We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, inviting with yummy breakfasts”
Review of Old Consulate Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Consulate Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Warm, inviting with yummy breakfasts”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent one night at the Old Consulate Inn and we were very impressed with our experience. Cindy and Nathan had just taken ownership yet they seemed like old hands at their responsibilities. The Inn is exquisitely decorated with pleasing antiques. The public areas are arranged for socializing or reading books from their library. In addition, there is a pool table in the basement for guests' use. Our room was comfortable and well-decorated. The nearby bells do ring every hour. They will bother some but not others. The bed in our room, the Renaissance, was a bit too soft for my liking but everything else was top-notch. And that includes the lovely breakfasts - plentiful, tasty and varied. Kudos to Cindy and Nathan for continuing a well-deserved reputation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    22
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
129
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Loved the welcome and introduction. The Rose Room was a wonderful quiet room. Multi course breakfasts of great variety and flavour are a specialty. A 10/15 minute walk from the harbour.

Room Tip: The Tower Room has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2011

18 Aug 11

My wife Gerri and I spent 5 great days with Nathan and Cindy last week. My sister Jill and her husband Jim were along in their own rooms. What a great time! The house is a wonderful old place. Nathan greeted us our first afternoon, and Cindy turned out to be equally pleasant.

What we were most pleased about was the breakfasts. Cindy is a first class chef, and the meals got better every day. When we would return there was always a tasty treat, and our room was always neatly made up and ready for us to rest up from the day's activities.

Our stay in Port Townsend was great, but it was just that much better because of our wonderful hosts Nathan and Cindy.

Thanks so much!

Hap and Gerri Butler
Post Falls, Idaho

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hap B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is a beautiful Victorian B & B that is just recently under new ownership. Our hostess, Cindy, was just wonderful. The inn and all the bedrooms are beautifully appointed. The breakfasts are a real treat. If you're in the area or want a get away weekend don't miss this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarySam54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I chose the Old Consulate Inn for our first B&B experience due to the reputation for excellence of the new owners that took possession the first of July.
We were charmed from the moment we stepped onto the porch and rang the bell. This Victorian mansion is splendid in every way possible. All of the old images shown on the Internet have dolls, teddy bears, frou frou of a silly nature in each room . We were delighted to find that the 'silly' stuff was gone and in it's place there is an elegance and ease of living showcased in every room. An outstanding collection of musical instruments has replaced the silly hat's in the grand foyer. We were greeted by both owner/inn keepers and given a tour of the mansion. We arrived on a Friday afternoon before any other guests so were treated to a viewing of each room upstairs. We were excited to learn as time goes on of the new decorating changes for many of the rooms by the new owners.

The room we chose for our three day weekend was what has been called the Anniversary suite. Spectacular! Luxurious! Elegant! An incredibly comfortable King bed. Tasteful decor and color throughout. Spacious bathroom with claw foot tub and modern shower stall.
We felt like royalty. We were treated as such.

I was concerned that as an early riser (5 or 6 am) there would be difficulty finding a cup of coffee in the neighborhood. My fears were unfounded! The new owners have an espresso machine that is self serve. Hot water for tea or cocoa, espresso, or large cup of coffee. I had no problem making my own delicious brew each morning in the subdued light and quiet house. It was set up each evening before. Sugar and half and half also provided with spoons and large cups and saucers. I was very happy with this set up.

Breakfast we were told would be served near 9 am. Fresh fruit, granola, cream, yogurt, and a selection of cheese tidbits were on the sideboard along with orange juice and a fresh pitcher of water a half hour or so before breakfast.
The house began to smell of delicious muffins fresh from the oven. Cinnamon and apple one morning and a pumpkin and walnut another. First morning we had a choice of waffle with strawberries and crushed almonds or a mushroom and cheese omelet. Second morning choice of eggs benidect with ham or spinach. Everything was absolutely cooked to perfection and brought to the dining table to each guest steaming hot. Our Inn keeper dressed in modest skirt wearing a fresh head coif and clean ironed apron. She was attentive to each guest's needs and happy to explain recipes. There were vegan choices, gluten free, and low salt. Her husband was present to greet each guest at the dining room and added a friendly conversation start each morning or explain how to use the espresso machine to new comers. Friendly and relaxed. Lively conversation and great food to start the day. We were reluctant to leave and live in the real world again. Our first B&B experience was like living in the lap of luxury in one of the most beautiful Victorian mansions in Washington State. We are already planning our next visit and definitely will choose the suite again.

Room Tip: For tall people I would recommend the rooms on the second floor. The lower ceiling-ed rooms could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvluvturtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.7 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Consulate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Consulate Inn

Property: Old Consulate Inn
Address: 313 Walker St, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Consulate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the gracious hospitality of Port Townsend's Victorian premiere B&B in the this beautifully restored Queen Anne bed and breakfast. Best B&B in Jefferson county 2013 & 2014. Savor the old-world charm of this enchanting B&B surrounded by antiques, stained glass, and beautiful woodwork, with the comforts of home and the conveniences of a fine hotel.Built in 1889 by Senator F.W. Hastings, son of Port Townsend's founding father Loren B. Hastings, the mansion served as the residence and office of the German Consul from 1908 to 1911. Today she carries the designation of National Historic Landmark and State Landmark, is listed on the National Register of Preserved Places.This award-winning 'Painted Lady' is one of the most photographed and painted Victorian mansions in the Pacific Northwest. She sits high on the bluff overlooking Port Townsend and commands spectacular views of Puget Sound, Mount Rainier, and the Olympic Mountains.Relax, laugh, and rediscover in a setting of tranquility and grace. Whether you curl up with a good book, kayak around the bay, or explore the shops and cafes of historic Port Townsend, the Old Consulate Inn offers you a haven of timeless contentment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Consulate Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing