We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disclaimer: I didn't stay here! Still, looked great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I needed a two sleeping area room on short notice, and the Palace was not able to accommodate me. (We wound up at the Bishop Victorian, which was also excellent.) However, while walking around town in early afternoon, we stopped in at the Palace to see the lobby, which was quite interesting. The ladies at the desk told us to go on up and look in any of the rooms with open doors.

They all looked very quaint and well done. Some are just hotel rooms, although with nice Victorian furniture, but some are suites with kitchenettes, or even full kitchens with ranges. My favorite was the Crow's Nest with a full kitchen, bedroom, plus a loft with a double bed. PLUS - the prices were phenomenal! I loved the Bishop, but I want to go back to Port Townsend just to stay at the Palace. (I mean, where else can a nice, shy girl like me stay in a brothel?)

I only downgraded to 4 stars because I couldn't speak to service or comfort of rooms.

Room Tip: Above ratings are only from looking at the rooms, as we were not able to get a room here.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Palace Hotel Port Townsend
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 298 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is an experience all on its own. The restoration has been so detailed that you really feel like you have stepped back in time. The rooms are huge! The service is great, and you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: One thing, there is no elevator. Choose a room on the second floor--27 steps!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jholmgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a small hotel in a renovated downtown building. My experience began with a very helpful desk clerk. The room I chose was large, very clean, and comfortable. At about $120 for the night it was in line with several hotels that did not look nearly as nice. It was also dog friendly. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HereAndThere79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We enjoyed two nights here in Port Townsend. Stayed in two different lovely rooms. Furnishings elegant with modern convience of in room coffee and micro wave. Large parlor and lobby with computer. Central to everything. Deer in parking lot as we were leaving. Friendly staff took us in on short notice. Would love to stay again!

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seacliff23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed in Miss Genevieve. Pros: the building itself was lovely. Our room was spacious & the bed comfy. the staff were friendly & accommodating. Location was central, right downtown. Value was exceptional. Cons: there is a lot of street construction going on right now almost directly outside the hotel's front door. This detracts a bit from how primo the location would otherwise have been. Park on Water St or the little side street and be prepared to promptly take your car to the wash-- the trees shower some kind of sticky goo-- our SUV seemed to have been misted all over w/ Coke. Our shower was fantastic! Big claw foot tub with an absolute waterfall drenching. Problem was the H2O tank was too small to accommodate said waterfall. After my husband took a shower (admittedly a longish one) my shower was approx 3 mins til hot water was gone!! Re: value, we got the tail end of a Sun- Thurs buy 1 night get 1 night free deal. So the normal hi season price of our room ($140) i would say was an okay value. I classify our room as such an excellent value only because we paid 1/2 price for it each night. Lastly, there are some odd smells going on in the hotel-- not in our room exactly, more in the lobby and common areas, although i did poke into some open rooms and some had odors i wouldn't describe as pleanant. Anyway, regarding these odors, some were slightly noxious, others just strange & mysterious. I recommend not thinking too much about it. Overall: we will return, hopefully to occupy a swank room on the 3rd floor AFTER all the construction is over and when they are having another sweet buy 1 get 1 free sort of deal.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is really high! (Each staircase is more like two since the ceilings are vaulted.) There i...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in Miss Lou's 3rd floor room which had a beautiful view of the ocean. The check in was fast and efficient and Bob from Boston was very friendly and most helpful. The room was bright with high ceilings, neatly decorated Victorian style and had a tv, fridge and microwave. If you go, make sure to stop across the street at Better Living Through Coffee for a hot beverage and homemade donuts (they only have the donuts on Mondays though!) Also the Rose Theater is an old refurbished theater with a small balcony seating area - great place to watch a movie, and they serve yummy popcorn! We went to the Salal cafe down the street which served breakfast and lunch - excellent vegetarian options! Lovely and quaint town with great architectural buildings - make sure to check out the post office building.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Palace hotel is right in the heart of down town with plenty of restaurants, shopping and coffee shops within easy walking distance. Although perhaps a 10 - 15 minute walk uptown, we found a very nice movie theater showing three different 1st run movies.

The staff at the hotel couldn't have been nicer. They provided us short list of recommended restaurants and a tourist map of downtown suggesting where we might eat and what was interesting to see. They we always more than willing to help us with directions and suggestions. After checking in, they encouraged us to go into any of the rooms where patrons had not arrived (doors left open) to see what we thought of the rooms. This was fun as we arrived early enough to check out several rooms: The "Crow's Nest" looks like it will be our next room to try!

We stayed in the "Miss Abigail" room and I have attached pictures. The room was on the second floor and was great. Antique decor with four poster bed, 14' high ceilings, indirect lighting, and windows on two sides of the room. The room was very clean with new carpet, and the bathroom was just freshly remodeled with a fiberglass tub and shower (some other rooms have cast iron claw foot tubs). A funky little (in a good way) kitchen finished off the room.

We got a ton of walking in as there's a lot to see without needing to drive (Free parking is provided behind the hotel). Just across the street, in a basement location is Nessicito Burrito: We arrive at taco happy hour (4PM to 6PM) and had 6 tacos and two beers for just at $10 total! We ate breakfast at the cafe out past the mariner museum (The name escapes me) on the other side of the marina: Breakfast was really, really good, the view wonderful, and the price very reasonable.

We would definitely like to come back for a visit again.

Room Tip: Look at the hotel's website as there are photos of each room. After narrowing it down, contact...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamJonesSalem_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
53 reviews
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Address: 1004 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $166 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Hotel Port Townsend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing