We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
Nearby Hotels
Alexander's Lodge(Ashford)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Packwood Lodge(Packwood)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Lodge(Packwood)(Great Value!)
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$150
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nisqually Lodge(Ashford)(Great Value!)
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crest Trail Lodge(Packwood)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Enumclaw)(Great Value!)
$95
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveler rating
225
356
166
83
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
356
166
83
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomnational parkmount rainierpiano playerparking lothistoric lodgevisitor centergift shopprivate bathrooms are smallsnack barsandwichesthe main lodgegreat roomskyline trailfront doorbring your own
Filter
Updating list...
567 - 572 of 863 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been coming to Paridise Inn at Mt. Rainier for 51 years. I will never come back due to the terrible encounter I had with the Hotel Staff, namely Renee Rux who is the "supervisor" We reservied the Rainier Suite, where we always stay on the third floor in February. almost 9 months before our visit. We came from Cincinnati for 4 days in Paradise. We were promised the room we reserved. We reconfirmed 6 months later, the room was ours. We called the day before we arrived, still ours no problem. We checked in and we were told we had the Rainier Suite and were given the key, but we knew when it was fourth floor we were not given the right room. (One of the main reasons we request it is because we do not have to go up flights of stairs as the hotel has no elevator, or porters). The clerk at the disk did not know the difference. We talked to the supervisor and found her to be the most inhospitable person we have ever encountered in all of our travels in hundreds of countries. She simply did not care and made it obvious that she was not going to be cooperative, or even helpful. The clerk said the people had just checked into the Rainier Room and were only going to be there for two day and assured us we could have it two days later. We checked into the lesser terrible room and then went to dinner and as we went into the dinning room the clerk said he talked with the people and they had no attachment to the room and were willing to move, they would make the transition while we had dinner, we were elated. After Dinner we met with Ms Rux only to find someone who was uncaring, totally without empathy, and unwilling to do anything. Personally I think she had friends or relatives in the room and couldn't care less about long faithful customers. We were told her supervisor was "Unavailable" We have never dealt with a more terrible person than Ms Rux. We flew 3,000 miles and planned 4 days in paradise only to find purgatory instead. It was so terrible that we left the next day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
10  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The view is incredible and really enjoyed no TV or phones in room. The lodge is cute and we enjoyed sitting upstairs playing cards, reading in the evening. 2 excellent day hikes right from the lodge. Service was just ok in the dining room, they were very busy when we were there. And the food was expensive, but was tasty. Very worth the cost! Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sberry20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The historic Paradise Inn is a great place to stay. We reserved a room for two in the annex because those rooms have private baths. The beds were very comfortable, the room clean. It was wonderful to open the drapes in the morning and see the mountain so close! Had dinner and breakfast in the Inn's restaurant. The food was delicious and service excellent. Complimentary tea and cookies are available in the afternoon.

There is no cell service in the mountain and surrounding area. Pay phones are available if needed. It was really nice to enjoy a meal or view a movie at the nearby visitors' center without phones ringing and overhearing someone's phone conversation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There were many lodges, bed and breakfast places and little motels on the way up to the park and they might be nice but being right on the mountain is amazing! I got up early and went for a hike on the skyline trail and it was spactacular! I saw a bear, deer and some White Tailed Ptarmigan's on the trail. When I got home my pictures looked like paintings. I loved it but I was by myself. I think my wife would have been less impressed. The bathroom (some rooms don't have bathrooms) was tiny and the shower so small I couldn't wash my feet and it is very old (built in 1915 so it is definately a location thing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtahMan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

When you stay at an historic National Park Inn, you shoud expect to pay a premium for a not-so-special room. We stayed 3 nights are Paradise (aptly named) in room #306. I knew to ask for a room on the third floor as it is the same as the lobby and so no dragging luggage up and down stairs. There are no elevators. Room 306 was a long narroy room and small but it was perfectly adequate. The beds were comfortable -- we had one double and one twin. The bathroom could use a little more shelf space as it only has space for a toothbrush or two. The price of $167 was about average for a NPL. I could lay in bed and see the glaciers on Mt Rainier. So the size of the room was not so important.... We would ask for that room again as the view was spectacular. The rooms on the other side of the hall had views of the Tatoosh Range- pretty but not Rainier.
The lodge itself is wonderful- just what you would expect in a mountain lodge. The lobby area with two fireplaces, lots of seating and a row of booth-like tables along one wall lends itself to relaxing, reading, cards and games and lots of people watching. Each day at 4 a very talented pianist played the old Truman piano for 3-4 hours. I couldn't wait to get to the lobby each afternoon to relax and join in the fun after exploring the sub alpine meadows and glaciers just out the door and up a very steep hill.
There is no wifi, TV, phone or newspaper at Paradise. Perfect.
There are only 3 possibilities for food. The dining room served surprisingly good food. Dinner was reasonable. Breakfast is only buffet for $14.95 but it was very good. But with tax and tip it ran about $40 and we just don't want to spend that much on breakfast .The pastries and fresh fruit were delicious. They seem to take some pride in what they produce out of the kitchen. Far better than what we have had at any other NPL other than Lake Quinault.
The snack bar off the lobby offers limited choices and is very expensive.
The only other choice for food is the deli in the visitors center in the upper parking lot. It is not open until about 10. The food there was more reasonable and more choices than the snack bar in the inn but a soft drink will set you back over $3. We bought one and shared since you can get refills.
We took a cooler with us -- you could get ice in the snack bar. Ask for 2 cups as they are small. We were very happy we had drinks and some fruit and cheese with us.
If you want to picnic on the trail, you can fill out a form at the registration desk by 8 the night before for a sack lunch to be ready the next morning. According to the desk clerk, you can check that you want two sandwiches. The lunch comes with juice, chips, fruit, and a cookie so you could possibly share one lunch. The price was around $15 for one sack lunch.
Be sure to take the short, easy hike to Myrtle Falls. Gorgeous. We cut across and did the Alta Vista hike which starts out extremely steep but levels out if you can make that first push. The views are worth the effort. We went as far as Glacier View which will be about 4 miles round trip-- 5 if you do Myrtle Falls too. Alta Vista connects with the Skyline trail to Glacier View.
Don't bother with the Alta Vista viewpoint as you will get those views higher up. We came back on the Deadhorse Creek trail which was nice but not as pretty as Skyline. It is very steep coming down the hills and our toes were really feeling it during the last mile or so since they were taking the brunt of it as we came down the hill.
Take time one day to drive Stevens Pass to Sunrise. Divert off to Chinook Pass for the short drive to Tipsoo Lake for spectacular views with the mountain reflecting in the small lake with wildflowers all around Do not miss Sunrise. Take the silver forest/Emmons Glacier trail about 1/2 mile down the hill from the parking lot. There are two viewpoints. Don't miss the second viewpoint as it reveals a gorgeous glacial lake at the foot of the glacier that you don't see at the first viewpoint.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor facing Mt Rainier to avoid stairs and to have a view of Mt Rainier.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnolia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews