We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Great Staff, But . . .” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crest Trail Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crest Trail Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Staff, But . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed for two nights and it is a nice place, good breakfast, very nice staff. However, this place is built cheaply with paper thin walls. I was continuously woken up by the people in the adjacent room talking to each other. I could plainly hear their TV too. If it was not them waking me up, it was the people walking in the room over me. Very, very noisy place and I would not stay here again simply because I like to sleep through the night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    93
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
67
103
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights and both my wife & I were very pleased. Has the look and feel of a relatively new facility: the room was spacious and sparkling clean, nice towels in the bathroom, microwave, fridge & big-screen TV, and plenty of storage space . We didn't partake of the breakfast, but it appeared to be a pretty generous serving of the usual cereals, pastries, waffles, etc. in a pleasant setting. Staff were quite pleasant and helpful.
We especially appreciated the close proximity to the southeast entrance of the National Park and in particular the easy access to the Sunrise area - one of the prettiest in a very pretty area with numerous hiking options. We were happy to find that there's a paved, reasonably good-quality forest road that directly connects Packwood with the Ashford/Paradise area. Made for an easy, pleasant 45 minute drive to the other entrance to the NP.
One note: the Lodge is actually located about 1 mile west of the town, so you can't just walk to dinner - need to make the short drive into the pretty little town of Packwood since there are no restaurants or cafes close to the hotel. That said we thought the Crest Trail Lodge provided clean, comfortable and cost-effective accommodation close to Mt. Rainier NP. We'll be staying there again on future trips, and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Wonderful place to stay in the small town of Packwood. My room was large and very clean, the bed comfortable and the motel, pet friendly. Their breakfast was wonderful and the manager was friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank lcm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

We made a good choice to stay at this place while visiting Mt. Rainier & St. Helens. Our room was in the back side, pretty quiet and clean. Breakfast was ample to eat. Wi-fi worked great. It cool to see elk in town too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

A friend of mine booked this hotel and I was glad she did! Very nice, quiet rooms..I really liked the woodwork on hte dresser and the sink. The staff was very helpful with having no cell phone reception for us..The super nicwe desk clerk allowed the use of her cell phone for my friend to text her mom and the use of her laptop for me so I could get a quick email off to my husband.
The only negative thing was the cell phone reception..but if you had Verizon then it works..
I really enjoyed the breakfast and it was a nice drive to Mt. Rainier.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauraing, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed two nights at this hotel and really enjoyed it : room is spacious, with a micro-wave, a fridge and a TV. Bathroom clean with a lot of towels. Room was on the rear side so really quiet (choose pair numbers).
Service really hepful.
Breakfast quite enough, in a small dining room.
Parking places.
Great location to get to Mt Rainier.
A very good option !!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiaora-sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

We were a little apprehensive about staying at a non-chain motel but our fears were groundless. The motel was very clean, the breakfast was satisfying and the price was right. The owners were helpful, very gracious about answering questions and interruptions. Too bad Packwood doesn't have a better restaurant!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and price
  • Disliked — Local restaurants
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Packwood
5.3 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
20.2 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
19.4 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crest Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Trail Lodge

Property: Crest Trail Lodge
Address: 12729 US Highway 12, Between Mile Marker 129 & 130, Packwood, WA 98361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Packwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crest Trail Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Crest Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Trail Hotel Packwood
Crest Trail Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing