We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

The Fireside Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fireside Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Fireside Restaurant is located within the Inn at Port Ludlow. The Dining Room is open from 7am to closing every day of the week. Chef Dan Ratigan prepares locally sourced menus and works closely with the local farms, artisans and fisheries to create a Daily Dinner Menu. We are open for Happy Hour EVERY DAY from 4-6pm featuring tapas style food options and daily beverage specials. The wine list is award winning - most recently with the 2017 Wine Spectator Best of Award. Holidays and special events are featured throughout the year including winemaker dinners, cooking classes and other "foodie" events. Seasonally, guests enjoy the Veranda overlooking Port Ludlow Marina and the Olympic Mountains. Guests can stay over and enjoy a "farm package" where they visit three local farms, bring the basket back and Chef will prepare a meal from the ingredients provided.Private parties are invited to enjoy the private rooms as well. Reservations are recommended.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

visiting Port Ludlow in May 2014, we enjoyed several meals at the Fireside Restaurant. breakfast, dinner and happy hour menu items were all fabulous. Good sized portions, exquisitely prepared, friendly service, and unique menu items made for wonderful dining experiences in this lovely restaurant. will definitely dine there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank holidayingfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for this very kind review. We are delighted that you had an opportunity to enjoy our restaurant and really look forward to your return! This kind of expression validates what we are doing and how we are doing it...that means the world to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for The Fireside Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 241 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

We often go to the Fireside, located at "The Inn at Port Ludlow" for their 4-6:00 PM happy hour which features a special reduced price happy hou menu, and a selection of reduced price wines and beer. By far, the best happy hour selection is the burger which uses certified Angus beef, carmelized onions, a slice of cheese and the Inn's excellent fries for for $8.00. Other selections include a Ceasar Salad, an excellent Clam Chowder served with bread; and occasionally a pair of fish tacos.

Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for this very "happy" review - we are delighted that you enjoy our Happy Hour and hope to see you on the Veranda soon. These are the days to really enjoy - long evenings, calm waters, amazing views - and as you say, the best burger you can imagine! Appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Reservations and a credit card are required. If you haven't booked as a large group, you share a table with other small groups. The room was bright and clean. Get there at 2, or you could miss out.
The scones were pretty bland and lacking texture, but the cream and marmalade were delicious. The vanilla tea was ok, but nobody at our table was offered a refill and our cups were never filled very high. The next round featured sandwich items and a better black tea. Even though we were all separate parties, they served our table as a group, which would be fine, except they didn't bring out enough for everyone to try one of each item. I only managed to get 2 of the 4, one was too salty, the other was tasty. One lady at our table managed to get a refill on the tea, but had to ask and then wait a while for it. The racks they have to hold up the heavy plates they bring out aren't stable and would wobble throughout the service, the table behind ours had a spill.
When the desserts were brought out, someone at our table asked the server if there would be enough for everyone to try one of everything this time, she replied, "I hope so!" and dashed off, even though a quick glance told us there clearly wasn't. What I was able to try was tasty. Again only one cup of tea (a nice green number), when someone at our table tried to get a refill, she was told there wasn't any left. Gratuity is automatically added, which wasn't made clear before hand, should've looked more closely at our receipt, but after such an awkward experience, we just wanted to get out of there, plus we were hungry. "Only $19.95 per person" sounded like a good deal, but we felt pretty ripped-off. It's too bad, it has great potential. They kept our waters full though!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paper_monkE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for making the time to share the specifics of your experience with Afternoon Tea. We are very sorry that you did not have a good time at this event, one that we do monthly and generally with very favorable outcomes. We take all of your comments to heart and will be exploring how to improve upon this as it has become an event that our guests have come to enjoy. Please accept our apology that this was not the case for you. We do hope to have you try again as we strive to improve. Thank you, again, for sharing your impressions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Went in for a birthday lunch, though to be fair we didn't mention that. This was only our second visit, because we live about an hour away. We looked forward to this, because we had a very nice lunch when we went about a year ago. We got our wine fairly quickly, but then it took about 35 minutes for our sandwiches. Initially my husband ordered the pulled pork, and the waitress suggested that if a BBQ pork was more what we had in mind that she could add a side of sauce, okay. A few minutes later the waitress returned and informed us she'd have to charge for the extra sauce. How much could that cost? The idea was a little off-putting. Thinking maybe he'd rather have the hamburger anyway, my husband went with that. He commented to me next time no blue cheese sauce. I had an over-seasoned and somewhat oily chicken sandwich. We were hungry, so we did eat. I like some seasoning in my food, but would suggest getting your seasonings on the side. It will probably be another year, though not a birthday, before we return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chordgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your impressions and a bit of your experience at The Fireside. Again, we apologize for this situation and look forward to having you back with us at your next earliest opportunity. It is helpful to know when there is an "off" day/situation and we appreciate that you made the time to write this to help us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Fireside is in Port Ludlow on the Olympic peninsula. We took a seaplane flight from Lake Union in Seattle (Seattle Seaplane Charter for special occaision) and took 20 minutes to get there. Plane lands 100 ft from the restaurant. Cozy place - comfortable for dress up, or down. Very nice staff and very professional service. Great happy hour prices even though we were there for Dinner. King Salmon (rare on request) was excellent as was the Caesar salad and accompaniments. Turtle pie for desert was excellent and prices were reasonable. If you want a great deal - come for Happy Hour 4-6! Would definitely return even if I had to Drive next time.

Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for this very descriptive review! We are delighted that you were able to enjoy the seaplane experience - talk about a sense of arrival! We especially love that you were specific in your requests and that we were able to accommodate this...and oh, yes, the turtle pie is a fan favorite! We appreciate that you made the time to share your impressions and look forward to your visit - with by plane or by car....until then, happy journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fireside Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Fireside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing