We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn and Marvelous hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Consulate Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Consulate Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stoughton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn and Marvelous hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Cindy and Nathan are wonderful hosts in this lovely Victorian inn. Breakfasts were great: not some huge, overly sweet "breakfast", but three lovely courses: a frest fruit and pastry course, a 'main' course (protein!) and a "dessert course". Port Townsend is a great destination, and this place is THE place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJCKMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    21
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
128
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

My family recently spent a long weekend at the Old Consulate Inn. The new owners, Cindy and Nathan, are very welcoming and helpful. The house has wonderful decor with victorian antiques and old pictures. Their is a sitting area that my daughter and I loved to read in after a day of exploration. They have an nice automatic coffee/tea machine, so we enjoyed a cup of hot cider and hot chocolate everynight while relaxing.

My daughter is allergic to nuts, eggs, and milk products. Cindy was very accomodating and made her a special waffle one morning while the rest of us had an egg souffle. Cindy is a gourmet cook and all the breakfasts had 3 courses and were delicious!

The only downside with this B&B is that the clock tower a block away chimes on the hour. Old Consulate Inn does provide ear plugs in all the rooms which helped me.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have a tub... so book early if you want a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherieb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We just spent an amazing 3-day weekend at the Old Consulate Inn and I had to write to say what an amazing experience it was. My boy friend wasn't to sure about the whole B&B thing but he loved it. The pool table old sword fighting definitely helped. For me, it was all about Cindy's amazing cooking and the incredible house. From the history to the amazing view from the front porch to wine in the gazebo it was perfect. I took as many pictures of the house as I did of the town.

It's worth mentioning that the innkeepers are new. They bought it just in July and they're still making changes. Cindy said they had just gone back to serving three course breakfast. They are already awesome. I can't wait to go back in another year or so and see what's next!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

My wife and I recently spent a wonderful 2 nights at the Old Consulate Inn. The new owners, Cindy and Nathan, are very welcoming and attentive, without being intrusive.

My wife cannot have milk products, gluten or soy. Not only did Cindy prepare a breakfast to meet her needs, but served all of us the same food. No one else knew it was food for a very special diet. Everyone thought is was delicious.

We stayed in the Parkside room. The decor is lovely and the bed very comfortable.

Over the years we have stayed in a variety of places in Port Townsend. In the future we will make it the Old Consulate Inn every time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlesteve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent one night at the Old Consulate Inn and we were very impressed with our experience. Cindy and Nathan had just taken ownership yet they seemed like old hands at their responsibilities. The Inn is exquisitely decorated with pleasing antiques. The public areas are arranged for socializing or reading books from their library. In addition, there is a pool table in the basement for guests' use. Our room was comfortable and well-decorated. The nearby bells do ring every hour. They will bother some but not others. The bed in our room, the Renaissance, was a bit too soft for my liking but everything else was top-notch. And that includes the lovely breakfasts - plentiful, tasty and varied. Kudos to Cindy and Nathan for continuing a well-deserved reputation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Loved the welcome and introduction. The Rose Room was a wonderful quiet room. Multi course breakfasts of great variety and flavour are a specialty. A 10/15 minute walk from the harbour.

Room Tip: The Tower Room has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

18 Aug 11

My wife Gerri and I spent 5 great days with Nathan and Cindy last week. My sister Jill and her husband Jim were along in their own rooms. What a great time! The house is a wonderful old place. Nathan greeted us our first afternoon, and Cindy turned out to be equally pleasant.

What we were most pleased about was the breakfasts. Cindy is a first class chef, and the meals got better every day. When we would return there was always a tasty treat, and our room was always neatly made up and ready for us to rest up from the day's activities.

Our stay in Port Townsend was great, but it was just that much better because of our wonderful hosts Nathan and Cindy.

Thanks so much!

Hap and Gerri Butler
Post Falls, Idaho

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hap B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.7 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Consulate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Consulate Inn

Property: Old Consulate Inn
Address: 313 Walker St, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Consulate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the gracious hospitality of Port Townsend's Victorian premiere B&B in the this beautifully restored Queen Anne bed and breakfast. Best B&B in Jefferson county 2013 & 2014. Savor the old-world charm of this enchanting B&B surrounded by antiques, stained glass, and beautiful woodwork, with the comforts of home and the conveniences of a fine hotel.Built in 1889 by Senator F.W. Hastings, son of Port Townsend's founding father Loren B. Hastings, the mansion served as the residence and office of the German Consul from 1908 to 1911. Today she carries the designation of National Historic Landmark and State Landmark, is listed on the National Register of Preserved Places.This award-winning 'Painted Lady' is one of the most photographed and painted Victorian mansions in the Pacific Northwest. She sits high on the bluff overlooking Port Townsend and commands spectacular views of Puget Sound, Mount Rainier, and the Olympic Mountains.Relax, laugh, and rediscover in a setting of tranquility and grace. Whether you curl up with a good book, kayak around the bay, or explore the shops and cafes of historic Port Townsend, the Old Consulate Inn offers you a haven of timeless contentment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Consulate Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing