We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to like this place, but ...”
Review of 208 Garfield

208 Garfield
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Parkland
Cuisines: Cafe, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: 208 Garfield welcomes you to our cozy eatery in the heart of Parkland. We hope you will enjoy our hand crafted menu items, friendly employees and warm atmosphere. All of our wine and beers travel less than 300 miles to reach your glass and we offer six different wines on tap.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“I want to like this place, but ...”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I really want to like this place, but the price and service always lets it down. The limited food selection is different than any other restaurant in the area ... and this part of town sorely needs this type of restaurant. The food is always good. The portions is a bit small, especially considering the price one pays. Want a sugar-free drink, you're limited to water or coffee. Depending on how busy the coffee shop is, food service can be very slow. During one visit, I waited over 10 minutes for my soup & salad, and they forgot my gluten-free bread, which is part of the meal. Having said all that, I do still go to the 208, however, not as often as I would like to.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank treerod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yelm, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Coffee, tea or wine”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Cute coffee shop next to PLU student store that serves the coffee lovers but also wine as you sit and work by laptop light

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sasha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great place for an inexpensive and good meal”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were staying with my wife's aunt and uncle and they raved about this place so we went there for dinner. Their menu is....well, different, but good. The prices are reasonable and the selection is excellent...good paninis and soups and salads. The only drawback was the night we were in there, the place was FREEZING!! We mentioned it to the server and she blew us off saying that that was the way it was. Good thing we brought our jackets. Hopefully it isn't that way all the time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaslin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh and creative”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The menu is eclectic and changes as the day goes on. Baked goods are made locally. At lunch there are great panini, soups and salads. My favorites include the BLT salad and the pomorodoro soup. Small plates in the evening include charcuterie, bssf short ribs and roast pork belly. Vegan and vegetarian option are clearly labelled. Wine and micro beer lists are fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailthtbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“small, calm and excellent”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The panini's list is impressive. The Quiche are amazing. Good wine from the region.
Quick. Cheap. Simple. A place to stop for a break on the road.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 208 Garfield also viewed

 

Been to 208 Garfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing