We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We will never forget our stay at the Palace Hotel. Historic, beautiful decorated victorian rooms, very friendly staff. A must stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Do wish it was more affordable.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank deiter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 300 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

Was looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the heart of Port Townsend and this hotel was a gem! Very reasonable priced room with all the amenities...bed was very comfortable, hotel very quiet, staff very accomodating. And it was CLEAN! I would stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: See the room before you commit to staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannejkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The fact that the hotel is pet friendly should be made clear upfront. This is a very nice, if not posh, Victorian hotel. High ceilings, wide staircases and hallways. The rooms/suites, all different, have some very nice touches. The bathroom in the Miss Rose room, for example, is period and lovely.
We are not pet people. In our room, Miss Lily, there was a slight aromatic hint of pet. Not enough to make us leave, but we'd would rather it didn't. We'll probably explore non-pet accommodations in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcrochny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We always enjoy going to Port Townsend for it's interesting little shops. This was the first time we stayed at a hotel in the center of town. One thing we learned; go to bed early because sleeping in is virtuously impossible. At around 8 PM (on a weeknight) this town became strangely quiet. We were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was as we drifted off to sleep with plans to sleep in. Wrong! We spent 2 nights there and at 5 AM both mornings; the seagulls began their wake up calls, followed by very loud delivery and garbage trucks.
The hotel has personality and intrigue. Each room has its own charm. Our room had a very comfortable / albiut, very squeaky bed...brings to mind the true feel of a brothel / turned hotel.
One drawback; They warned us ahead that we would need to climb 3 flights of stairs to our room. What surprised us was, the height of the ceilings made the ascent feel like at least 5 flights.
But, over all, it was a great visit.

Room Tip: Best view, room 11 (Miss Kitty)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbcleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

This is an old victorian hotel that is is a wonderful location and within walking distance to everything. We stayed in room #3 and it was huge with views of the town and the water. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elimtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Last week, my husband and I (we're retired) spent a couple of happy nights in Marie's room (Rm 3) where we gloried in the expansive dimensions of the room, both horizontally and vertically, while gazing out its many floor to ceiling windows lining our corner suite and taking turns indulging in a long read while lying on an elegant upholstered divan. We enjoyed walking around barefoot on the luscious deep red carpets in the bed / sitting area and on shiny green linoleum in the kitchenette and bathroom. The latter was beautifully appointed with wood furniture and soft, romantic lighting (kind to older faces!), including a golden stained glass window by day. Our room, overflowing with character and charm, offered a welcome retreat during one particularly rainy afternoon when we lay around reading and feeling extravagantly pampered!

The stairs, which several previous guests have complained about, appear to have been newly carpeted and are wide and welcoming, with a beautiful stained glass skylight overlooking the staircase to the third floor, an awesome 'overhead' reward after exercising the leg muscles. Besides, while on holiday, climbing stairs provide an easy way to fit in a little exercise, and Port Townsend, built on a steep hill, offers hikers and strollers several sets of outdoor staircases and hills too to lead visitors Uptown to its many attractions.

Our 2-night stay in Port Townsend was followed by a 3-night stay in Coupeville on Whidbey Island. Sadly, I spent every evening there in our cramped B&B bedroom wishing I was still back in the grand and graceful surroundings of Marie's room at the Palace Hotel! At the same price, I doubt any corporate hotel could offer a comparable room experience, either in quality (beauty and charm) or quantity (i.e., square footage up, down and sideways).

Besides all the above, it was simply great fun spending time in an old hotel with a long history that has been so lovingly preserved. We'll return again soon to the Palace Hotel to luxuriate in its truly spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rasswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Found crusty washcloths left in the shower. Furntiure was dirty and dated. Some staff was pleasant and others not. We've been to PT many times and there aren't a lot of great choices, but some of the B&B's in town are nice. The Bishop is good and the Water Street is better. Fort Worden is also a fun place to stay.

Eat at T's out past the marina.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Address: 1004 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: $167 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Hotel Port Townsend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing