We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little fix up & disclosure goes a long way”
Review of The Belmont Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Belmont Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It is a real shame that this hotel with such excellent character is not living up to its potential. A little more pride in the property will go a long way.

We stayed in Room 2 on the street side in august for a number of days. The weather was wonderful, no rain.

I would not stay here again until the owners realize that age (historic) is only charming when everything functions well, is clean, and key information is provided. We am very forgiving in what we will put up with but the lack of disclosure and lack of apparent interest to addressing negative key issues noted in many reviews and below will prevent me from considering this accommodation in the future.

I cannot imagine if we had been in this room if it had been a big event weekend and or it had been raining the whole time. The noise would have been intolerable and the parking impossible if it had been an event weekend. If it had been raining I'm sure I would have not wanted to remain in this room for hours at a time during the day.

They need to quit using the age of building as a excuse for its lack of room upgrades and improvements. New carpet, new window blinds, and regular cleaning of the windows. It also needs more attention to housekeeping - regular cleaning of the whole room (move the light weight furniture) and bathroom, and dusting (look at the bed head board more closely).

We know about "historical" requirements for buildings, they do not prevent you from painting the front entry door - it looks crappy and it's very close to embarrassing to use it.

None of these improvements will cost a great deal in labor or materials and especially not when you consider the return they will generate. Also, fix the ceiling that has large bubbles from water leakage - no room should be made available to the public that has leaked and will continue to leak if it rains.

Disclose to everyone that they will have to climb a very tall, steep staircase (20+ steps) to access their room (there are no ADA support systems at all). That there is no valet service to carry their bags, no one is at a front desk to address needs overnight and that parking is not designated - street parking only and limited to two hour intervals only during the day M-F. The windows are single pane, they offer no noise blockage to any sound - cars, people, music, seagulls, crows, ferry horns, etc. There is no TV, no fridge, no microwave (a fact, not necessarily bad). It is just a room with bed, basin and bathroom.

I can only assume that the water side rooms are a bit quieter (cost more). You will always have the ferry, birds all day, etc. Sound really travels - don't forget.


Pros:
Great location
Not over priced for the area
Unique rooms with charm
Comfortable bed
Fast and reliable wi-fi
Friendly service but not focused on the hotel clientele (they are running the restaurant and that is obviously their priority)
No one available if you have any needs during the late night, early morning.

Cons:
Several maintenance issues which could be easily resolved
Old blinds were not really effective and top windows allow light to stream in
No microwave or refrigerator
General cleanliness could be improved
Lack of disclosure - see notes above

Room Tip: Check other hotels in the area. Consider a B&B, rentals in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JB C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to pt for years and always love staying at this hotel! The rooms over look the water and some have lofts. The kids love it! Downstairs they have a restaurant with great deck... Good food and drinks. Will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I spent two nights here with my sisters. We had an impressive king size bed and another bed in the loft. We enjoyed the view from the windows out onto the bay; relaxing to the sound of the water and the birds. Port Townsend is a great place to visit with lots of interesting old buildings, good shopping and restaurants. In the evening we went to the Rose Theatre to see "Kon Tiki", and as a result we didn't miss not having a TV at the hotel. Even though we enjoyed this historic inn we agreed that the general lack of cleanliness and difficulty picking up Wifi in the room was an issue for us. Without improvements I wouldn't recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Room 4 is on the ocean side and has great views, it also has two beds. The second bed is in the lof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowknifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I spent Thanksgiving and the day after at the hotel. It is like a step back in time. The room reminds one of how it would be to stay in Port Townsend in the early 1900s. Our room had two large windows that looked out on the bay with a gorgeous view. The bed was king size and had a massive wood frame. The bathroom was modern and clean. It is necessary however to overlook some spots on the carpet and a few other disadvantages. The steps up to the room are long and steep. There is on street parking, requiring moving our car a couple of times on Friday. Overall however we appreciate a hotel and room with character as opposed to the modern chain hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 259Jimdandy259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights here for a wedding. There are only 4 rooms in this hotel above the saloon and restaurant downstairs. There is no TV in the room, but it was spacious and a large comfortable King Size bed. They have wi-fi and it is clean. The building is from the 1800's so don't expect anything modern, although the bathroom had been updated. The rate was very reasonable and we would stay there again. Just a really different style of accommodation, if you are into something different and want to feel like you are living in the 1800's check it out, there is some great history to the place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trav69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had called ahead to see if they were "handicap accessible" The man said, they had 6 steps up to the area with the water view, and that they would help get the person up there. I also asked if there were gluten free choices, and he said yes! I have eaten there many times, but we were meeting out of town guests coming over from Whidbey. We entered and were treated like royalty! Sean was our waiter and he went over and above for us. Our guest in the wheelchair was overwhelmed at how she was treated. She was able to climb the 6 steps, with our waiter Sean by her side. She even got a sample of wine so she could choose which one she wanted. Another one of our guests was a little girl who has multiple genetic problems. He spoke with her, made her laugh and it was amazing. Our food was excellent!! The crab and artichoke sandwich is still as good as ever. We were allowed to sit and visit after our meal and were never made to feel rushed!!! Thank you to owner Rick and waiter Sean for the outstanding service!!!! We will be back!!

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel, but I will check it out if we need to spend the night in the future!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

we arrived without reservations, so had a little wait for a outside table. Nice view of Puget Sound.
The wait staff was scattered and we ended up with the owners wife waiting on us. She was very nice, but you could tell she wasn't a wait person. I had the Salmon with Crab dollup and Shredded Baked potato - EXCELLENT meal. My Wife had the crab stuffed Sole. Again, excellent over a bottle of Riesling and a coffee nudge for dessert. We had a good experience here and highly recommend them for seafood.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamasGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.1 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
364 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
300 reviews
17.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Inn

Address: 925 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel Port Townsend
Belmont Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing