We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water view, great service”
Review of Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tides Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Reviewed April 7, 2014

There is nothing I love more than gazing out at the water in Port Townsend -- watching ferries and sailboats go by; watching birds and occasionally other wildlife. These rooms are perfect for this very pastime. The hotel has an older side that has been there since the 80's or earlier (when part of An Officer and a Gentleman was filmed there, if you remember that movie) and a newer side, so there is a big price range to chose from - around $69 to $190 per night when we were there, I think. The front desk staff was SO nice and offered to let us check in early (without us asking about that) and also offered to let us look at the different rooms. In fact she just handed us a key and let us go look on our own -- very trusting. The older rustic side would probably be more like a beach house feel, but those rooms seemed perfectly nice. We opted for the newer (higher price) room. I think she said they all basically have the same amenities - view of the water, gas fireplace, deck, Jacuzzi tub, microwave, fridge, & coffee maker. They offered continental breakfast, but we didn't try it, so I can't comment on that. Overall a wonderful, relaxing visit.
Other: This hotel is very close to downtown shopping/restaurants; not close enough to walk -- mostly because it isn't a very pedestrian friendly road, but only a couple minute drive.

Room Tip: Older section - more economical, but still have a view, deck and other amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wherever_U_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 308 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just know going in that you aren't staying at the Hilton. It is a Ocean front hotel. We had a hot tub room (outdoor) the hot tub is just separated by a little wall from the neighbor. You are literally a stones throw from the ocean. It almost feels damp in the room (as all of the area tends to) from the ocean spray/mist. It isn't unpleasant though. It is just something you need to use common sense for. You should expect that if you are booking a room that is right on the ocean that it may be a bit damp, or the windows a bit salt stained. Also I recommend rinsing out the hot tub. We used ours, went to dinner, came back and there was debris blown off the water in it. Nature is uncontrollable. All this said, the view is unrivaled. laying in the tub watching the ferry come and go, watching the gulls dive, just amazing. It is all worth it. The tangible and controllable things; the bed, the shower, spotless. Things were slightly dated, but clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachelmae83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

For $150, there was the renovated jacuzzi (within) room and ocean view. For $97, there was the jacuzzi in an adjacent room with ocean view. The former looked fancy for sure, the latter (which we took) was perfectly functional but far less fancy... more rustic summer camp than swanky hotel. And it had an extra shower/bath-tub while the $150 room had just a shower. So it depends on your budget, but all rooms appear to have a wonderful view of the water. The continental breakfast is, as others have noted, just the basics: bagels, muffins, sweet rolls, cereal, juice and coffee. Parking is right outside your room and all the action of town is just a very short drive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMPJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The view from the waterfront deck made this room a very nice stay! The hotel room had a microwave, fridge, pots and pans. While the room and amenities were a bit dated, they were clean and comfortable. I stayed there while attending the Strange Brew festival a short walk away. Staff was great. The continental breakfast was modest but adequate. This place was in the movie "An Officer and a Gentleman. I loved the deck! I split the cost with a buddy, so the $60.00 I spent made this a good value too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night at the end of December. The room had a magnificent view of the ocean, when you looked out the window it almost felt like we were on a cruise ship. The jacuzzi was amazing. The bed was super comfortable, a little soft for my husband but I loved it. It was a wonderful, romantic, and relaxing weekend after the holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed for one night in one of the outdoor hot tub rooms. Everything was nice except the bed. It wasn't very comfortable and the headboard banged against the wall every time we moved. The hot tub was great and the view was nice. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great place for the price. Stay in the older part, right on the water. The ceilings are low, so if you're over 6'2" beware. Other than that, it's a great little place. Close enough to town so that you can easily walk to restaurants, etc. The view from the room is incredible! You can almost fish from the deck. The staff is helpful and friendly. If you're into healthful food, I suggest you bring your own breakfast. (Everything is white flour, and very little fresh fruit.) This was a real find though and we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.6 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
300 reviews
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Inn

Address: 1807 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $137 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tides Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many rooms boast private decks overlooking sparkling Port Townsend Bay. Protective windbreaks make year–round enjoyment eventful as the parade of ferries, fishing vessels and sailboats pass by. Take a deep breath of clean, fresh air as you revel in the sights and sounds of nature's seascape. Listen to the surf as it gently lulls you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Hotel Port Townsend
Tides Motel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing