We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big selection but these choices were just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Food Co-op

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Food Co-op
Ranked #27 of 96 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Co-op has tables and carry out. The food is fresh, reasonably priced, healthy and quite tasty. It's an excellent alternative to over-priced local restaurants.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
186 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Big selection but these choices were just OK”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you're looking for a restaurant with table service, this is not the place. It's a deli counter where staff serve you prepared foods. They'll heat them for you or you can use the microwave. Plenty of tables to sit down to enjoy your meal. Pretty typical food service system and selection for a Northwest coop ... which makes it great for a vegetarian (there's plenty of non-veggie food too). There's also grab-n-go food too.
Mini pizza ($5): OK.
Pecan loaf round: OK
Fettuccini w blue cheese: very good
Kale salad: not so good.
So this meal wasn't so good but there's so much to choose from that I'd be happy to go back and try something else next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuinnessGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Expensive, but nice selection”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Not a restaurant! Very busy, and liked the many produce selections. Go at night when its not during the rush.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
180 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant but a grocery store worth a stop”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stopped here before we headed into Olympic National Park. We found lots of yummy and healthy things to take with us for our two day trip in the park. Parking was free close. A great place to stop and stock up and staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waterdogooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcas island, wa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great value and very handy; fairly healthy food”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

great value and very handy; fairly healthy food; eat in or take out; large selection; easy parking and location

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank orcasislander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great staff with a friendly 'let us help you' attitude”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

fully stocked store with everything you need to eat healthy and then some. I do find it a bit expensive on things but healthy costs more to eat. Cheaper then Whole Foods, that is for sure. I love the fact that they let us go here and shop at the Co-op and not be members when we visit port Townsend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Domonique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Food Co-op also viewed

 
Port Townsend, WA
 

Been to The Food Co-op? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing