We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't Even get the chance to stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
WY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Didn't Even get the chance to stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2008

We were looking for a place to stay for 2 nights prior to our wedding in this town, and the man who runs the inn was positively rude about everything! Their ads on the website describing their "specials" have lots of FINE PRINT so beware when you think you can get a good deal here. And, the man was so rude on the phone, instead of paying the extra cost of the "fine print" I just cancelled the reservation.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    113
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
32
153
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

Like others, we booked our stay at the Palace Hotel based on other reviews. We were shocked to find a shabby, worn out hotel, with toilet paper used as insulation on the leaky windows. The bed was like sleeping on a cement slab. While the pillows were plentiful, they were as comforting as the bed.

The rooms don't have phones or clocks and by the time you drag all of your luggage up to your "deluxe" room on the third floor (no elevator), it is posted that clocks are available at the front desk.

The room was as clean as it could be, but the furniture was filthy. We could see the headprints from past visitors and grime on the footstool. The furniture was threadbare and scuffed. We must have missed the "restored" part.

We would not even think to touch the bath mat they have rolled up in the corner of the bathroom for the shower and the shower curtain looked like it needed to be changed years ago. That could be because the tub didn't drain entirely. In addition, the toilet didn't flush properly.

The room did have a plasma television, but it was haphazardly placed on a dresser, blocking the only full length mirror and difficult for anyone to actually view. It could easily have been mounted on the wall, thereby giving people a chance to actually use both the television and the dresser for their intended purposes.

The lighting is insufficient and the entire hotel smells musty. If that's what they mean by quaint and Victorian, we'll pass. So much missed potential.

We will not stay at the Palace Hotel again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rmacWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

Ok, so the town is great, its people wonderful, and the victorian homes and this hotel are really something to look at. But why stay in a hotel for a price that would suggest 3 stars.

The ideal hotel room is one which is clean (check), quiet (if it hadn't been for those suburban twits on the 2nd floor running around at all hours), modern amenities (that sixties couch does not go for Victorian dear owners - thank god I didn't come in the Summer) and a personable and good service at the front desk - that is what a hotel is - a service company.

If you really HAVE to do Victorian, do it when school kids at school and you don't need the front desk for anything, they are likely to be still on the effects of the crackpipe.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank pie_poo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

The Palace hotel is trying to be romantic and fussy but it needs some help.

First, we stayed in the Miss Cecilia, which has a shared bath -- it was one of only two rooms available when we booked. That bit was fine, we never had to wait for the bathroom. However, our room could have used the adjustments to make it more comfortable.

Bed: Horribly uncomfortable. Mattress was way too soft and mushy -- who sleeps on mattresses like this??? Our backs ached in the morning. No headboard or anything -- the picture of the room online shows a very cozy looking sleigh style bed.

Continental Breakfast: Never came. Is supposed to be delivered in the off season at your door. We didn't see anyone with one. It would have been appreciated because apparently this town doesn't come to life until after 10am. (Also rolls up it's sidewalks at 7pm)

Full disclosure about room location: I would have liked to have known that our room was literally on the landing of the second flight of stairs when I booked it. Speaking frankly, this place bills itself as a romantic getaway. However, I felt a little embarrassed about getting "romantic" with so many people passing by our door as they checked in and went about their tour of the hotel. The rooms echo A LOT due to the high ceilings and lack of ability to provide soundproofing.

Overall, I probably wouldn't stay here again. The level of service just isn't what it should be for what they are trying to sell.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Bed, location of room in the hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank willowcrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

Touted as historic, but frankly just old. Old rickity furniture in the room and the lobbies, retrofitted problematic metal windows installed right over original wood frames (with removeable screens that were torn), uncomfortable bed and bed linens, a decor mix of dusty old victorian and 1980's frilly country. And, a walk up three flights of stairs to get to our room which would have been fine if the room had been worth the hike. The hotel location was great... right on the main street. Very convenient. And the staff was gentle and kind. But the place needs serious TLC by people who understand design rennovation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Style
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoVenturaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

We stayed in the "Miss Lily" the night after a long hike. Four kids my husband, myself and my dog, were warmly welcomed. They had assured us the "Miss Lily" was roomy enough for all, and it was, with an extra rollaway bed. This is actually a huge space. I have never slept so well in a hotel room.

They had a "doggy bag" for my dog which consisted of a towel, a sheet and dog dishes to use during the stay. The extra cost per night for a dog is $10, very reasonable. We couldn't believe how nice the hotel was for the price. We loved the location, right in town close to restaurants and shops. Close to the ferry.

  • Liked — Big room, beautiful decor,allowed the dog
  • Disliked — Windows were a little dirty
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cyclopsina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2007

My sister and I stayed at the Palace for two nights. The hotel is clean, safe, and seriously charming. There are a variety of lovely rooms - old-fashioned quilted bedspreads, lace curtains, unique bathrooms. We had a huge suite (Miss Lily) - queen bed in the separate bedroom, double futon bed (comfortable) in the LR. There was a small, but complete, kitchen. The rooms must have had 15 - 20 foot ceilings - bright, airy, comfortable. The staff were helpful and knowlegeable. The hotel was right in the centre of old town on Water Street (the main street in the downtown core). It was minutes from just about any service. There was some noise from the street, but ear plugs work. And, there are plenty of stairs and no elevators. That's 30 plus stairs to the second floor and another 25 or so to the third floor. Staff will assist with luggage. I looked upon climbing the stairs as my personal physical fitness regime. I highly recommend this hotel...

  • Liked — It's seriously charming!
  • Disliked — No elevators and it's somewhat noisy as it's in
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Property: Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Address: 1004 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Hotel Port Townsend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing