We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Night Nice Place”
Review of Hotel Packwood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Packwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Packwood
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the begining of October 2011. It is such a great value. We have gotten nearly the same accommodations at other places for twice the price. It was clean, cozy and comefortable. The owner is really friendly and makes you feel right at home. I definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 9 with a private bath, however, I checked out the shared bathrooms and they looked nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 124 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

I was tempted by the $30/night price, and decided to stay here for an entire week, while I visited Mount Rainier National Park. My room was small, and the mattress was old, but I was comfortable, and my visit cost me HUNDREDS of dollars less than if I had stayed at any other motel in town. Marilyn is wonderful, and by the end of the week I felt like a member of her family. Don't worry about the shared bathrooms, they're clean -- and I never had to wait to use one.

Room Tip: If you're traveling solo, any room will do. If 2 people are staying in one room, it will be wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edisoncarter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed at this charming hotel Sept. 22,23,24, 2011 and had a wonderful experience. We chose room 9 w/a private bath. The rooms were charming, comfortable, and clean. The lobby is like a cozy livingroom, there was always coffee, tea, and hot chocoalte available. A microwave and small frig were available for use. Marilyn was a charming host, we spent some time with her on the wrap around porch just chatting. The cost was soooo reasonable. I would give this hotel 6 stars if I could! A "home away from home". Hubby and I loved our stay and would definetly stay there again. Marian Pearson, Illinois

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 have private bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

DO read about this property. It was established 100 years ago, but has been updated. Rooms are small, and most use a shared bath - two have a private bath. It was quiet and cozy. There were curtains on the windows, but nothing to darken the room. An old-time bed with quilted cover. Basic turniiture & TV in room. Friend & helpful owner. In the center of town so easy to walk to other places.

Room Tip: If you want a private bath, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKdancer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Those needing all the modern comforts should probably stay at the nearby Crest Trail Lodge. But if you want to save a few bucks and experience an old-fashioned hotel with warm hospitality, the Hotel Packwood is a good choice. Room rates are extremely reasonable: we "splurged" on a room with private bath, but it was still only $49. Admittedly, the room was tiny (it fit a double bed, and little more), but it was cozy and comfortable. Given the small rooms, I'm not sure this hotel would work well for a family (you'd probably need more than one room, which would negate the value).

Marilyn, whom I assume is the owner, is an excellent hostess and very hospitable. There's good free coffee in the lobby in the morning (guests can use this room to relax and socialize in the evening), and they gave us a coupon for a $4 hot breakfast at the nearby Cruiser's restaurant (nothing fancy, it's a pizza shop that also serves breakfast, but breakfast was more than edible). Dinner options are somewhat limited in town, but we went to the Peters Inn which has a weekend prime rib dinner for two for $30 and other specials. Not the best food in the world, but solid value for the middle of nowhere.

Packwood makes a convenient stop between the Mt. Saint Helens and Mr. Rainer parks. It's a little far to "commute" from Paradise in Mr. Rainer, about an hour's drive, but if they're all sold out there, it's a plausible alternative (and a lot cheaper).

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the lovely Hotel Packwood (not to be confused with the Inn with the same name) dated from 1912. All rooms are basic and clean. Shared facilities. The prices are very reasonable. Our host was very sympathetic. We enjoyed our stay in an environment from the old days. Lots of antiques in and around the house brings you back to times long gone. A really must do.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mustang83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Clean comfortable rooms with two well-supplied bathrooms down the hall. Rooms on north side of hallway will avoid late-night truck noise from Rt. 12. Convenient to the east side of Mt Rainier NP.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank xcski37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Packwood
4 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
338 reviews
20.2 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
1.4 mi away
Crest Trail Lodge
Crest Trail Lodge
#3 of 5 in Packwood
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Packwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Packwood

Address: 104 Main St E, corner of Smith and Main, Packwood, WA 98361-5001
Location: United States > Washington > Packwood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL PACKWOOD still has the historic charm as when established in1912. Renovated but furnished with antiques. Located in the center of town walking distance to restaurants and stores. Nine bedrooms - 2 have private bathroom while the other share two large bathrooms. Lobby has comfortable couch and chairs, refrigerator, microwave, hot water for tea or hot chocolate and coffee pot. Wrap around veranda enables guests to enjoy sitting and enjoying the frequent visiting of elk, grazing on lawn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing