). it quickly warmed up once i turned on the heater. the setting was rustic, with the original walla from the late 1800s! huge vaulted ceilings, and floor to ceiling windows to boot! the furniture was upscale rustic, to match the decor. and it had a ladder up to a loft! oh man, what a blast, i felt like a kid! we slept up there, like it was a treefort! ha ha! but there was a bed on the main floor, too. and the bathroom had stairs up into it as well! i love the architechture! nice, quiet, and like i said, right in the middle of water street (downtown). in the morning i had the previous days newspaper to read (complimentary with the room), and coffee. when we checked out they were very helpfull to telling us where to go for food, shopping, and fun. the entire town was like this, just very kind, and friendly! we are most defenitely coming back to stay at the belmont! we also checked out the manresa castle, and it was more expensive, and not nearly as comforting, or exciting!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
1.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#9 of 11 in Port Townsend
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Inn

Property: The Belmont Inn
Address: 925 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel Port Townsend
Belmont Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing