We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Anniversary Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bungalow on The Bluff
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was the perfect spot for my husband and my seventh wedding anniversary. The location is perfect for anyone who wants to be within easy walking distance from town. We walked each of the three days we stayed. The hill that you have to walk down and up is small and both of us found it convenient. The rooms were clean and well prepared. Everything was as advertised. The tub was great and big enough to fit two, comfortably. And the mural on the wall is actually quite good, in our opinion. One highlight was that a family of deer live on the property and we were able to watch them eat, sleep and even play. That was the best part, in my opinion. The view from the front window is spectacular. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accommodations, Manager at A Bungalow on The Bluff, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hello

Your review really points out the highlights of staying at the Bungalow. With the view, the cleanliness, and the convenience of walking to all the shops and restaurants in downtown and uptown districts, you cant find a better location.

Everyone enjoys our big soaking jacuzzi tub after a day of exploring.

Thank you for your review and I hope to hear from you soon!

Marilou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

When we got there, the code we were given to unlock the box that held the key did not work. We tried calling the owner several times and had to wait over an hour to hear back. She had given us the wrong code. When we got inside, we realized right away that the unit we were in was not the one pictured online. There are 2 units on the property and only one is pictured. The main selling point for us was the jetted tub that was pictured, but of course, it was not even in our unit! Just a small shower/tub combo. We were VERY disappointed. The icing on the cake was when we went to make coffee the next morning and an old, used filter with mold growing had been left in the coffee maker. Definitely not worth the price and the disappointed. So much for a romantic get away....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JanaP206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accommodations, Manager at A Bungalow on The Bluff, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hello.

Your experience was not one that we wish to ever have happen again.

We have made changes to this venue to avoid future confusion and disappointment.

The Hideaway is no longer rented to guests.

Sincerely,

Marilou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The best thing about this accommodation is the location and the expansive view of the water right above the ferry landing. The two days we were there the weather and therefore the view was gorgeous. The building is a relatively modern (for Pt. Townsend) ranch style house divided into two separate "apartments." This is not a bed and breakfast but they do supply coffee, orange juice and a muffin. The queen size bed was very comfortable as were the rest of the furnishings. There is a mini fridge, microwave and plates/utensils for breakfast and other simple meals. Free wifi was available and seemed pretty fast for our minor needs. The bathroom is quite large including a nice jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. You are located amongst many of the old historical residences on the bluff within a ten minute walk of downtown and all the restaurants. A special treat for animal lovers are the black tail deer which have habituated to urban living and will bed down in the yard (with lovely landscaping) around the house.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accommodations, Manager at A Bungalow on The Bluff, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review of the Bungalow on the Bluff!

Yes, the location of this unit has the most spectacular unobstructed view of any location in the area. It is a quick walk to downtown or uptown, a bit of a hill climb either direction.

I constantly hear comments how guests enjoy the deer in Port Townsend, they just walk all over town and enjoy our flowers.

The unit is equipped for the first morning to allow you to have a nice comfortable morning with coffee, orange juice and a muffin.

We appreciate that you took the time to make this wonderful review and hope to hear from you again soon!

Sincerely,


Marilou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Bungalow and Hideaway on the Bluff is a great place to stay while in beautiful
Port Townsend. We have stayed in both sides of this property which overlooks the
bay and ferry terminal. The location is perfect and the view is one of the best in town.
Within easy walking distance to restaurants, galleries, shops and movie theaters in
both downtown and uptown. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Our only
complaint is that the walls are thin between the two units and any sound transmits straight
through. Hopefully the management will post a courtesy warning about noise [as we recom-
mended on our last visit] and the guests will willingly comply, making it a more enjoyable
stay for everyone.

Room Tip: Hideaway has a seperate bedroom and a larger kitchen with kitchen sink and an outdoor sitting area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

For an anniversary getaway not far from home, we chose this bungalow on the bluff overlooking Port Townsend's waterfront. The grounds were meticulously well-kept and inviting, and the bungalow itself was very private and beautifully done, with wonderful light-filled spaces and a warm decor. Lovely views from every room of the water and mountains or the gardens. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the bath, with a large jacuzzi tub, was spacious and light. A great neighborhood for walks, and an easy walk to Uptown for window shopping and dining. A perfect place to relax and enjoy a winter weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KJM77_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Our itinerary had been built around this much acclaimed retreat and although we knew it was no longer part of the James House had anticipated the owners would have wanted to preserve it's high reputation. This was not the case and our immediate impression was that it lacked a sense of ownership. This was later borne out when in the early hours of the morning a torrent of water cascaded through the roof right at our bedside. We moved furniture, hooked back curtains and used our bathroom towels to mop up and prevent further possible damage to the room. Next morning - after very little sleep and further water - the manager came and replaced our towels and discussed the roof problem which had supposedly been seen to previously. There was no apology nor understanding that our stay was not the relaxing one we'd expected, nor offer of any recompense. We expected upon our return to the UK that there would be a part refund and apology from the owners, but nothing. Our e-mails to the management/owners have been ignored. Port Townsend was super but we wouldn't want anyone else to stay here under the current management . One other point, the noise from the adjoining bungalow was intrusive because of the thin walls. The owners need to take an interest in customer feedback which is not forthcoming from the management

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alihali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We've stayed at the Bungalow several times (while it was still affiliated with James House) We arrived not knowing the two are no longer affiliated.The website, on-line reservation form and email from the manager said nothing about the change which didn't really matter until we walked next door to James House for breakfast as we always had only to find it's now a private home. A flower pot by the garden gate made us wonder enough to call the manager who later left a message saying she just assumed we knew it had sold and that we were to eat the muffins in the refrigerator. The trouble with that is there were no muffins in our refrigerator or we might have had a clue.We called her just to let her know those making up the rooms had failed to leave muffins for us have not heard back.We were tired when we arrived having driven for a number of hours to get there only to find leaves and branches piled up against the entry door, which was so dark we had to drive up on to the lawn so our headlights could show us the lock box and key hole.A portalble heater in the closet is the only source of heat so the room was cold.All in all a most unwelcoming arrival.Perhaps when accomodations are so lovely and the destination so delightful one really doesn't have to care as there will always be others who will come, but we will never go back to the Bungalow.Our favorite lodging in P.T is the Sea Loft where they leave their guests alone out of courtesy rather than neglect.Having operated our own 5 star, award winning B&B we are deeply sympathetic about the demands of the hopitality industry.But when there is such a drastic drop in the quality of service as we experienced we feel the manager just needs to hear about it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rufusandmeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bungalow on The Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bungalow on The Bluff

Address: 303 Fillmore St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6605
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Port Townsend
Price Range: $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private romantic getaway for business travel or pleasure with sweeping water and mountain views. More private than a bed and breakfast, more unique than a hotel or motel. Short walk to Port Townsend restaurants, galleries, shops, and historic waterfront. Beautifully maintained northwest gardens and private outdoor space. Whether you are spending a day, a weekend, or a long vacation, we provide helpful ideas and information so all you have to do is to enjoy! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing