We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and Service”

Banana Leaf Thai Bistro
Ranked #25 of 98 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a small family owned and operated restaurant with big hearts. We share a genuine passion for Traditional Thai style street food cooking with those of you who appreciate authentic, healthy and comforting Thai cuisine. Our commitment to quality is evident in the intricate flavors and delicate blend of Thai spices and herbs in every bite.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and Service”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a beautiful evening sitting outside enjoying good Thai food at Banana Leaf. Chicken wrapped in banana leaf was great. Service was very good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    41
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I have been here twice. Each time we have a wonderful time. The couple who own the restaurant are very nice. The food is good and the service is awesome!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank brendab2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Worth it's weight in Pad”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We ordered carry-out on Sunday since our usual Thai place was closed on Sunday. Wow! Even though there is free delivery for over $25 orders, we picked up the food ourselves and it was ready in 15-20 minutes just as promised. It was steaming hot. When we picked up the bags of boxed food, the first thought was "This weighs a ton!" and so we put each box on a scale just to check our impression. The average dish weighed in at over two pounds. That's a lot of food! More than we could finish. And it was good, too. Really good. Two of us had the Pad Thai with tofu and the other two orders were for Currys with chicken. We tasted all around and agreed that everything was tasty, hot, and satisfying. Generous portions of tofu and chicken were used. We all asked for the "medium" spiciness level and found it to be just right -- enough to provide a satisfying amount of "heat" but not enough to numb the taste buds. Even though we ordered "carry-out", each item was nicely garnished and attractive. For dessert, we each had an order of the sticky black rice pudding. It was sweet and delicious, with a looser consistency than I am accustomed to. Again, no one could finish. The total bill, with tax was about $56 which is pretty reasonable for lots of good food, enough for a snack the next day, and dessert all around.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diamondqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Not as good as last year”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We put this on our list of places to eat while in Port Townsend because last year a group of us ate here and thought then it was one of the best we've eaten at. This time we ate about 7:00 and were not as pleased because the chicken on both our dishes tasted like it had been made much earlier in the day and had dried out and was tasteless. We first ordered the banana leaf shrimp. Another disappointment. 6 of them, not large, were wrapped in a rice paper then wrapped with a strip of banana leaf. Don't try to eat the leaf as it is very fibrous and nasty. Even though they gave us a dipping sauce they were still without flavor or excitement. We ordered the Massaman Curry Chicken and Panang Curry Chicken. Again both were just average and we didn't care for the taste or texture of the chicken. The last time we ate here it was mid afternoon, maybe everything is fresher at that time. But the owners are still there with their charming kind ways. We mark this off our list to go back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Travelers43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Yummy Food.”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Family owned and run restaurant, they have a great lunch special, everything is fresh and the prices are very reasonable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf Thai Bistro also viewed

Port Townsend, WA
Port Townsend, WA
 

Been to Banana Leaf Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing