We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay or personal pleasure?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Resort at Port Ludlow
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business stay or personal pleasure?”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A very welcoming and professional staff compliments a beautiful and well planned facility. Though here on business, we were greeted by comfortable and well appointed rooms providing many luxury amenities, and experienced excellent food for breakfast, lunch and dinner with attentive service. The relaxing location made our stay much more a personal, pleasurable retreat than a typical business grind. Thank you Resort at Port Ludlow.

Room Tip: The view to the west offers spectacular views of the Port Ludlow Marina. The lights at night are pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. It is so nice to see how our venue fits with the business and pleasure model - and you outlined it beautifully. Yes, we are a terrific setting for retreats - and many of our guests suggest that it provides a very productive environment because it allows for focus and relaxation at the same time. (just don't get too focused on the bald eagles on the totem pole or you'll lose that focus!) We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals too - we don't distinguish between group and individual traveler dining experiences so far as the quality or the sourcing....that means it is the same farm fresh delivery for both. We hope to see you again soon - whether for business or pleasure - or both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    119
    43
    9
    10
See reviews for
68
322
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Resort Port Ludlow on our last stop after touring both Oregon and Washington State and were very pleased with this hotel. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom with its little luxury, but environmentally conscious products was very nice and relaxing. The general rooms downstairs were extremely tasteful and the staff in the restaurant (especially breakfast) were so nice with our five year old.

However, the secludedness also has a bit of a downfall if you don't always want to eat at the (relatively expensive) restaurant on site. It is quite a drive to find any other alternatives and seriously there are not many options in the region. Although the food was good, we wouldn't have wanted to eat there every night for a long stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissEmgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate that you made the time to share your impressions and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you, especially, for the kind note about caring for your family at breakfast. We do adore children (and pets) and strive to make them feel as special as they are. Thanks also for the note about being secluded. Indeed, we are and that is part of the appeal for most of our guests. With the option of the Daily Dinner Menu and reduced prices during Happy Hour (daily), most feel there are plenty of options regardless of the length of stay....it sounds like we need to work on that communication a bit more and we are grateful for your perspective on this one. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy this part of the world and hope your travels will bring you this way again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Memorial Day weekend.
The Room is "Puurfect" ! The Dutch Doors
Between Jacuzzi Bath and Bedroom keep you
Connected both visually and emotionally.
The "Dancing" fireplace as we watch our favorite
movie on a crisp LED screen is so homey.
Not to mention Kuerig coffee centre and fridge and ironing
Centre and bath robes and and and…!
Precise heating/cooling/ventilation controls indicates
German engineering. Even the double glazed windows
Are low-E; Extra thick.
The staff are so friendly and patient. You have to eat at the Fireside restaurant mmmmh !
Bravo to the Management !!❗

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We SO appreciate the specifics that you shared regarding the in room experience. Our guests often comment on the tubs, fireplaces, coffee, robes - and RARELY comment on the details of the comfort controls such as the temperature. Wow - you are keenly aware. We also are delighted that you found our team friendly - and patient - again, not a common term to describe the interaction but one that is critical to the overall experience. Our sense of place sets the tone for the style we present....and comfortable and engaged are part of our mantra. We are DELIGHTED that you enjoyed the visit, and even IF you don't live in Seattle, we hope that you'll find reason to visit again and often. Thanks again for making the time to express your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We enjoyed a one night stay on the late spring promotion. The highlight was the dining experience with the wine steward being extraordinarily knowledgeable and fun, suggesting a bottle not on the list, which we enjoyed immensely. We also got in on the copper river salmon craze of the season, which was delightful. The surrounding area is great, recommend Port Townsend Historical Museum for local flavor, all about Jefferson County. What a great little getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you took advantage of our recent special and hope you'll stay in touch with future ones. We are especially happy that you had such a good experience in the Dining Room and enjoyed our wine steward. We are on pins and needles waiting to hear about the Wine Spectator Award (which we were recognized the last two years with 2 glasses - the ONLY one on the Olympic Peninsula....pretty amazing for a little 37 room Inn!) Copper River is so yummy and we hope to see it for a few more weeks - then we move into Halibut and Sturgeon and CRABBING SEASON and other tasty fish......And how great that you got to enjoy the Historical Museum - a real gem in our County with such fascinating treasures. We appreciate that you made the time to share your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We just spent 4 days/3 nights here and it was the best value for the dollar I've ever spent on a hotel. The staff did a great job of helping us find things to do and attentive to our every need. I loved the family atmosphere here, by that I mean the way the staff and waiters related to the guests and residents that live here. They would ask about your day and what you did and share their experiences here just like we would do with our family. They made us feel so at home that we are looking for a house specifically in this community. The pair of bald eagles hung out on the totem pole outside so that was a real treat to experience. Also they recommended the short hike to Ludlow Falls which was great. We did the $129 package which came with a $50 credit EACH NIGHT for dinner in the dining room. Fabulous cuisine that changed each evening according to what the chef got in that day. And that package is what made this such a tremendous value. Our room was great with a jacuzzi tub that had a view of the marina, the fireplace and the tv. The special touches like to locally made soap, lotion bar and bath salts just added to the experience. And I loved the Keurig coffee maker in the room with a good variety of teas and coffees. We will absolutely recommend this place to all our family and friends and thank you Debbie (the General Manager) for a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaQu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review....we are delighted that you had such a positive experience. We especially appreciate that you "felt the love" as they say and enjoyed our team's approach to hospitality. Port Ludlow is a very special place and we strive to set the tone through our visits and exchanges throughout. We know that our guests appreciate the small touches and continue to get nice responses to our amenities as part of this focus. Today was a "two eagle" day - and the sun is pouring through the clouds ready to break into that "blue hole" any minute. We look forward to seeing you again soon and welcome your return to our community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The service we received prior to arrival in getting questions answered, at check in, from housekeeping to The Fireside Restaurant staff was all friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The food was excellent - salad, scallops, chicken saltimbocca, and amazing turtle pie for dessert. The locally-sourced amenities in the room (available for purchase in the lobby) are a nice touch. Great package value for a quality, comfortable room with credit towards dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed one of our shoulder season packages and could take advantage of the food vouchers as a result. We especially appreciate that you had the opportunity to see how we handle our "farm-to-table" options with the Daily Dinner Menu....and EVERYONE loves the Turtle Pie. Too bad you aren't here this weekend.....if you liked that you would really enjoy our Chocolate Tasting. The locally made soaps, lotions and bath salts are such a hit with our guests - and many do enjoy taking them home to continue the experience. It's kind of like that old slogan - "Calgon, take me away" only this time it is with our hand crafted amenities. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Inn over Memorial weekend. It was very relaxing, and Beautiful.we enjoyed every meal that we ate there. We hiked on several trails in Port Ludlow and had a great time.

I can't wait to go back and golf, and use the Inn as the home base for our exploring of the National Park and the Penninsula. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. It was excellent.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our property. We love that you had good experiences in the Dining Room and with our team. Yes, we often hear from our guests that they find this to be a relaxing place and we are perfectly suited as a "jumping off point" for the many interesting and fun activities on the Olympic Peninsula. We look forward to your return visit and hope you find the golf course as challenging as it is stunningly beautiful. We say that even if your game is suffering, you won't due to the beauty of this Audubon course - the sights and sounds of the birds and the gorgeous views of the water and old growth trees makes it memorable. Thanks again for making the time to share your experiences and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ludlow
13.5 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
338 reviews
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
263 reviews
7.8 mi away
Old Alcohol Plant Hotel
Old Alcohol Plant Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Hadlock
10 reviews
13.5 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Port Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Port Ludlow

Property: The Resort at Port Ludlow
Address: One Heron Rd, Port Ludlow, WA 98365-9300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Resort at Port Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Ludlow Resort is located on the Olympic Peninsula, the gateway to the Olympic National Park and only 90 minutes from Seattle. It consists of a 37 room boutique Inn (each room has a jetted tub, fireplace and comfortable bedding to ensure excellent slumber), an Audubon golf course noted for its views and challenge, in room spa treatments, Farm-to-Table Dining, kayak rentals, a full service 300 slip marina, 26 miles of maintained trails and distinctive farm tours, Victorian communities and shopping nearby. A perfect setting for a retreat - whether personal or for business equally charming in season or off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Resort at Port Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Port Ludlow Hotel Port Ludlow
Hotel Port Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing