We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost on par for cost” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Belmont Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Belmont Inn
Save
You added The Belmont Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost on par for cost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is my first review so I am trying to remain objective. Our experience here was not overly good or bad but about right for the price of the room. I will say that it is a shame that a hotel with such excellent character is not living up to its potential. With a few simple and cheap tweaks this hotel would not only satisfy a lot more guests, the owners could charge a little extra for what could be a great experience in a time where chain hotels blanket the industry. We stayed in room #2 on the street side.

A few items I noticed which were detrimental to our experience included hair in the bath tub, flies buzzing around reception foyer for hotel/restaurant, no microwave or fridge (no TV either which I think is a positive) and thin windows allowed a bit of the street noise in as well as the blinds which did not cover the top windows.

Pros:
Great location
Unique rooms with charm
Comfortable bed
Fast and reliable wi-fi
Friendly service

Cons:
Several maintenance issues which could be easily resolved
Old blinds were not really effective and top windows allow light to stream in
No microwave or refrigerator
General cleanliness could be improved

It seems as though the owners have lost pride in this hotel. With a little capital, attention to detail and minor maintenance this place could be transformed into a real gem. I probably would not stay here again until the owners realised that age is only charming when everything is still functional.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DangerousDave123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
12
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I don't usually write reviews, but I felt the need to write one about this place. This has to be the least enjoyable hotel I have stayed in! There were some perks: the location is right downtown, the beds are comfortable, our room was right on the water, the room was spacious and the staff was very friendly. BUT the room was dirty, a dirty sock was under the bed, the sheets & towels smelled like sour laundry, no TV, the bathroom ceiling paint was peeling & falling as you showered, and the separate entrance to the rooms reminded me a little of something out of a horror movie! Definitely would not recommend! Try the Bishop hotel...or the Palace hotel as a second choice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jkkatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Townsend hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The hotel is an old historic building on the Water Street. The room could have been very charming - and it was by itself but the very old (and I don't mean antique) and worn out furniture made an unfavourable impression. Though the bed was good, and the unit overall was clean and spacios. Be aware of no TV in the rooms - if the weather is nice - it's OK - the old town is very pretty, but if it is rainy - it is not too much to do. Bring a good book!
The location is perfect though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 888Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We read the negative reviews, but decided to book, anyway; we don't mind a little adventure now and then. We're really glad we did! It's a very old building, charming quirks, and it's stayed authentic, so we expected her so show her age. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfy with nice linens, room and bath were generously sized, bath was suitably appointed. We chose the street side, because it was just the two of us and we preferred to see the town at night. We booked for $54/night, so I rated one dot higher than I otherwise would have: A comfortable room in such a great location for this price is magnificent! Hope we can do it again.

Room Tip: Water side rooms show more wear, but they have lofts with room for more guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merrywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed in room 3, with a water view. There were bleach stains on the dark coloured carpet. No TV in the room. Old phone took over 30 seconds to get dial tone after dialing 9. No Kleenex in the bathroom or bedroom. The formerly white towels were grey, stained and rough to the touch. The bath tub finish was so rough we decided not to bathe or shower rather than risk a pathogen. There is no insulation around the large windows. You can see daylight around them. Cob webs in the loft. We did not sleep well, so left a 5:30 AM, just to get out of there. We were on a 5000 KM trip and stayed in 6 hotels along the way. This was the worst hotel. We consider it our $100.00 lesson in 'how not to choose a hotel'.

Room Tip: Don't be distracted by the view when checking out a room. Look behind doors and in the armoire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank McBab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
133 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Belmont Inn is located right in the Old Town section of Port Townsend overlooking Puget Sound. The Belmont only has 4 rooms: 2 on the water side and 2 facing the street side. We booked a streetside room for only $50/night, which I thought was a bargain! The room was large, the bed was extremely comfortable, the room was clean (keep in mind the building is over 120 years old), the heating was good (small wall heater, but heated the room quickly) and the staff were friendly. The hotel is full of character.

If you don't enjoy small town charm then you probably won't like Port Townsend or the Belmont Inn. But, if you do enjoy small towns that work hard to retain the old town feel, then you will enjoy the Belmont. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Surmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Anybody reading these whiny ,sarcastic remarks should completely ignore them. We come from Seattle at least once a year in the dead of winter when its quiet and affordable. Again this year for Christmas. This is a really fun place to stay,wonderful rooms plenty of restaurants around the harbor. People stop gripping ,just because its not your own home doesn't mean it can't be fun...it's all what you make of it. Clearly your imagination is getting the best of you. These people who run this place are not your personal servants. They are probably struggling just like everyone else. I have spent 8 years in Europe ...awesome there to. Be grateful people,if you don't have something nice to add keep it to yourself. We are making our reservation as we speak for Christmas of 2011. Grow up ,we are all in this together.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 424Douger424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.1 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Inn

Property: The Belmont Inn
Address: 925 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel Port Townsend
Belmont Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing