We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Washington Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Bellevue, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 26, 2008

So great! We found this place on the Port Townsend Guide website, and it lives up to the description. Its in a perfect location, you can walk to all the shops, restaurants and pubs and is very secluded on a quiet street. There are only 4 rooms so its very intimate, we stayed in the Siebenbaum Suite , which has two bedrooms and a communal lounge area, perfect for couples or just a bunch of friends. It shares a common kitchen area but they provide you with menus and restaurant guides which make it very easy to make your way around. Very clean, furnishings nice and modern, staff very friendly and helpful. Overall very wonderful experience and will absolutely stay again!

  • Liked — Great location, amazing accomodations
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank itida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    29
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
41
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Although the hotel is located in the middle downtown, it isn't on the main street and has very little outside noise. The rooms are remodeled with a metro-modern style. The rooms are very large with queen size beds it is clear that the housekeeping staff takes great care in cleaning everything. The beds are very comfortable with down comforters.. The manager, Marilou is always very pleasant and very helpful with suggestions on what to do around town. It is noted that there are only four rooms at this hotel, but three of them are actually suites that have two bedrooms or two beds in one very large room with a sitting room. The room came equipped with t.v., dvd, stereo, coffee pot and refrigerator. There is a convenient common kitchen area that is equipped with a microwave, bar sink, dvds, magazines and extra supplies (ie paper plates, silverware etc.) in case you need something in the middle of the night. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting as a couple or a group.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler3340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stay in Port Townsend regularly, usually choosing to camp in our RV. This particular weekend was our 10 year anniversary so I looked for a nice Hotel at a decent rate. I stumbled upon the Washington after checking into almost every hotel in the city. The rooms are newly renovated and very clean. There are like 4 or 5 rooms on one floor with a common area. There is no public access to the hotel so the only folks there are guests. It is private, secure and cozy. You can walk anywhere in the downtown area within about 5 minutes. It is right next to the awesome Rose Theater. Just a really great hotel in a great location and we will probably stay there again in lieu of oour RV.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank chazanddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Port Townsend is a cute little town and the Washington Hotel made the stay even better. We stayed for 2 nights…May 16-18, Friday and Saturday nights. Washington Hotel was reasonably priced and walking distance to everything. We were going to stay at Harbor Inn but lucked up and found the WA Hotel. I’m really glad we stayed here…Harbor Inn was further away from the restaurants and shops and did not offer suites to accommdate 5 adults. Just a tip….if you are trying to choose between Port Townsend or Port Angeles….I would definitely recommend PT over Port Angeles.

We arrived and there was a parade going on; the fair was also in town. After the parade ended, we grabbed a bite to eat at Khu Larb Thai…which was not crowded at all. The only place that was crowded was Water Street Brewing. We stopped at a local wine store called The Wine Seller….tasty wine and the owner was very nice. We were told Saturday morning there was another parade for the Rhody Festival that was going on..but we already had plans to the San Juan Islands. After our excursion to Friday Harbor on San Juan, we shopped a little and then ate at Silverwater Café. It was good but pricey compared to Columbia, SC food prices! Then went to Elevated Ice Cream for dessert--it was okay...pricey again. Sunday morning was the best because we woke up early to walk on a small beach in PT, the pier, & around the neighborhood. We then ate at Lighthouse Café—it was yummy but service was slow. After breakfast, we headed back to Seattle to leave for home. PT is a cool town and wish we could have stayed longer.

Accommodations:
The Washington Hotel was awesome. There are only 4 suites in the hotel…and it’s not a typical hotel. The owner basically rents the suites out and provides general information regarding the suites by phone. We stayed in Suite 4 which can accommodate 5 adults. The suite had 1 bedroom with a double bed, another walk-through room with the TV and double bed and the main area has small refrigerator and a sofa/day bed & sitting area, and 1 bathroom. The suite looks like it was recently painted, updated, and was clean. The suite included towels, bed sheets, and toilet paper. In the hallway of the hotel it had a kitchen area with a sink and microwave; and it also had books, magazines, brochures for Port Townsend, and movies to watch in your room. The hotel was walking distance to everything….shops, restaurants, and the beach.

The area:
Port Townsend is a quaint little town with lots to see and do; it has many little shops, close to the beach & pier, near the PS Express, has a ferry to Keystone, WA, old movie theater, and the neighborhood of PT is lovely. We walked one morning in the neighborhood, shopped a little, walked to the beach & pier, did an excursion with the PS Express, the Whale Watching & Friday Harbor Cruise--it was awesome & worth the money.

Restaurants:
Khu Larb Thai--we ate here the first night for dinner…inexpensive & yummy…was not crowded at all for a Friday night.

Silverwater Café- --pricey for dinner…my pasta was $18 and didn’t come with any meat, cocktails were $7.50-8.00. The cheapest item on the menu was a burger for $10. It was not crowded, the service was great and the food was yummy but again a little pricey.

Elevated Ice Cream---pricey again….a 2 scoop Banana Split was $5.95. They did have yummy looking pies. The Banana Split was okay but nothing great….maybe I should have had a piece of pie.

Lighthouse Cafe—we ate for breakfast. It had good menu choices and reasonable prices, however, there were only 2 people working so our food came out at different times---not all at the same time so we couldn’t all eat together.

Shop:
The Wine Seller---we missed the wine tasting....but this place has a variety of wines and cheeses. We love this store and wish we could have one like it back home. They have many Washington and Oregon wines to choose from….along with any other wine you can think of. The owner was super nice and helpful also.

  • Liked — wonderful suite & location..walking distance to everything
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ande070806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.1 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
339 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Hotel

Property: The Washington Hotel
Address: 825 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Washington Street that runs parallel to Water Street in the heart of downtown. Near all the restaurants, movie theater, fitness center, shops, marina and the Northwest Maritime Center. Within easy walking distance to all of downtown, located across the street from Haller Fountain. Six blocks from the Uptown District and where the Saturday Farmer's Market is held. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing