We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Blue Moose Cafe

Blue Moose Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

All the positive reviews are well-deserved. It was our first trip to this spot, but it will not be the last.
The place is small and full, even on a weekday morning around 10. The menu is varied and all the portions are really generous. The huevos rancheros are the best I have ever had, and that says a lot. The place was filled with mostly locals and I think that is always a good sign. It is a little difficult to find in the middle of a boatyard, but worth the extra looking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wenomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    70
    16
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

What an excellent little restaurant. The food is both excellent for the vegetarian and the bacon and ham lover. Great coffee. The staff are most excellent. Love the atmosphere. If you have to wait for a seat it's well worth the wait. It's great to go into a place and the cook really cares about what is coming out of the kitchen. Best of the BEST!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It's so hard to decide what to have, there is such a huge selection. Very popular with the locals and the people who work in the boat haven where it's located, close to the Safeway store. My elderly mother loves me to take her there for breakfast or lunch anytime. Friendly staff, hearty and delicious breakfasts, cozy, no frills spot.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Homestyle Comfort Food at the Boatyard”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

You would never know this restaurant was here unless someone told you how to find it . It is in the boatyard in a blue steel building that looks like all the other blue steel buildings ! Turn into the boatyard at the Safeway and McDonald's stoplight and go straight down the street ,toward the water about 1 minute, and look to your left ..there it is. (It is by PT Brewing , Sunrise Coffee (wholesale /retrail), Key City Fish Co. (wholesale /retail fresh fish- good chowder to go - and fish tacos .).

There is parking in front for 2-3 cars ... . Then there is parking across the street or anywhere in the boatyard..

This is a simple homestyle place with "grandma's home" feeling . It is a small place with maybe 10-12 tables, and 5 stools at the front counter where you can watch the cooks in action. .It may feel a bit too homey and too small for some people. It is very popular , and can be packed for breakfast any day I hear. Service was very good and friendly each time I have been there..

The food is down home with very generous portions, and inexpensive. Come really hungry and you will not be disappointed.

I have had the corned beef hash , with 2 fried eggs, and I can say it was enough to feed 2 very hungry big guys !(take half home with you ). It was excellent corned beef with cottage style potatoes . I have heard the huevos rancheros are very good, and the french toast is decadent. Big Plumpy pancakes are good too.

For a big down home style breakfast with local family people , this is a good place to eat . They are open from about 7 a m to 2 p m . They serve lunch too I hear ...breakfast ends at 11:30 a m .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank barryswobblyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a great Breakfast Joint!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were in Port Townsend for a weekend and tried the Blue Moose on a Saturday morning. It was so good we went back on Sunday for breakfast again! The place is small and fills up quick, on a Sat/Sun you will have to wait a bit to get in but well worth it. The staff are very friendly and it is quite a locals joint, but you feel very welcome. Any time in Port Townsend we will be back for sure!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trav69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moose Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing