We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a winner.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cowlitz River Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We used to stay in this facility every year in the past and were always pleased with it. We had not stayed here for at least 6 years until this Summer. We are still very pleased with it. The room was very large and very clean and the bed was good. A nice large flat screen TV. The management was most friendly and helpful. They even got our room ready extra early so we could check into it in the morning. The breakfast was more than adequate. It is nice to see it has not gone downhill at all over the years.

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have a microwave and fridge. If that is required be sure and check with them o...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silversstreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Cowlitz River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Searched online for a motel near the Mt. Rainier National Park. When we called a week prior, they had one remaining room for only $77! That was a fortunate find for us. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and hospitable, making our stay one to remember. Only one negative - if you like your news fair and balanced - sorry. The Fox news channel is blocked by Direct TV.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We've stayed here twice while snowboarding at nearby White Pass. The property is clean and the staff very helpful. The rooms are sized comfortably but could certainly use an update. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were doing a month-long tour of the Pacific Northwest, and wanted to return to Mt. Rainier at the end of our trip after visiting Glacier National Park. This was actually in June 2010, but that was not a choice in the drop down menu.
We stumbled on Packwood without knowing anything about it and were pleasantly surprised. The Cowlitz River Lodge is lovely, in a beautiful setting with the added attraction of nice gardens and a large meadow surrounding the hotel, visited by elk and other wildlife in the evenings.
The room and bathroom were very spacious and comfortable, impeccably clean, and the front office staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The in-room wi-fi was erratic, but wi-fi was available in the 2 story chalet-style Great Room. There was a light breakfast offered every morning which we supplemented with a couple of things from our refrigerator. The fridge and microwave were nice to have.

We enjoyed the proximity to Mt. Rainier and the general surroundings, including the nearby river which made for some beautiful evening stroll. Cowlitz River Lodge is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts who want an attractive, comfortable place to come back to after a day of hiking or skiing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corisline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

It was roomy and very clean but due for an update. The staff was extremely informative and helpful. The best part....the elk bed down right outside in the back. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is right on the highway that goes to Mt. Rainier, on the main road. It is your standard motel, clean and well located. It is the closest motel we could find to the south entrance of Rainier, there really is no other reason to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Friendly and helpful staff, spacious and clean rooms, great location if you want to visit Mt. Rainier NP. Second floor rooms are very quiet but no elevator in hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GabiLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Packwood
3.6 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
215 reviews
16.0 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
1.8 mi away
Crest Trail Lodge
Crest Trail Lodge
#3 of 5 in Packwood
253 reviews
56.3 mi away
Crystal Mountain Hotels
Crystal Mountain Hotels
#2 of 3 in Crystal Mountain
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowlitz River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowlitz River Lodge

Address: 13069 US Highway 12, P.O. Box 488, Packwood, WA 98361-9720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Packwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Price Range: $141 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cowlitz River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 unit Lodge located at the base of Whitepass in the heart of Packwood, Wa. Beautifully updated and renovated rooms, with refrigerator, microwave, Keurig Coffee maker, hair dryer, and iron in each! Included in your stay is a full Hot Breakfast every morning (Belgian Waffles, Sausage, Scrambled Eggs, Biscuits & Gravy, Yogurts, Muffins, Bagels, fruit, juices, etc.) Wi-fi in the rooms and Dirrect TV! The elk hang out in our front lawn almost daily. Enjoy the scenery! Short drive to Mt. Rainier and Mt. St. Helens. Visit us while you hiking, fishing, hunting, skiing, visiting the mountains, and for the local Huge flea market held on Memorial Day and Labor day weekends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cowlitz River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowlitz River Hotel Packwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing