We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacularly 50's”

Nifty Fifty Soda Fountain
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Port Townsend
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spectacularly 50's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Great malt shake, smoothie and amazing looking lime ice cream soda (really regret not photographing it) that made all the customers on the deck turn and stare. It'd get 5 stars if the friendly staff were a little more 50's looking. If I ever get back to this lovely off beat town I'll definitely pay this place a visit..

Helpful?
Thank iwantacervelow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    63
    39
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neat 50's theme.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

The decor is cool my wife liked it alot. She has a thing for the 50's soda pop and the parents found it a nice throw back to them.
Service was to be desired, we felt rushed to order then to eat and get out.
The food was really bland for us, a burger that ketchup and mustard couldn't save and we tried. A mushroom burger that tasted like nothing. I mean really a little seasoning while cooking them up doesn't hurt.
If we were just going for ice cream I'm sure it would have been better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scala76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Always part of our visit to Port Townsend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have come to this diner many times over the years. It has especially been a great place to bring our kids. They have fun sitting up at the barstools to watch the banana split being made and they take turns picking out songs for the jukebox. Has a great 50s atmosphere and nice location on the water. The menu is more basic but the experience as a whole makes it worthwhile. Love to get Shirley Temples and Roy Rogers here too. Our trips to Port Townsend aren't complete without stopping here for lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowgirltwentytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“We love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

It's actually a fairly simple place. The kick is the genuine 50s barstools, booths, jukebox, and soda fountains. They ice cream is great quality and comes in many varieties and preparations (including coke floats... my fav). The food menu is simple, things like burgers, chicken fingers, and some pretty good halibut and chips. The place is obviously family friendly.
It may not be politically correct to say it, but I also love that the owner/proprietor is an immigrant from another land (I could hazard a guess, but have enough PC to not do so)... the fact he came here, settled in little PT, and opened a genuine 50s ice cream shop fills me with pride that the American Dream still exists...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SethE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nostalgia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

A great 50's soda fountain that is a trip back in time with original fountains and jukeboxes. The food was nothing to write home about, but the drinks and ice cream are great! They have a nice patio on the waterfront if it isn't raining too hard, but it's a lot more fun to stay inside.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aviator657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nifty Fifty Soda Fountain also viewed

 
Port Townsend, WA
 

Been to Nifty Fifty Soda Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing