We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beer food. selection”

Mill 109 Restaurant and Pub
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice beer food. selection”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good salads relaxing place overall menu selections good for lunch and dinner
Good place to drop in for a lunch or dinner
Happy hour is on the early side ends 5 pm!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hhunter15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    75
    43
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vashon Washington, USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Poor service and mediocre food in a cute place”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Originally I took my fair but honest critique to the owning property's facebook page...until they took it down the same day! So, really disappointed first in the restaurant experience and then the "skirting under the rug" response.

First, the good stuff. Really cute little place that fills to the max on busy clamming weekends. Great old logging NW theme with fun vintage photos of first growth log ops and bathing beauties among seastacks. Tin canister light fixtures. Dark woods. Old rusted saws for decor. Awesome regional wines-- limited but great choices curated.

The prob was the gaunt, straw hair piled waitress with rhinestone embellished jeans. Let's call her Flo. Cute, pleasant but completely unprofessional when the food did not come out as ordered (and this was just a rare burger request--it came out well done). When she checked for QC, the special order-er stated the miss; she literally laughed, shrugged and fled the scene, only to return to bus empty plates and drop the check. She did not care. We ate because we were ravenous. She had smugly quipped when bussing, "oh you didn't like your food at all." Flo again left before receiving feedback.

We also had a gluten free eater who enjoyed the GF burger option there (but within an hour got stomach sick--a sign of cross contamination with gluten).

So, no more Mill 109 for us. It has changed hands since the place had a diff name under previous mgmt in Seabrook's start. Small town options probably make it tough to get really good crews out there. One solution: eat those great prolific razor clams from the beach in the privacy of your Seabrook rental! Lesson learned.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skrzypeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Has potential, but is overpriced”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The menu items look and sound fabulous, but portions are small, overpriced, and nothing special. Many of the items were out of stock. If there's something you really want call and make sure they have it.
I had the Lokie and it was good, but not great. My husband had the fish and chips. The fries were delicious and the fish was good also. My 7-year old son ordered the kid's salmon and complained that it was too dry and not enough food for him.
Later in the day, due to lack of options in the area, we ordered a to-go pizza. Make sure you call ahead to ensure they have dough left. We got the last one. The magherita pizza was delicious and large enough to feed the 3 of us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank halo_zandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Slow service, cold food, bad fries, overpriced, other than that...”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Sure it’s charming and they are after the rich Seattle crowd but $4 for a cup of clam chowder is a bit much. The fries were breaded in something and so were too crunchy and greasy – not drained well. Even the coffee was cold but we WERE finally able to petition for one refill. The service was very, very slow and the place was not crowded at all. Seabrook is called “faketown” for a reason and there is no effort to make this place distinct. Maybe it’s not supposed to be. After all it’s the only place for several miles.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlandHil324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
274 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!!!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great breakfast menu! Catered to my specific dietary requirements. The staff was very friendly and accomodating!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill 109 Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 

Been to Mill 109 Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing