We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it!”
Review of Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tides Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Reviewed October 5, 2005

We were working in Port Townsend for 2 days and because of the heavy work load, the jacuzzi on the deck sounded like a rewarding end to the day. I booked the "suite" for $140.00 facing the water. The pictures on the web make the hotel look like something out of Cape Cod, but it is far from it!
Unlocking the door, the first experience is the smell of an old musty room. I opened the windows and doors just to let the air in, it smelled so bad. The furniture was dated and in disrepair. The fan in the bathroom ceiling was caked with dust and cobwebs. With no time to complain, I ran back to the job site.
Upon returning at 9pm, I went to the deck to fill the "jacuzzi" (which was really an indoor spa tub slapped on the rickity deck). To my dismay, the hottest the water would get was luke warm. A clear starlit night that could have been peaceful just made me even more frustrated.
Complaining to the desk clerk pushed me over the edge to right this. with an arrogant subtle smile and in a condescending voice said she'd "be sure to talk with the maintence person". Thats it? Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Goodlife98034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 311 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle
15
Reviewed August 28, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Tides on Aug 20th. We stayed in one of the deluxe king suites in the new building and it was nice, except for the ultra gaudy decor. The room was very clean, bed was cozy and it was very romantic to have a jacuzzi in the room. The view was excellent and it was so nice to drink our coffee on the deck and watch the ferry go by. The decor though...there are pictures on their web site of what I am talking about. Fake antique furniture, plastic that I think was supposed to look like carved wood. Not the quality you would expect in a $250.00 room! Over priced...but it is high season. If you can over look that part of it- It is a nice place to stay with a great view and we had a great time in Port Townsend.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bremerton, WA
15
Reviewed July 17, 2005

We stayed in the older section with a deck and a water view. This room was so over-priced it hurt. $110+tax for a small (tiny) room and everything in it was old (not a classy antique - old!). The shower was tiny and regulating the water was a challenge. I think everytime someone flushed or turned water on or off it adjusted the shower. There's not enough room for a shaving kit in the bathroom. This has to be the worst property for the money I have ever experienced. No AC and no screens on the window. Ripped screen on the slider. Came home with several bug bites of some kind. I wouldn't stay there again at half the price.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2005

Listen up! this is important!! I must warn you now! Do Not Come Here!!! the managment cares about nothing except what you have in your wallet. Do not expect them to answer any of your phone calls if you have a problem. THey will pretend that you dont exist! They will often lie and misslead you on how many rooms are available and what they cost. They will often tell you that nothing is left execpt one of their very expensive new suites. Yes they look beautiful, but everything is cheap!!! Often things break down or are not in running order. All of the rooms in the old building are old and run down. They have never been updated! Like I have stated before the managers care not about you and that you honestly get the best deal ever, they just want to make sure that you pay the highest price ever and make you think that you are getting the best deal imaginable! the beds are not comfortable, the comforter smelt like it had not been cleaned in 100 years. When we stayed management
tried to charge us an extra $100 dollars because someone thought we had a cat in the room. WE do not even own a cat, and even if we did why would we take it on vacation! Anything they can do to suck money out of you I guess. There are way better hotels for your money. In this cold, dark, damp town you are better off staying somwhere warm and worth the money. Consider yourself warned!

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank reedsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2005

We stayed at the Tides Inn on Saturday, May 14, 2005. We were in town for a wedding and this hotel was recommended to us. I reserved the suite and the room was very nice. We were on the first floor and had a beautiful view of the Puget Sound. We had a huge Jacuzzi tub in our room. After a long day, I decided to take a nap and my wife a bath in the tub. When she got out the entire room was soaked. Apparently there was a leak in the Jacuzzi tub. We called the front desk and they gave us a new room (not as nice). After we got all settled and I got back to my nap, another couple opened our door and walked into our room. The hotel had rented the room to another couple. They did give us 50% off on the room, although it was a hassle dealing with this when we checked out. I would go back again, just because of its great rooms. The front desk needs to work on a few things.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsbacky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
12
Reviewed February 15, 2005

We stayed in the "Officer and a Gentleman" Room, and loved the large jetted tub on the deck. There was plenty of hot water, and even on a rainy night in February, we were more than warm enough. The staff was friendly and helpful, and I definitely would recommend staying there. Considering being able to soak in a huge, jacuzzi tub with a great view, the value of the room was excellent.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Renton, WA
13
Reviewed January 3, 2005

Second time for us at the Tides! Stayed at the new wing, in the jacuzzi rooms. The bath was huge, and the third floor gives a panoramic view of the bay! Loved it! Sweet front desk people. Very nice little brunch in the morning, too! What a great way to usher in the New Year!! Go off-season for the rates, and get a jacuzzi room. What a romantic trip!!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.6 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
371 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
304 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Inn

Address: 1807 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $149 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tides Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many rooms boast private decks overlooking sparkling Port Townsend Bay. Protective windbreaks make year–round enjoyment eventful as the parade of ferries, fishing vessels and sailboats pass by. Take a deep breath of clean, fresh air as you revel in the sights and sounds of nature's seascape. Listen to the surf as it gently lulls you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Hotel Port Townsend
Tides Motel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing