We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghosts, Brothels and oodles of Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Loads of Charm....fabulous historical character, friendly staff.....and a room called Abigail? What more could you ask for. The Palace Hotel is a real find and easy to find. Centrally located in the heart of the Port. Just ask any drunken sailor, whaler, or poltergeist where is the Palace Hotel.
Restored but not overdone, spooky? No....but there's plenty of ghostly yarns filtering through this former brothel/Hotel. Pick a room named after each "lady" that plied her wares in this form boom port of a town. I would stay here at the drop of a hat...or wink from one of the reputed "ladies" said to wander these antique-adorned hallways.
We stayed during the shoulder-season and the staff showed us every room and then picked our favourite. She was a beauty....erotic Victorian charm.
P.S. You won't need a TV in your room......just use your imagination.

Room Tip: Ask staff to show their vacant rooms before selecting.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennr45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Palace Hotel Port Townsend
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 298 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

They say the place is haunted but no ghostly disturbances during my stay. Nice comfy big room. A bit much on the perfumy scents when walking into the room. Friendly, helpful staff. Some issues with housekeeping though. Dirty washrag still hanging on tub, coffeemaker still had old coffee and coffee bag in it. No hairdryer. Very nice to be in right in the middle of old town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolfCreekFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a lovely, huge room which was beautifully decorated in the style appropriate to the age, style and history of the hotel. We had a very warm welcome and were given lots of useful information about the town and surrounding area. Although hairdryers were available from reception, I do think that, for a hotel of this quality and price, a hairdryer in the room in not an unreasonable expectation.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank P59AL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Palace Hotel was a fun experiment for us. Centrally located in historic Port Townsend it is an easy walk to restaurants, shopping, the harbor & the historic upper hillside. It is beautifully decorated, clean & friendly. We enjoyed having a small kitchen area where we were able to prep some easy, quick foods even though there was no stove. Our room wasn't huge but the very high ceilings made it seem much bigger. Great bed, too. It was a bit noisy at times & the lack of an elevator could be a hardship for some but I prefer it's charm to any chain motel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelBearNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

You must Say "yes" to the Palace Hotel in the middle of Port Townsend; great staff, historically interesting rooms... We changed rooms each night to "try" another view or enjoy an incredible bathtub! Stroll down to the water and dine El Fresco, don't miss Chetzemoka Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontanaRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I’ve managed to stay at half a dozen different Port Townsend hotels and greatly prefer the rustic Victorian venues to the modern motor inns. And the Palace is as rustically Victorian as it gets. Housed in an authentic late 19th century brick high-rise with period furnishings, carpets and artwork to complete the vibe. Even real stairs to get your heart pumping! One point of historical interest is the Palace was once a busy brothel!

The location is about as good it gets: on Water Street smack in the middle of the PT strip. Plenty of shops, restaurants, bars and PT landmarks are within a couple block radius. As charming as the Palace is, the view leaves much to be desired with a parking lot and adjacent building to keep you company. It’s a mere stone’s throw from the waterfront but most rooms barely see the bay. However, you never forget how close you are to the water as gulls nest on the top of the building and are noisy, waking me with their constant screeching throughout the night.

The room was comfy, clean and reasonably roomy but not as nice as the Bishop Victorian or my favorite almost across the street, the Belmont Inn. One big fail was the lack of decent curtains making sleeping in impossible.

So nice rustic Vic vibe, great location but I prefer being right on the water and need real curtains.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Recommended by a good friend. We were warned it was on the third floor. It was a hike of a total 58 steps due to the high ceilings. They warned us so we knew we were into it. Loved the fact they had a parking lot in back. What we had not expected was that even though we had a view of the water, it was very warm. The sun shines in the front windows all day. Of course, an old Victorian hotel doesn't have AC. We did have a big fan, but it was hot. Great location but not sure I will stay here again.

Room Tip: When its warm weather, don't take third floor front rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
359 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
54 reviews
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Address: 1004 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $166 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Hotel Port Townsend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing