We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating and tasty!”

The Fireside Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fireside Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Fireside Restaurant is located within the Inn at Port Ludlow. The Dining Room is open from 7am to closing every day of the week. Chef Dan Ratigan prepares locally sourced menus and works closely with the local farms, artisans and fisheries to create a Daily Dinner Menu. We are open for Happy Hour EVERY DAY from 4-6pm featuring tapas style food options and daily beverage specials. The restaurant has received the Wine Spectator Award for 2014 the Award of Distinction from the Washington Wine Commission 2014 as well. Holidays and special events are featured throughout the year including winemaker dinners, cooking classes and other "foodie" events. Nightly events include "Ciders & Sliders" and live entertainment is provided every Thursday. Seasonally, guests enjoy the Veranda overlooking Port Ludlow Marina and the Olympic Mountains. Guests can stay over and enjoy a "farm package" where they visit three local farms, bring the basket back and Chef will prepare a meal from the ingredients provided.Private parties are invited to enjoy the private rooms as well. Reservations are recommended.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Accommodating and tasty!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went here for dinner - while we liked the items on the menu, we wanted them prepared differently -- e.g. we wanted salmon with the butter lemon sauce which was for the cod (not the ragout), and we wanted the whipped potatoes that were with the pork -- No Problem -- the staff and the chef were very accommodating to all our requests. we had a fabulous dinner, great laughs, good desserts and everyone got what they wanted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleLwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience - and are appreciative that you ASKED for modifications to the menu. We are more than happy to prepare the meal to the liking of our guest - and when you let us know, it allows us to do so. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    55
    35
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our lunch and dinner very much”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

THE Wife and I ate lunch and dinner here on May 17. Overall we were very impressed with both meals both in terms of portion size and taste. THE Wife is a vegetarian and for dinner she had a beet and cheese salad which she loved. For lunch she had pizza which she also really enjoyed. I had for lunch a pasta dish with mushrooms and a light parmesan sauce - large portion and very well cooked. For dinner I had the salmon dish on the menu and it was great! They bring you bread, butter or an olive tapenade as an appetizer. Service was very attentive. They have a wonderful patio over-looking the marina. It was cool when we ate so we were inside and we both really enjoyed the dining room.

Generally, we were very happy with this restaurant, the food was very tasty, the service was wonderful and the ambience was very pleasant. We felt we received great value despite it being a little on the pricey side.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steeltownhab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meals with us. We strive to ensure our guests have a memorable experience - through the locally sourced ingredients (yes, a bit more expensive, but oh so worth it.) to our focus on caring for the guest in an unobtrusive yet engaging way to the views afforded by Mother Nature through our location. We look forward to seeing you again soon and do appreciate that you made the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food was great, porch seating was the best”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Grab a table on the porch, watch the boats in the harbor and enjoy some tasty brews, good food and a great sunset. We had a nice happy hour on Saturday night - beers, bruchetta, fries. Nothing mindblowing, but all good quality, tasty delights. Morning brunch was good. I was a little disappointed that they had run out of the quiche AND orange juice for mimosas... but our waitress was excellent sent someone to the store to buy more (could she tell I REALLY wanted a mimosas?) Nevertheless, great service both times and hard to beat views!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank seattlebartlettpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience....and hope to see you again soon so that we can prepare a meal that IS beyond your expectation. The Veranda is such a sweet spot to linger longer - and the Daily Dinner Menu is the place we really shine. We appreciate that you made the time to share your views and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Disorganized and Unprepared”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 6:15 pm to have a drink before our 7 pm dinner reservation. Even then, we had to wait for the two waitresses (I hate being PC) to seat us.

We elected to sit on the balcony outside. Our drinks were served and we enjoyed the evening. At 7, I told the waitress we were ready to order. We decided on the Cheese Flight and I ordered the beet salad and Kobe Skirt Steak. My wife ordered the Spring Field Greens and the same steak...both medium rare.

The cheese was cheesy, the salads were small and the steak, although properly cooked, were accompanied by tasteless, underdone risotto... We also ordered a Chardonney and Pinot Noir, neither of which did we learn their names. The Pinot was like perfume...are you kidding me?

The second ewaitress finally did light the overhead gas heater as the sun had gone down and others had abandoned the scene. (This simple meal took until 8:30 to come to an unsatisfied conclusion).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Townsend_Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The food is nicely presented and tasty enough, though the portions are on the smaller side and no side dishes are included unless you count the two baby carrots on the side of the plate. Prices are not in line with what you're buying so that it makes me think it's just another restaurant that's banking on its location and view.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fireside Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Fireside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing