We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, excellent service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thornton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I rarely give a five star review. The only other stay that has earned such was over three years ago. Thornton House is a B and B, and so visitors should expect such. A Bed and Breakfast should, in my opinion, emulate a stay at a family friend's house....maybe a family friend whose son is hoping to marry your daughter and wants to make a fabulous impression.

Charlie and Barbara were very gracious hosts. We stayed in the detached room which was spotless, comfortable and very private. The grounds are beautiful and Barbara was working in the garden while Charlie welcomed us and settled us in. We took a short walk into town for supper. Truly, the walk is hardly grueling, and I am a 40-something, pudgy woman who happened to have a broken toe at the time.

The recommendation for supper was spot-on. Breakfast the next morning was made by Charlie and served at a very civilized hour. Though I would have preferred fewer carbohydrates (we had waffles), I had not mentioned this preference beforehand. The food was fresh and very good, and breakfast conversation was lively.

I highly recommend this spot for a romantic get-away (we were celebrating an anniversary). When Charlie and Barbara set about refurbishing and remodeling this home they spared little expense and really did a wonderful job of modernizing while keeping the spirit of the home. Their new kitchen left me wanting a big remodel at my own home! The room in which we stayed was wonderfully comfortable, and none of the chipped old make-do furnishings and details normally found in so many of the B and Bs we have tried in the past. Nicely done!

Room Tip: The detached room is the one we chose and it was very quiet and very private and comfortable. I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aljameela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

It's hard not to be a bit over the top about Thornton House B and B. Barbara and Charlie really have thought of everything that makes staying in a B and B a great travel experience.
Things we loved: The good cheer and warmth of the owners, the savory breakfasts--especially Barbara's biscuits, the way Charlie anticipated our need for tea to soothe a raspy throat, a dinner reservation, ice for our journey home, the softness of the sheets and pillows and towels, the charming garden, the short and interesting walk to town (poppies and lavender blooming everywhere)---we couldn't have been happier there.
We're looking forward to a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynneEllen310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I think it is important to share what I think with other travelers, so here is my honest opinion. I am surprised that this had gotten nothing but perfect scores. For me to give a perfect score, a place has to be extraordinary, above and beyond in some way. I found the Thornton House to be simply average. The room was clean but sparse. The breakfast was large but not particularly tasty. I was not pleased with the location, which was quite a ways from uptown, and farther from downtown. I can see how some would be happy, but for the money charged, I believe there are better options.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank seattleeastbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This location, tucked away on a quiet meandering lane, means that when you walk from here, you'll see historic homes and remnants of farms that you probably wouldn't walk by on a usual stroll through Uptown. It's an easy walk to the Fountain Steps that lead down to Taylor St.and the waterfront. We enjoyed our stay in the Carriage House, and a delicious breakfast to fuel the day's hiking and biking. Charlie and Barbara are gracious and welcoming.

Room Tip: The Carriage House has space to lock bikes on the patio outside the bedroom door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CascadeSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed with Charlie and Barbara at their lovely bed and breakfast. It sets the standard for B&Bs and a lot of hotels and inns could learn from them. They get all the little details right: the amenities, the sheets, the towels, the cookies set out at night, the "early" coffee before the amazing breakfast. The house and gardens are gorgeous. Best of all are the hosts. Charlie and Barbara are lovely -- gracious, quick to assist, smart, and charming. Simply, the best B&B experience we've had anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Thorton House.Barb and Charlie were wonderful hosts.The B & B is furnished nicely.The gardens are beautiful and the breakfast was excellent.Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WEIGE18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent one night at the Thorton House and wished it could have been one week. Barb and Charlie are the perfect hosts, and the room was exceptional. The location is very close to the main area but far enough away to be quiet. Barb's garden is magnificent and the breakfast was delicious. We will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Port Townsend.

Room Tip: The cottage room is outside the main house and faces the garden. The upstairs rooms have a balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhgmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.4 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Port Townsend
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
161 reviews
1 mi away
Huber's Inn Port Townsend
Huber's Inn Port Townsend
#9 of 16 in Port Townsend
50 reviews
4.4 mi away
Amber Lights B & B
Amber Lights B & B
#5 of 16 in Port Townsend
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1132 Garfield Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range: $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornton House Bed and Breakfast is a spacious three bedroom guest house in the heart of Port Townsend’s Historic Uptown District. The original 1885 farmhouse has been carefully restored to reflect the ambiance and charm of a by-gone era. Every effort has been made to retain the original character of the farmhouse while providing present-day amenities and comfort. Newly renovated historic cottage with king bed and private bath with rain shower. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thornton House b&b
Thornton House Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing