We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & service & they held prime rib for late arrivals!!”

Howards Rivers Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Pateros
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Howard*s Rivers Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The family that owns the Restaurant started the business selling their beef which is now known as RR. Prime Rib on Friday and Saturday night is the dining specialty. Breakfast is served until 2pm daily, with the Sunday Breakfast special being chicken fried Prime Rib. Lunch can be a quick business meeting or linger over one of the daily specials. River's Restaurant has a meal for everyone.
Selah, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food & service & they held prime rib for late arrivals!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Group of us were staying at the hotel & this was easy to stop at. Prime Rib on Friday was excellent and since 2 of us arrived late (8:00 pm), they were more than happy to keep 4 of these available until we got there!! Everybody enjoyed their dinner & the service was superb. Saturday night we had dinner again and an assortment of foods, as well as breakfast on Sunday and had no complaints. Staff were all great!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AustralianDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant near hotel in a small town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the hotel next door, and was unable to go far due to it snowing. We ate there on a Saturday night following Valentine's Day.
There was only 6 tables full of guest while we were there at around 7:30 PM. We waited a few minutes to be seated even though we saw open tables.
The server seemed spaced out the whole time. Another guy was breaking down tables, and putting chairs in stacks since the minute we arrived. We were told they stopped serving dinner at 9 PM, so it was odd to be doing that early in the evening.
I had a prime rib with a baked potato, and substituted the vegetables for a ceasar salad. My husband did the chicken fettuccine alfredo with a dinner ceasar salad.

My ceasar arrived with the meal, which I wasn't expecting even though my husbands arrived before dinner. The prime rib was okay, had a lot of fat on it compared to actual meat, baked potato is expected to be plain (sour cream & butter), and was never given a recommendation on the twice baked potato that had more toppings (only knew about when it was mentioned by the couple behind us). The baked potato was an average baked potato though. My husband loved his meal, no complaints.

It was pricey for a typical basic restaurant. We wouldn't choose to go back on our own, unless we ended up in the same situation we did this time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

A large group of us had dinner at Rivers on a Friday night. The special was Prime Rib. Many said the Prime Rib was average. The salmon got a very bad review. My seafood fettucini was excellent.

Breakfast on Sunday was good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Casseylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sad Surprise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were with a group of 19 paying separately. They provided one waiter to take the drink and meal orders. All orders were seperate. The salad was poor and returned, the prine rib along with the rest of the meal was luke warm, the mashed potatoes tasted like they came out of a box and to top it off they charged a "group" gratuity of 17%. After my asking for them to add an additional wait person they expalined that one was not "needed", but they would provide one to serve the meal. They did provide an additional wait person for about the last 4 meals. No knocks on the waiter here just the management. That person did a good job considering the circumstances. The were notifed in advance about the arrival of the group. Breakfast the following morning was OK.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drogrs8455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
373 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The atmosphere at this restaurant is excellent. It overlooks the Columbia River and has indoor and outdoor seating. It's connected to a Chevron gas station which is probably the nicest gas station I have seen. Tonight we had the Shrimp Scampi, French Dip, Fish and Chips, Clam Steamers and a NY Steak. Everyone said there food was good but nothing special. This is a good place to stop and eat, but not a place to go out of your way to visit unless you want the atmosphere. This place came recommended so I hope it was just a fluke and that it is better than it was for us tonight. The service was great. I would not go out of my way to return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vitamin_Vito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howards Rivers Restaurant also viewed

Been to Howards Rivers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing