We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hot third floor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hot third floor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Recommended by a good friend. We were warned it was on the third floor. It was a hike of a total 58 steps due to the high ceilings. They warned us so we knew we were into it. Loved the fact they had a parking lot in back. What we had not expected was that even though we had a view of the water, it was very warm. The sun shines in the front windows all day. Of course, an old Victorian hotel doesn't have AC. We did have a big fan, but it was hot. Great location but not sure I will stay here again.

Room Tip: When its warm weather, don't take third floor front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    107
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
30
141
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When I booked this hotel, my husband said- hmmm Victorian hotel, gonna be creaky floors and noisy plumbing. Yes, he was right.

The hotel was renovated in the 1980's, and they haven't changed much since. There are period pieces in the lobbies and some in rooms, but mostly it is just tired oak paneling and fading floral wallpaper and borders from that unfortunate period of decorating.

The bed was not very comfortable and the linens are very old- they were very dinghy. The bedside tables were not antiques, but they were falling apart.

Also- a big sticking point with me- the room was super dusty. All the ledges and windowsills needed major cleaning and the closer you looked, the more you saw that needed attention.

We were only here for one night and I would not go back. I'm trying to think of something nice to say- OK the view is OK, but the windows were dirty on the outside which made it a bit hard to see. OK the location is good. No disputing that.

I guess if you can't live your life without spending the night in what they claim was a brothel back in the day, well this is the place for you.

A palace, it ain't.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucydodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, WA USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was our anniversary & we planned a short trip to the Washington "peninsula" from our home on Whidbey Island. We reserved the ALICE room at the Palace Hotel in Port Townsend (a short 30 min. ferry ride from Whidbey). This wonderful old Victorian Hotel is a gem! Each room is named after one of the "girls" who worked here when the upstairs was a brothel. The Alice room has a beautiful old claw foot tub in it's bathroom...great old decor and is complete with coffee & tea service plus a small fridge holding fresh cream for our morning beverage. No phones or alarm clocks in the room but an average size flatscreen T.V. is standard. Each room is different! The gals at the desk are pleasant & helpful and the hotel is smack dab in the middle of the wonderful shops on the main street (Water Street). We shall return to this great little hotel, loaded with history!!

Room Tip: Most rooms have an en suite bathroom, but a couple do not. Check their very complete web page for d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Miss Lydia's room was charming but small. It was stuffy but the window did open and there are fans in the room. The hotel was full but we never were bothered by noise. The location is great but be fore warned the stairs are very steep and no elevator.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolbrks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

After almost giving up on finding an old Victorian style hotel to stay in for one night before heading home, my wife found the Palace Hotel. When she started reading the reviews on TA which gave its history as a formal brothel, it got my attention. (I have always wanted to spend the night in a brothel....) Check in at this hotel was straightforward and we were very impressed by the front desk clerk who was very helpful in suggesting where to go for some great photos and a great place for dinner. After we managed to lug our stuff up two flights of steep stairs, we found our room. It was great! Even an old style bathtub! The bed was very comfortable and I even found out that they provided 1/2 & 1/2 cream in the fridge for the in room coffee. ( You just don't get that in hotels, even the high end ones!) Regretfully, we only spent one night in this hotel, but we will return. Caution: If you plan on imbibing, be careful in navigating your way up and down the stairs....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Since my family went out of state, we decided to come back and visit Port Townsend. Staying at the Palace hotel made me feel i'm home again. Our stay was very relaxing especially after a day's tour in the city. Our bed was the coziest bed ever, very comfy and cozy! The hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating too! Thank you! This hotel is really excellent, the victorian style! Can't wait to go back there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Manager Gary is rude obnoxious and almost threw me out for complaining about the rough nasty towels they give you. Never go there he is rude arrogant and cares nothing about the customers. I will never go back until he is replaced. He made me cry and laughed at me I spent 180 for my birthday and will never ever go back he would not know what customer service was if it bit him in the ?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jules K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ann Starrett Mansion Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#9 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Property: Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Address: 1004 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Hotel Port Townsend 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing