We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for 6 climbers in 2 rooms”
Review of Crest Trail Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crest Trail Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Great stay for 6 climbers in 2 rooms”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We made a ressie a month in advance, and got 2 rollaways to accommodate 6 climbers after a Rainier climb. Fair price, nice rooms, terrific front desk staff. They offer a glass of wine complimentary. Did not take them up on their kind offer of a free breakfast, which looked fair upon inspection. Went to town to Pizza Place for a big breakfast.

Room Tip: Quiet at night there, no issues. No view to speak of, just woods, room doesn't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    94
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
68
104
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent four nights at the Crest Trail. The innkeepers were extremely accommodating, and patiently and freely gave good advice on where to go and the best ways to get there.

Our room (2 queen beds, fridge, microwave, TV, small table with two chairs) was remarkably clean, and we never wanted for anything.

The Crest Trail served as a great "base camp" for visiting Mt. Rainier, Mt. St. Helens, and Seattle. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

The only "cons" were:
1. Extremely thin ceilings and walls. Footsteps above sounded like bombs going off. But, as we run a small box fan for "white noise" while traveling, it didn't bother us that much.

2. The shaky, at times non-existent wifi connection, although many attempts were made by management to fix it. By the 4th day (today, as I write this from our room), the problem seems to be solved.

We weren't lucky enough to see the elk that are famous for making an appearance, but I hear they're quite the frequent guests on the property.

If you need a place to serve as a central location for the major mountain sites in this area, the Crest Trail would be a perfect choice. We slept comfortably and were treated very well.

Room Tip: If foot traffic noise will bother you, ask for a second floor room. (FYI - there are no elevators.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Entire hotel is super clean. Hosts Forrest and Donna are very accommodating. They really go out of their way to make sure your stay is satisfactory.

Complimentary wine each night is a great touch. Who w old have thought? Other hotels could take a lesson from this one in hospitality.

Minor complaints: Walls are not insulated well so some adjacent room noise can be heard. Breakfast is hot and tasty with a good amount of choices. That being said, they should change it up each day. Easy to do by changing to sausage links, bacon, sausage patties each day and add pancakes (there are automatic machines) along with the waffles so there is a little variety for those staying longer than one night.

Major complaint (and the reason I didn't give it 5 stars) is that the wifi absolutely sucks. Hosts tried their best to get it to work by rebooting the system and other tricks, but it still was not reliable.

They made a few excuses, but, as an IT person I know that it could be easily rectified. We were able to hook up to wifi at the other end of town with no problems at all, so this indicates that its an internal issue, since the other business used the same provider.

The hotel owner really needs to rectify this issue.

Otherwise a great stay. This is the only decent place to stay in the area. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawaii_Haole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a great place to stay. Our decision to get a room was last minute, and travelling with a pet, this can sometimes be a problem. The room was clean, nicely decorated, well lit, and spacious. The beds were fairly soft and comfortable. There was plenty of grass and room to exercise the dog. The Managers were so nice and welcoming. We received tickets for a complimentary glass of wine in the evening and a full breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was hot, and had a nice selection. We will be staying there again in the future and highly recommend for those passing through.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmallTownGirl98579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is a step above your average mid-priced hotel. The rooms are very attractive, clean, and quiet. The breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausages and waffles as well as the usual cold cereal and pastries. It was the best hotel breakfast we had on this trip. We were quite impressed by the room furniture. It was both sturdy and attractive and of a quality found in much more expensive hotels. The hotel offered complementary evening glasses of wine -very nice. The hosts, Forrest and Donna are gracious and welcoming. They are a real asset.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Placervilletourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Really enjoyed our 2 night stay. The Managers on site were a pleasure to deal with. They were very friendly and provided good info on the area. Breakfast was good and if we liked wine, they would have provided that in the evening. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meho2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place has the nicest customer service I have ever experienced at a Hotel. It's run by a sweet couple that adds little extra touches that make you feel safe and at home. They also offered great advice on things to do in the area. The rooms are very clean and the inn is very well taken care of. The town of Packwood is pretty small, but there are restaurants that are in close proximity to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasamo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prettygm, General Manager at Crest Trail Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our motel and taking the time to leave a great review! We take pride in making our customers HAPPY. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Packwood
5.3 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
165 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
301 reviews
20.2 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
19.4 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crest Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Trail Lodge

Property: Crest Trail Lodge
Address: 12729 US Highway 12, Between Mile Marker 129 & 130, Packwood, WA 98361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Packwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crest Trail Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Crest Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Trail Hotel Packwood
Crest Trail Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing