We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome burgers”
Review of Fat Smitty's

Fat Smitty's
Ranked #41 of 98 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We met our son and his wife here for Mother's day. My husband and I split a Fat Smitthy burger since they were so big. Great burger. My husband had a blackberry milkshake and said it was great.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    40
    12
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderfully memorable experience”
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

For what it is, it is AWESOME! The waitress is a complete character who makes sure that you don't waste time with the menu because the ginormous hamburger is the only way to go at Fat Smitty's. I wonder if they even prepare any of the other items on the menu. Service was entertaining and the burger was a monster that we thoroughly enjoyed.

One warning: Fat Smitty's only accepts cash (although they do have an ATM in the restaurant).

I would not want to eat here on a regular basis (not sure my heart could take it) but I sure am glad that we stopped in and tackled the wonderful Fat Smitty's burger. An experience we will remember!

Helpful?
Thank Williams R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic National Park, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Spot for a Massive, Tasty Burger”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The burgers are huge, rarely finish one, especially with the fries. Way better than any fast food joint. They are stacked high, but with a good squish or two to the top, you can plow right through the thing. Love the decorated dollar bills and that they go to charity. Quite a value-$10 for a monster burger and fries. They don't take cards, so don't forget your cash! Although there is an ATM inside if you do. The staff has always been friendly with us and service was fast.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paper_monkE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Why bother?”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were in this place once, but never again! Interior admittedly unique (walls papered with dollar bills!), but the rest is junk. Food barely passable.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank throat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor Wa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Its simple folks….It are a great burger joint in the middle of no where”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

As another reviewer noted Fat Smitty’s is really not in Port Townsend, it’s at the junction of US-101 and US-20, half way between Olympia and Port Angeles on the east side of the Olympic peninsula.
Over the last 25 years, on my recreational travels I’ve eaten here at least 10 times, if not more.

The portions are generous and tasty, the folks who work here are always top notch as far as service goes.
Yes there are at least 100,000 dollar bills tacked everywhere but it’s still clean.

As far as the price point, it’s average for the area; if you want Mac Food hang in for an hour in either direction.

The bottom line is, it’s a unique local burger joint that will give you way more tasty food then you’ll be able to eat.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyrrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Smitty's also viewed

 
Port Townsend, WA
 

Been to Fat Smitty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing