We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and great service”
Review of Bay Street Bistro

Bay Street Bistro
Ranked #5 of 117 Restaurants in Port Orchard
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great food and great service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I arranged for a small wedding reception at this restaurant. We had been there before and loved it. The owner handled all the details and we were seated upstairs. Dinner started with a complimentary aperativ. We ordered the special house appetizer which is called a blue cheese cake. Wow is all I can say. All of us had different main dishes and they were all great. I had the special which was steelhead fish topped with melted brie. My husband had the smoked pork chops and another member of the party had the scallops. We special ordered the chocolate truffle for dessert. It was made by Carter's, a local choclatier and was rich and delicious. The decor is kind of antiques and exposed brick walls and the dishes are all different. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    25
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were greeted with a complimentary aperitif, and had a wonderful meal. This intimate dining experience is renowned for it's great food and great service, with good reason. We've eaten here five or six times and never been disappointed. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElliottBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent any night of the week”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We visited tonight for a late dinner (by sleepy Port Orchard standards) at 8:00 pm. The only other guests were leaving as we arrived, and we had the restaurant and server to ourselves. We had only visited once before - for the tapas on a Farmers' Market Saturday at lunch - but we needed to come back for the full effect. The menu has a good variety, the wine and spirits list is good (too much reliance on local products, though, to be called exceptional), and the service was great in a folksy way. The music really set the tone, more so than the décor, which is simple - almost rustic.
Our food was excellent. The timing of everything was superb. Julia's beouf was simply delicious, and I ate every bit of the broccoli. Husband's ravioli was perfect, as well. Dessert was a caramel cheesecake from Carter's Chocolates down the street. Everything from Carter's is magnificent.
The only minor detriment was that the red wine was served at room temperature, which was warm today. It was still very drinkable.
We'll be back when the seasonal menu changes a bit. We hope they actually put on a bacon themed dinner, as discussed while we were there. Prosciutto, then spinach salad, then filets mignon, then get Carter's to make some really dark chocolate with bacon. Mmmmmm.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Renaissance_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
211 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hidden gem is located on Bay Street and could be easily passed by because of its location at the end of the main area of downtown. It reminded us of a bistro in Paris. The food was excellent. The service was snappy and gracious. There was a good variety of menu items to choose from and every dish looked wonderful. We had the choice of soup or salad with our entree and chose the Caesar salad which was grilled. An appertif was served and it was delicate. Our food was well prepared with seasoning which met with our approval. We chose a dessert which was "to die for" and presented quite elegantly. We highly recommend the Bay Street Bistro for fine dining. We also understand that on Saturday the restaurant is open for lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerwmmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Pt Orchard by far”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The food is almost always perfect. The portions are just right. Love the roasted veggie platter and the apertif. Lots of nice touches. Not a pizza or hamburger or a deep-fried anything on the menu..hoorah!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank b0b054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Street Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bay Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing