We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome room, amenities in room, comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Resort at Port Ludlow
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome room, amenities in room, comfortable bed”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The room we stayed at at this resort was wonderful. The towels were so soft and smelled great. The soaps are from a local company are were wonderful. The shower was great, the beds are so comfortable, the ceiling was so tall and Keurig cups are available to make tea or coffee. Huge room. Fireplace, a truly special place with water available with strawberries. The breakfast was delicious and we had so much food. Everyone was really nice to us, always a huge plus. I stayed here one night, but easily would've stayed here for 2, 3 nights or a week. Would highly recommend and would come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hucklebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks so much for your awesome review. We are delighted that you noticed the small touches and appreciate them so much. Yes, our daily infused water is a big hit with our guests - pretty soon we will have mint and rosemary that we grow in pots on the veranda..THAT is refreshing. We are mindful that a key reason for a getaway is to get good slumber...and we often hear from our guests how the bedding allows for this. You can't beat a fire at the foot of your bed to enhance that rest! We look forward to seeing you again soon and appreciate that you made the time to share your impressions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    119
    45
    9
    10
See reviews for
68
328
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place gets a thumbs-up on all counts--friendly staff; large, comfortable rooms, many with lovely views of the harbor and Olympic mountains; and very reasonable rates. We've stayed twice, and the experience has been consistently good. Port Ludlow itself is pretty much a planned residential community centered on the marina and the challenging (and scenic) public golf course; so there aren't amenities like a shopping district or historic attractions in the immediate vicinity. But this location is close to Port Townsend, a charming Victorian town, and other attractions on the northern coast of the Olympic Peninsula, making the Resort at Port Ludlow an excellent base camp for wider explorations. Plus, the resort's Fireside Restaurant is top-notch, with one of the best wine lists we've seen anywhere, featuring the many fine wines produced in Washington State, Oregon, and California.

As if all this weren't enough, the resort is delightfully pet friendly. Our black lab was welcomed with a big dog biscuit every time we stopped at the front desk. She'll definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Rooms with a marina view are especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamala4812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy when the experience reflects our intentions. Yes, many guests use our resort as a base camp for jumping over to the many remarkable sites/venues on the Olympic Peninsula. Where else can you see, esstentially, three National Parks in one visit? We DO love our pets and have a special affinity for labs (no matter the color!). Yes, we do have hundreds of wines on our list and are awaiting word on (cross your fingers) another year of recognition from Wine Spectator. We hope you'll make the time to join us for one of the winemaker dinners (sold out tomorrow night.) That is a great way to really experience both the food and the wine with the story behind each. We hope to see you again - our repeat guests are our best ambassadors - and we highly value you in that category.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently took a quick getaway to this resort - my first ever. Despite the cold and clouds, we were welcomed at the resort by a huge room with a gas fireplace and jetted tub for $79! We also received a certificate for $50 at the onsite restaurant. Our view of the marina was charming. Be sure to stroll on the private beach and enjoy the quiet reading areas throughout the first floor. Room was very clean with a very comfortable king size bed and ample fluffy pillows. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. A beautiful way to enjoy all the Pacific Northwest has to offer.

Room Tip: Use the map of the resort to pick the rooms. Some face the bay over the residential condos next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are happy that you enjoyed your first visit! Our rooms are often described as "comfy" and your mention of the fireplace and tub make it distinctive....it sure helps one relish the inside when the outside is stormy. We take great pride in providing a clean room with comfortable linens so thank you for acknowledging that. We appreciate that you felt the hospitality from our team and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I went on our first weekend vacation together to the Resort at Port Ludlow. It took me a long time to find this place online while I was searching for the most reasonable place to go. We didn't want to pay too much for a room because we were planning on exploring most of our visit. But I didn't want to stay in some grungy place just to save money. I also wanted a pet friendly place. The Inn provided all that! The rates were reasonable and we got $50 vouchers for the Inn's restaurant for each night we were there. The room was GREAT! A jetted tub a fireplace and a deck. Check in and out were very easy and quick. Everyone was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tylerlilly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to have 'set the bar" for your weekend vacations! We do find our guests thrilled with the room product and that we make you feel comfortable. Our team loves pets and are happy when you can bring yours with you. That sure makes the experience complete! We hope to see you again and that you make this the first of many to our place. Thanks again - we appreciate that you made the time to share your experience with fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I recently took a weekend trip to The Port Ludlow Resort to celebrate our anniversary and we had a great trip. The hotel left us a nice welcome gift in honor of our anniversary and the food in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axelson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are honored that you chose our property to celebrate your special anniversary. We hope this becomes a place that you will choose for many more occasions! We appreciate your compliment about the food as well. Our culinary team strives for outstanding quality, gracious service and an environment that is all about YOU! Again, thanks so much and we look forward to your return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Where to start!!! This place is BEAUTIFUL!! STUNNING!! But mostly, the people, July, Judy, all the girls there are some of the kindest people I have ever met in any hotel, Inn, Motel...and I have stayed in places all over the world. The food..Is..EXTRAORDINARY!!! People come there to eat when they are not staying there. $50 coupons per person per day?? Seriously? For such incredible food? Please have their clams, shrimp and Oysters! The rooms are spacious, cozy with fireplaces. I only wish they could beam themselves here to New York so I could make an excuse to see those wonderful women again! Thank you, thank you for making my mother's Birthday gift the best experience she has ever had!! Much love to you all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixiesage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your very enthusiastic review! We adore the opportunity to create memories and to share our little slice of heaven on planet earth. Yes, our team is kind - and we are thrilled that you felt the love. That same care goes into every dish prepared - starting with the farm visits in the winter months to select the seeds that are grown that produce the bountiful harvest that is JUST now coming in. You really should be here in the high season when the fields are bursting with color and nutrition. For sure, the bounty from the sea is pretty amazing too. Though we cannot duplicate ourselves to NY, we are associated with some fine properties there through STASH and encourage you to check those out too - at least until you can make it back to Port Ludlow. Until then, with deep appreciation from our entire team for making the time to share your impressions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley,Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent Easter weekend at the resort and we loved it! The setting is breath-taking and our king room overlooked the harbour with its pristine water full of sailboats and mountains in the background. Port Ludlow is a resort with boaters and golfers in mind. It is about 35 minutes south of Port Townsend. I am neither a boater or a golfer but I will surely go back for the scenery and relaxation it provided. Our room was great with comfortable bed, a great jacuzzi and it was spotlessly clean. It had a balcony overlooking the harbour. The restaurant was outstanding! The Fireside Room uses local ingredients whenever possible. We ate there twice and raved about the food each time. Even breakfast was special with scalloped potato wedges instead of hash browns! There is a beach trail for walking that has views that are special. My husband is a golfer and he thought the golf course was very good...challenging and scenic! Even though the trip from our home in Langley BC involves a border crossing and a ferry (30 minutes), we will go back soon!

Room Tip: ask for a king room facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you had an opportunity to visit and enjoy the property including the golf course. It is a surprise to so many with the beauty, the views and the challenge. And yes, the views from the Inn are quite amazing too. Thank you for acknowledging our housekeeping team. They strive for perfection and care for the rooms as they would want to be cared for. We hear about the breakfast potatoes so often - and these are rarely left on anyone's plate! We appreciate that you made the effort to get here this visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ludlow
13.5 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
313 reviews
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
18.5 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Silverdale
Oxford Suites Silverdale
#1 of 6 in Silverdale
679 reviews
15.1 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
124 reviews
7.8 mi away
Old Alcohol Plant Hotel
Old Alcohol Plant Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Hadlock
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Port Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Port Ludlow

Property: The Resort at Port Ludlow
Address: One Heron Rd, On the waterfront, off of Oak Bay Road, Port Ludlow, WA 98365-9300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Resort at Port Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Ludlow Resort is located on the Olympic Peninsula, the gateway to the Olympic National Park and only 90 minutes from Seattle. It consists of a 37 room boutique Inn (each room has a jetted tub, fireplace and comfortable bedding to ensure excellent slumber), an Audubon golf course noted for its views and challenge, in room spa treatments, Farm-to-Table Dining, kayak rentals, a full service 300 slip marina, 26 miles of maintained trails and distinctive farm tours, Victorian communities and shopping nearby. A perfect setting for a retreat - whether personal or for business equally charming in season or off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Resort at Port Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Port Ludlow Hotel Port Ludlow
Hotel Port Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing