We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Port Townsend Bay from your in-room Jacuzzi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tides Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Kent
Level Contributor
150 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great view of Port Townsend Bay from your in-room Jacuzzi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We enjoyed this establishment for our anniversary and were referred by another couple who go there every year for theirs. Yes the place is dated but the room we had has a spectacular view of the bay from the in-room huge jacuzzi. The included breakfast is so-so but we did not go there for the food! There are lots of great small restaurants in town. The place is old but we we really enjoyed our stay, Not a lot of parking on site and the windows and patio could stand a good power washing. The sitting area had a nice big bay window to watch the ferrys coming into the dock. If you want a romantic getaway at a decent price, this is it. Enjoy the town and all the shops (such as the Wine Seller) then spend the evening relaxing in your jacuzzi!

Room Tip: Get an upper room with a jacizzi and enjoy yourselves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanFromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    95
    46
    36
    33
See reviews for
41
149
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

This was a surprisingly enjoyable stay. I was a little worried because of some of the negative reviews I saw about this property, so I was glad when I saw for myself. For an extra cost, we opted to upgrade to the newer, renovated section that had a jetted tub. We had no problem with cleanliness of our room. It room was very spacious, yet cozy with the fireplace. It also had a generous-sized bathroom with a convenient shower unit. The staff was ever so helpful, with special thanks to Angelie and Skeeter (desk manager)! They went the extra mile for us in customer service without even being asked, and they gave us wonderful suggestions for dining and sightseeing. When we go back to Port Townsend, the Tides Inn is where we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel B.C.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I really liked this place. I am on a bicycle trip through Port Townsend and stayed an extra day because of the weather. I found it to be spotless. Good breakfast...nice staff. I really looked the place over and can't think of a single fault...oh, not quite perfect...the breakfast coffee is weak...bring a Starbucks instant...the little coffee unit in the room is good and great internet. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldQuesnelBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

This hotel has a good location but you can't see out the windows because they are too dirty. It's a dump. Spend your money elsewhere and if there's no place left in town to rent, sleep in your car.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KritiGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidesinnpt, Manager at Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
I sincerely apologize you had a bad experience with us. Because we are a waterfront property we do have a lot of salt water sprays that leave film on the window. We have changed windows cleaning schedule to work with weather and check-in time. Also, we have made changes to housekeeping methods and check list to eliminate any mistakes. We hope we will have another opportunity to give you a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Townsend hotels

Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Dirty, dirty, dirty! We should have walked right back out the door...In the first 10 minutes we were there we found a open beer can behind the TV, sunflower shells on the side of one of the beds and a nasty dirty sponge next to the sink (did they really think someone would want to use that??). Right then we should have left but we know it was an older hotel and decided to overlook it. Feeling extra creeped out we went to bed and woke up the next morning to find a HUGE bed bug crawling acrossed the bed that I had just crawled out of with my 3 month old daughter! Freaked out I squashed the bug on a piece of paper and looked on my phone for a picture of a bed bug, twin brothers!!! So my sister-in-law and I spent practially our whole 3 day vacation disinfecting and washing our clothes and other belongings. We were going to leave the hotel but they offered to put us in the new part and had on-site laundry. With a 3 month old and a 4 year old we felt our options were limited and we didn't want to put anything in the car before washing. The newer part was a lot cleaner and felt better but they actually has the nerve to charge us $20 for the "upgrade". Room 12 was our original room....Beware!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tidesinnpt, Manager at Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
We are absolutely horrified to hear you had experience with bed bugs. We apologize for such terrible experience. We can understand how uneasy you must feel. Although this is our very first report of any bed bugs, we took it very seriously. We had professional exterminator thoroughly inspect the entire property of any bed bugs. We were relieve to hear that we have no bed bugs. However we still removed the bed and treated the room to leave nothing to a chance. It is our goal to provide clean and comfortable rooms for you to enjoy. Please call us and we'll correct any problems you had. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Their website says that all rooms have been recently renovated...except the one we were given. Yuck! Hairs in the bathroom, brown "something" on the wall by the bed, years of dust and dirt in the corners, wobbly deck railing, furniture falling apart, and the tv was so old it does not meet the current ADA requirements for deaf and hard of hearing customers (no closed captions). When we complained (very politely, I might add) in the office and said we had read on their website that all the rooms were remodeled, the worker said, "I wish it didn't say that."

Even if you get into one of their renovated rooms, don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryl474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

If you want funky/shabby/dirty, book the Officer & a Gentleman Suite. We guess they have kept this "shrine" because the movie was filmed in Port Townsend and the love scene between Debra Winger & Richard Gere was filmed in this room. The only thing that might resemble the movie scene is the bed spread, which looks like it hasn't been washed since the movie came out in the early '80's! The so-called "kitchenette" is basically unusable, the cabinets look like they will fall off the wall any minute, and the refrigerator (which blocks the oven door) freezes everything. There are no cooking utensils. The sliding door which leads to the balcony is nearly impossible to slide and the deck is dirty. The Jacuzzi tub on the deck was dirty and not at all private. The windows are so dirty you can hardly see the view. The only positive thing about this room is the refurbished bathroom, which is quite nice, although if you weigh more than 175 lbs. you probably will not fit into the tiny shower stall. At $140/night we felt ripped off.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NorthwestUSATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.6 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Inn

Property: Tides Inn
Address: 1807 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tides Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many rooms boast private decks overlooking sparkling Port Townsend Bay. Protective windbreaks make year–round enjoyment eventful as the parade of ferries, fishing vessels and sailboats pass by. Take a deep breath of clean, fresh air as you revel in the sights and sounds of nature's seascape. Listen to the surf as it gently lulls you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Hotel Port Townsend
Tides Motel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing