We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely charming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Consulate Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Consulate Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extremely charming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The inn is on a bluff overlooking the water and across the street from both the historic county courthouse and lighthouse. It is a very easy walk to downtown Port Townsend and this property is on the historic district walking tour.We stayed two days and never moved our car. We either walked or biked around the area and to the ferry. The house has very comfortable public rooms to spread out in and I loved lounging on the outdoor swing overlooking the sound, drinking my morning coffee and perusing the internet. The owners are just the right amount of attentive without being obtrusive. The only criticism I have of the inn would be the hourly chiming of the courthouse clock. If you were staying in one of the back bedrooms you might not hear it. The inn thoughtfully provides earplugs, therefore the second night I slept through the chimes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdict032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    20
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
123
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We reserved the Gable Room for a one night stay. Upon our arrival, we we’re greeted by Innkeeper, Cindy. Cindy showed us around and explained proceedings for the next morning’s breakfast. She asked if there were any specific diet needs, and we informed her of a gluten sensitivity. We retreated to the Gable Room and prepared for the evening’s festivities. The Gable Room is a small room located under the front gable of the Inn. The room was perfect for our overnighter. Warm and cozy and plenty of room to stretch out on the king bed. Wonderfully appointed with period-specific décor. The Inn and its keepers gave me the feeling of an unusually accurate step back in time with nary a detail left unattended (which is exactly what I had hoped for this being my first Victorian bed and breakfast adventure). One exception….the espresso machine in the study. I’m 200% ok with that.

Breakfast was unbridled awesomeness. The main course, wonderfully prepared and charmingly presented eggs benedict. The hollandaise was delightful with proper lemony zing, the eggs poached to perfection capturing that elusive perfectly-yolked thing. OMG….thought I’d died and gone to heaven. My partner’s gluten-free breakfast was served without a question. Wonderful fruit, gluten-free muffin and the benedict sans the muffin. The table was full of a diverse section of folks and similar conversation with stories covering craft beers, to kinetic art, to my days as a swashbuckling brush whacker in the great hills of Northern Idaho.

And when all was said and done, a few of us sat at the table a little while longer and were delightfully entertained by Innkeeper Nathan and his Hurdy-Gurdy new year ramblings. Priceless.

Overall? Delightful Inn, gracious keepers, and a to-die-for breakfast. Can’t wait to get back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My Sister and I spent two nights at this delightful B&B this month, and loved our accommodation. The room with twin beds was so charming and comfortable and the hosts attentive. Our breakfasts were very nicely presented and tasty. We would stay there again to enjoy more of Port Townsend.

Room Tip: The only available room with 2 beds was on the 3rd floor, so it was a bit difficult to haul our lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Arkansas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay in a B&B, and it was delightful. Room #1 (really, suite) has a harbor view, sitting room, claw-feet tub and separate shower, king bed, and lots of places to relax. The breakfast downstairs was delicious. Port Townsend is a lovely town, and a perfect place to catch a ferry for a day on Whidbey Island. The Old Consulate Inn is a little too far from town to walk (unless you are looking for exercise), but you can drive it in a couple of minutes. Breakfast and interacting with five other couples was fun. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siloamjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was our 46th wedding anniversary and we wanted something very special. Well we got it. The building was adorable, the view breathtaking, and the rooms were beautifully restored. The staff could not have been more pleasant and accommodating. It was a 5-star breakfast of fresh fruit and homemade rolls, freshly squeezed juice and coffee, a delectable omelet with red potatoes, and even a sumptuous desert. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaxmanOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineland, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Fascinating old Victorian building. The walk to town wasn't bad at all, and there are many shops, galleries and restaurants to occupy visitors. Cindy and Nathan are stellar hosts, accommodating and friendly. Our bed was comfortable and the room was clean and well furnished. Breakfast itself was first-rate. The food was so good we devoured all 3 courses of it--good thing we were hiking later to work it off. Absolutely would visit here again. Thanks for a great stay in PT.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoRahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcas island, wa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The "Tower suite” consists of a small bed area with a small cupola/sitting area and a Lilliputian toilet/sink area and a Lilliputian bath tub area (no shower). The toilet/sink area was tiny, with VERY little room to maneuver and no place to put toiletries (except a rickety shelf set above the toilet (don’t drop anything or in the toilet it goes)). The bath tub (with no standup shower) had a sloping ceiling with a maximum of 4 feet of headroom in the tub, fully exposed to the bed area (except for a drooping lace curtain that was annoying at best). If you are a medium or large size person (I’m 6’2” and 170 lbs) you will not be able to maneuver in the toilet/sink and bath tub areas except with great difficulty. The “suite” also had only one opening window (in the cupola) that did nothing to cool the sleeping area. The suite is very uncomfortable, overall. Also, you are asked to put a tip (for housekeeping) when you check in and sign the credit card statement, before seeing the room! Look for other accommodations when in Port Townsend.

Room Tip: avoid Old Consulate Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orcasislander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Owner at Old Consulate Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are very sorry that you arrived without having seen our website or realizing ours is a 120 year old house modified to be a bed and breakfast.  120 years ago there were no private baths, so bathrooms were added later and tend to be small. True the room is mostly filled with the king-sized bed - another convenience they didn't have 120 years ago - but few guests spend much time walking around the bedroom and this is our first complaint about that amazing tower sitting room.  You might have preferred the larger Master Suite with its shower and claw-foot tub.
 
It is unfortunate that you did not accept our offer to see the room before you rented it.  You clearly walked in rather than reserving online, because those who reserve in advance are never asked for payment until the end of their stay and we ALWAYS offer to show the room to our last-minute guests. Not previewing the room was your choice. We are in the business of making people happy and it's worth noting that many guests who return to the Tower suite year after year for anniversaries or special occiassions.  
 
Regarding our asking for a credit card, all hotels run a credit card upon arrival.  We think most travelers would find this the norm. The tip line for the housekeeper is on the credit card slip for the convenience of those who travel without cash.  About 75% of our guests use that option. 
 
In conclusion, we're saddened by your response. Gourmet breakfast and handmade chocolates, museum-quality antiques and a billiard room in a home on the national registry, a staff anxious to please and you've condemned us for the size of a bathroom. It's true we can't please everyone, but we still endeavor to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.7 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 16 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Consulate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Consulate Inn

Property: Old Consulate Inn
Address: 313 Walker St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6925
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the gracious hospitality of Port Townsend's Victorian premiere B&B in the this beautifully restored Queen Anne bed and breakfast. Best B&B in Jefferson county 2013 & 2014. Savor the old-world charm of this enchanting B&B surrounded by antiques, stained glass, and beautiful woodwork, with the comforts of home and the conveniences of a fine hotel.Built in 1889 by Senator F.W. Hastings, son of Port Townsend's founding father Loren B. Hastings, the mansion served as the residence and office of the German Consul from 1908 to 1911. Today she carries the designation of National Historic Landmark and State Landmark, is listed on the National Register of Preserved Places.This award-winning 'Painted Lady' is one of the most photographed and painted Victorian mansions in the Pacific Northwest. She sits high on the bluff overlooking Port Townsend and commands spectacular views of Puget Sound, Mount Rainier, and the Olympic Mountains.Relax, laugh, and rediscover in a setting of tranquility and grace. Whether you curl up with a good book, kayak around the bay, or explore the shops and cafes of historic Port Townsend, the Old Consulate Inn offers you a haven of timeless contentment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Old Consulate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Consulate Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing