We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Takaki House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Takaki House
Ranked #7 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed in the garden room for two nights. The room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. There is a small kitchenette in the room, as well. So, you get almost everything you need at a relatively lower price. The deck and the garden has a gorgeous view. The house is filled with decorative sculpture and is nicely located so, you can walk to almost everywhere. Our host, Margaret, was also very kind. All in all, if Takaki House is available, do not look for any other place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Durgun_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed two nights in the studio suite on a recent cycling trip. It is a great location for exploring Port Townsend and the deck offers a spectacular view of the harbour. The suite was clean and comfortable. I read one review and was worried about the town hall bells ringing because I am a light sleeper but this definitely wasn't an issue. We paid significantly less in Coupeville for a more spacious, elegant suite including a hearty breakfast, but that may just be the difference in the accommodation market of two different places. For Takaki's price without breakfast, we found it adequate but not particularly noteworthy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

If the thought of a B&B makes your skin crawl, Takaki House is the antidote. Our host, Margaret, was accessible, but not doting...the space was elegant, art filled and cozy...not a doily in sight. The walk to downtown took seven minutes. Everything we needed was provided in this small but well designed guest house. The two decks provided panoramic views of the harbor and we were surrounded by Margaret's sculpture, both sophisticated and whimsical. We feel fortunate that we were able to spend three days at the Garden Room at Takaki House and will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

What I was looking for when I booked Takaki House was a convenient place to stay after our full day boat trip to the San Juan islands. What I should have done was to plan to spend more time at this lovely house. We stayed in the Garden Room which was beautifully decorated, amply stocked and incredibly comfortable. We also had access to the back deck with a great view of the Sound, and the garden patio. What a delight to wonder through all the gardens and admire Margaret's marvelous works of art. Next time we will rent the suite and stay much longer. Margaret Takaki was a perfect host and directed us to Port Townsend attractions and eateries. Don't miss this gem in Port Townsend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed at this property both in the studio and the two bedroom main house four times now. Each time was an absolutly relaxing treat. The property inside and out is always spotless and well maintained. The views from the patio are unobstructed Puget Sound, fruit trees and Art pieces strategically placed throughout meticulously maintained gardens. Margaret is the owner and operator of Takaki House and is one of the most interesting, artistic, no nonsense people you will ever meet. We will continue coming back to Takaki House and visiting Margaret.....oh and "Joe" the dog for many years to come.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueLuigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stay in the garden room and expect: peace and tranquility, a fully equipped kitchenette with everything you need to prepare your meals, a very comfortable bed, and a super nice host to boot. We did! We stayed 24-25 August while Margaret was participating in this year's Studio Tour. She is an exceptional artist--just amazing work of art and a sense that she truly enjoyed creating them. The backyard with views of the water is simply breathtaking. One simply feels secure and at peace with nature at this place. As Gen MacArthur said "We shall return!"

The Woods

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

From the time you enter the artistic metal gate, and view the wonderful courtyard, attention to detail is all around you. We were greeted with a personal note to 'come on in', and felt we could relax and totally come and go whenever we pleased. We stayed in the front garden room which is amazing for the details of the room and finishes. From the custom kitchenette to the artwork, it was visually fun and playful. This is not ideal for children per se, but for couples/group looking for an in-town respite from the Water Street scene, while still being within walking distance. Great sunrises and sunsets from the deck on the bay side! We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.5 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takaki House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takaki House

Property: Takaki House
Address: 1617 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6929
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Room at Takaki House - The experience begins when you enter the art filled courtyard. You have a private entrance to your home away from home complete with kitchenette, seating and dining area and of course a comfortable queen size bed with down comforter. The property is beautifully landscaped with private seating areas where you can enjoy the ocean and mountain views. You are a 10 minute walk from downtown Port Townsend. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing