We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic find”
Review of Takaki House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Takaki House
Ranked #8 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Golden, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a fantastic find”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

What I was looking for when I booked Takaki House was a convenient place to stay after our full day boat trip to the San Juan islands. What I should have done was to plan to spend more time at this lovely house. We stayed in the Garden Room which was beautifully decorated, amply stocked and incredibly comfortable. We also had access to the back deck with a great view of the Sound, and the garden patio. What a delight to wonder through all the gardens and admire Margaret's marvelous works of art. Next time we will rent the suite and stay much longer. Margaret Takaki was a perfect host and directed us to Port Townsend attractions and eateries. Don't miss this gem in Port Townsend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seattle
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed at this property both in the studio and the two bedroom main house four times now. Each time was an absolutly relaxing treat. The property inside and out is always spotless and well maintained. The views from the patio are unobstructed Puget Sound, fruit trees and Art pieces strategically placed throughout meticulously maintained gardens. Margaret is the owner and operator of Takaki House and is one of the most interesting, artistic, no nonsense people you will ever meet. We will continue coming back to Takaki House and visiting Margaret.....oh and "Joe" the dog for many years to come.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueLuigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stay in the garden room and expect: peace and tranquility, a fully equipped kitchenette with everything you need to prepare your meals, a very comfortable bed, and a super nice host to boot. We did! We stayed 24-25 August while Margaret was participating in this year's Studio Tour. She is an exceptional artist--just amazing work of art and a sense that she truly enjoyed creating them. The backyard with views of the water is simply breathtaking. One simply feels secure and at peace with nature at this place. As Gen MacArthur said "We shall return!"

The Woods

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

From the time you enter the artistic metal gate, and view the wonderful courtyard, attention to detail is all around you. We were greeted with a personal note to 'come on in', and felt we could relax and totally come and go whenever we pleased. We stayed in the front garden room which is amazing for the details of the room and finishes. From the custom kitchenette to the artwork, it was visually fun and playful. This is not ideal for children per se, but for couples/group looking for an in-town respite from the Water Street scene, while still being within walking distance. Great sunrises and sunsets from the deck on the bay side! We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a lovely and charming spot that is a couple block walk to town and incredible views. The rooms are peaceful and filled with imaginative art. The owner is an artist whose work is creative and original, and which covers her extraordinary and beautiful gardens. This is one of the loveliest places we have stated, and we are experienced travelers who have stayed in inns all over the world. We highly recommend this friendly, inviting, peaceful place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billtheprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
1.3 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Port Townsend
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takaki House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takaki House

Property: Takaki House
Address: 1617 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6929
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Room at Takaki House - The experience begins when you enter the art filled courtyard. You have a private entrance to your home away from home complete with kitchenette, seating and dining area and of course a comfortable queen size bed with down comforter. The property is beautifully landscaped with private seating areas where you can enjoy the ocean and mountain views. You are a 10 minute walk from downtown Port Townsend. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing