We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Belmont Charm & Gardens”
Review of The Belmont Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Belmont Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Reviewed July 10, 2006

Wow - what a beautiful, charming place this was. We had the Allen room with the king sleigh bed and both of us never had a better night's sleep! One of us has arthritis and slept pain free for both night's. Bruce and Sherry, our Innkeepers were awesome! They gave us much info on the surrounding area, restaurant menu's, boats to sail, etc. We followed their lead and had a great time for two days. The gourmet breakfasts were excellent; fresh fruit, spinach egg cups and the orange yogurt pancakes were to die for! We enjoyed our morning coffee on the wrap around porch overlooking Sherry's (a Master Gardener) gorgeous garden. Town is a short 5 minute walk away. Although we did not experience the afternoon tea, there was chocolate mousse cake awaiting us until 9:30 p.m. each night. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast and would stay there again. It just doesn't get any better than this!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardengirl1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 77 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Washington
17
Reviewed May 15, 2006

I was in shock! This place is terrible. DO NOT STAY AT THE BELLMONT HOTEL!!! I have attached photos of the lobby, complete with a flurry of carpet stains, dirty buckets and a couple pictures of the rotting ceiling. Enjoy!

I have stayed at the Belmont a few times in the past. I used to use words like "charm" and "rustic" now words like dilapidated and disgusting are more appropriate. The service is even worse. Another note - don't expect regular housekeeping service, and if they do arrive, don't expect much. They don't vacuum, clean the bathroom or dust.

Do yourself a favor - stay at the Palace hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
silverdale washington
13
Reviewed March 5, 2006

normally when i stay at a hotel i go for posh. i spare no expense, and want the best. i've paid upwards of 300 dollars for a night. but this time we were getting in late and leaving early, so it didn't matter. this one was fairly priced, and right in the middle of everything. so we took it,and made reservations. we stayed in #2 (street side). when we got there the staff was helpfull, and informative. guided us to late night eateries, and all. we went to the room. and when we got in it was cold (the only dissapointment). it quickly warmed up once i turned on the heater. the setting was rustic, with the original walla from the late 1800s! huge vaulted ceilings, and floor to ceiling windows to boot! the furniture was upscale rustic, to match the decor. and it had a ladder up to a loft! oh man, what a blast, i felt like a kid! we slept up there, like it was a treefort! ha ha! but there was a bed on the main floor, too. and the bathroom had stairs up into it as well! i love the architechture! nice, quiet, and like i said, right in the middle of water street (downtown). in the morning i had the previous days newspaper to read (complimentary with the room), and coffee. when we checked out they were very helpfull to telling us where to go for food, shopping, and fun. the entire town was like this, just very kind, and friendly! we are most defenitely coming back to stay at the belmont! we also checked out the manresa castle, and it was more expensive, and not nearly as comforting, or exciting!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2006

Do not stay in the Vienna Suites. The hallway had a musky bad smell that never went away. Our room was dirty; shower curtain full of mold, dust on everything including the tv remote, it’s furnishings were cheap college room type. There cleaning each day consists of exchanging the towels – nothing else! Bird poop covers the windows – some of the wall heaters are missing their switches. If we had been staying any longer we would have switched to another hotel. The only nice things was a great view of the water (around the bird poop).

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SeattleGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brooklyn, New York
12
Reviewed November 9, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Belmont on the fourth day of our honeymoon, having discovered it right here on the TripAdvisor pages. We figured the folks who gave it bad reviews just weren't the kind of folks who should have stayed here in the first place, but we probably were. We were right. The Belmont has character out the wazoo. We stayed in one of the sea-facing rooms, which seemed like they were probably commercial spaces originally, maybe something shipping-related. The room was HUGE, the ceilings about 18 feet high, and the walls were brick, with one covered in antique (or antiqued -- not sure) wallpaper. The woodwork seemed all original, from the 1880s or 90s, and in back, above the bathroom via a laddar, was this weird little additional sleeping loft, which kids would just love. Yes, like some of the other reviews say, the amazingly high hallway ceiling has leaks (though our room was warm and dry), and yeah, there's pretty much no service (you check in at the restaurant's reception desk downstairs), but who cares? With all this character, we wanted to just move in and stay. If you love unique old properties that set your imaginations going, this is a goodie.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2005

Yes, there is still bird poo on the outside windows, the bathrooms smell of mold and the place could use a huge cleaning. I would not advise using the ceiling fan. There has to be two inches of dust piled on the blades. You can also add more inches of dust all over the cornices and doors. I'm no Joan Crawford but you could visibly see the dust build up from the bed. Oh and don't even think of using the loft in room 3. The ceiling has come down and there is moldy, exposed, bare framework with hanging broken drywall.

Also, a note to parents with infants: the waterfront rooms are not safe for kids. Both room 3 and 4 have rickety french style doors that are to let the bugs and air in but have no lower railings to keep kids from literally falling out of the room and you are on the second floor. In room 3, there is no real latch to secure the doors shut either.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elitistgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2005

The Belmont is the best place to stay even though thirs buckets lignd on the floor but not in the rooms!! The food is exelent complments to the cook Bill. Their a little too many stairs its still the best places in the world!! You nshould come and stay at the hotell and eat the great food thay make.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.1 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
365 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Inn

Address: 925 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel Port Townsend
Belmont Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing