We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Consulate Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Consulate Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a lovely B&B and the owners take special steps to give excellent service. The Inn’s 3-course breakfasts are delicious and there are tasty chocolate chip cookies at the end of the day. The Inn’s location is on a bluff across the street from the magnificent County Courthouse and within walking distance of the town center and ferry. The owners take the time to provide you with an interesting history of the inn and Port Townsend, plus the staff dresses in period costumes to carry out the feel of the original period of house. We were in the Master Suite with views of the harbor and a delightful sitting area that was just perfect for enjoying a book or a glass of wine at the end of the day. My husband and I both loved this room and the Old Consulate Inn in general. It is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbuggie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    21
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
128
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenmore, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were privileged to be able to stay at The Old Consulate Inn this last early June, and it was such a lovely,fun, and delicious experience.

From the very beginning, with the tour given to us by Cindy of this wonderful old Port Townsend "Painted Lady" , with a bit of history thrown in for good measure, to the enchanting rose garden and surrounding period landscaping and the delight of very well appointed room, we were hooked!
From that point, it only got better!

A plate of homemade cookies in the dining room, a perhaps just a bit "Haunted" billiards den in the basement, and the genuine conviviality of both Nathan and Cindy ,(nattily dressed in Victorian togs,of course), made this a place I would race back to at the first opportunity!

Cindy's Breakfasts are some of the best anywhere. I even got her recipe for scones!

Thank you Nathan and Cindy for a stellar experience!
We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The Tower room is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teasworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This B&B was one of the highlights of my holiday. It's a beautiful Victorian house and extremely comfortable. The innkeepers are very friendly and welcoming and the introduction to the history of the house and town is fascinating and well told. There's a free coffee machine that makes some of the best coffee I've had outside of Italy, fresh cookies on arrival, a pool table... The highlight though is the three course breakfast! Due to dietary restrictions, they went to a great deal of effort to basically make me an entirely separate meal. Amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Wa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night but will definitely come back. The owners, Cindy and Nathan, have a lot of pride in their B and B and put a lot of effort into making our stay nice. Beautiful house with lots of history, great breakfast, delicious cookies, comfortable bed, walking distance to downtown and uptown, view of the Sound. They are wonderful hosts and I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAAIssaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Gorgeous Victorian home. The innkeepers were most gracious and made us feel very welcomed. We booked one of the smaller rooms, which was nicely decorated and very clean. Comforter on the very comfortable bed was turned down at night and chocolates left on the pillow. Breakfast, however, was the best part. The quiche was the tastiest ever. Marsha

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank masjds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get a last minute room here. Yes, it was pricey ($180 excl tax I think) but it was SO worth it! Such a charming place and the best service we've ever had. Amazing decor and the breakfast was outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allisknallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Not only is the house a beautiful Victorian mansion, the amazing staff dress the part as well. The bed in the Master Suite was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The detail and attention in everything is truly amazing. And the three course breakfast can't be missed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.7 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
Blue Gull Inn Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 16 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Consulate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Consulate Inn

Property: Old Consulate Inn
Address: 313 Walker St, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Consulate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the gracious hospitality of Port Townsend's Victorian premiere B&B in the this beautifully restored Queen Anne bed and breakfast. Best B&B in Jefferson county 2013 & 2014. Savor the old-world charm of this enchanting B&B surrounded by antiques, stained glass, and beautiful woodwork, with the comforts of home and the conveniences of a fine hotel.Built in 1889 by Senator F.W. Hastings, son of Port Townsend's founding father Loren B. Hastings, the mansion served as the residence and office of the German Consul from 1908 to 1911. Today she carries the designation of National Historic Landmark and State Landmark, is listed on the National Register of Preserved Places.This award-winning 'Painted Lady' is one of the most photographed and painted Victorian mansions in the Pacific Northwest. She sits high on the bluff overlooking Port Townsend and commands spectacular views of Puget Sound, Mount Rainier, and the Olympic Mountains.Relax, laugh, and rediscover in a setting of tranquility and grace. Whether you curl up with a good book, kayak around the bay, or explore the shops and cafes of historic Port Townsend, the Old Consulate Inn offers you a haven of timeless contentment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Consulate Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing