We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My love of Port Townsend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“My love of Port Townsend.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Palace is charming and a great deal when using their 2 for the price of 1 night special! A couple girlfriends and I try and go once a year for a fun getaway (and to search for a bit of ghost action) I love all the different rooms and it’s still fun to explore each of them even knowing the property. The rooms with the claw foot tubs are a treat and the rooms with the exposed brick are cool.They are located right down town (across from the water) convenient for shopping, eating and stumbling home after a night of drinking. The front desk and housekeeping are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, choose a room on the first (well, its their second) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drea012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    115
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
32
157
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in the Miss Rose room, which had a lovely old-fashioned feel and the most glamorous bathroom we had ever seen! Dark red walls, gilded mirrors, freestanding jacuzzi bath...gorgeous! We loved Port Townsend immediately and were welcomed very warmly at the front desk on arrival at the hotel. Although I can't remember the gent's name, he had a lovely Boston accent and told us plenty about the history of the place, which is fascinating. He also recommended the Silverwater cafe for dinner and it was DELICIOUS! We only wish we could have stayed in PT longer.
one note - Be prepared for pre-dawn foghorns....!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

we recently stayed at this wonderful hotel as part of our vacation travelling around washington. What a find! it was brilliant, the rooms are all full of antiques and ours was large, spacious, clean and had lots of character. The staff are really helpful. I agree with the point that the seagulls are very noisy on a morning but you have to remember this is a working port. Loved the history of the place. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a wonderful hotel, much nicer than I expected, The ambiance of the hotel draws you into the era in which it was built, you can close your eyes and invision the happenings back then. We stayed in the Miss Clara which was both charming and comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with any needs. Port Townsend is a one of a kind area, nice little shops,wonderful restaurant and beautiful waterfront, my only complaint was I had to leave, I wish I had planned to stay longer, hopefully we will return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed at the Palace Hotel while visiting Port Townsend, and I initially planned to take the ferry to Whidebey Island the following day. The hotel is located in a historic building on water street, dating from 1889, if I am not mistaken. The interior has the appropriate look, which is charming. The room has an actual, and not a magnetic key. I took a room with a shared bathroom, located a few meters from my room. The room itself had a queen sized bed, a small kitchen, which I used for facial washing, a television, but no telephone. They have free WiFi using the WAP2 security protocol for authentication. My old laptop, running Windows XP refused to connect. My iPAD connected and ran well.
The shades in the room were half transparent, so they did not block the sunlight in the morning.
Another problem with the room, and the hotel is that a flock of seagulls like to stay on its rooftop, and on the rooftops of adjacent buildings. Although the area is very quiet, the room was not. The cries of the seagulls were heard all the time.

The hotel does not serve breakfast. The receptionist sent me to a good place a few blocks away.

The hotel has no elevator, so you might consider bringing light luggage with you.

I don't want the review to seem negative. The service was excellent. The receptionist friendly and helpful. The room clean. The bed comfortable, and the price reasonable for the area.

The reason I gave the hotel an average score is because of the downsides I included in the review.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhz_tlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

What a fun hotel! The fun starts with gracious and knowledgeable Robert at the front desk, continues with great lobby and halls with antique furniture and doesn't end even when you pay the bill. We stayed at the Ms Claire and had everything we needed. Bathroom was spacious and super clean (no bath, just shower), bed comfortable, and location unbeatable. Lots of parking available in the back of hotel.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerenym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The room decorations are perfect to the detail. Excellent value for the experience you get. A treat!
If you're a light sleeper like me, then do take some earplugs because the seagulls can raise hell outside the window from early morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halibut22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
346 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Property: Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Address: 1004 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Hotel Port Townsend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing