We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and are coming back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pacific Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seabrook Cottage Rentals
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

A great place for a small or large family reunion. Cottages are beautifuly decorated and clustered around grassy town squares with bocce ball courts and fireplaces.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Seabrook Cottage Rentals
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 143 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

They are building a beautiful indoor pool facility!
Darling! Fun! Safe! We ate at the restaurant, shopped at the stores, and went for beach walks. Kite flying! Relaxing with family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinydancr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My family stayed at a Seabrook Cottage this last week for 3 nights/4 days for our first time (a friend recommended the place). I have to start by saying this was a wonderful place to stay with a family if you want a comfortable beach side vacation. The entire community is very new (just a few years old) and is the perfect place to unwind and relax with your family. It's very, very dog friendly, so you'll see lots of people walking their dogs around town. Most of the cottages allow dogs for the rentals (but no cats!).

The entire town had a Cape Cod feel, with a small marketplace and a wonderful restaurant at the entrance of the neighborhood. They have shuffleboard and horse shoes pits available volleyball, basketball/tennis court, kids playground, as well as several outdoor fireplaces through out the development for roasting marshmallows in the cool evenings.

The beach is within walking distance and is very clean with soft white sand. Most of the cottages have two beach cruiser bikes so my daughter and I went riding all over town and to the beach several times during our stay and had a blast. Riding on the beach during the sunny afternoon was my favorite activity (as we were looking for sand dollars).

My family absolutely loved this place, and we'll certainly come back next year (and check out the new indoor swimming pool when it's finished).

So far as the cottages, they range in different styles and sizes with most of them available for rent. My family of 5 stayed in a 750 sq-ft cottage which was a two bedroom (with two queen beds), two bath rental with a full kitchen and living area (with sleeper sofa) which worked fine for us. The cottage also had high speed WiFi (the router was going at 5 Mbps), along with digital cable TV, DVD player, small washer and dryer, and full sized fridge. The beds were very comfortable, and all of the furniture was new and clean. Of course, each cottage is different (since the furnishings is up to the owner of the cottage), but I would imaging most of the cottages are furnished in a similar manner.

The only negative is that only Verizon cellular service is available in the Seabrook area. So unless you can roam with Verizon, you're cell phones will be out of luck.

I highly recommend Seabrook if you want a very nice beach vacation. We'll certainly return again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cohoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We adore Seabrook Village. For this vist, we rented "Sweet Spot" which is a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom house with a hot tub. We chose this house because it's pet friendly and our family brought 2 dogs. There were 8 of us and this was a great size house for our group. There is nothing like spending a quiet weekend at Seabrook Village. It's a quaint little community with a centrally located park with large bon fires at night for roasting smores with other families. There is a restaurant and market. A paint your own ceramics studio and a cute shop for dog-lovers. Great trails to the beach, bikes available for riding, although they now charge for bike usage... which is a new policy since our last visit. Big bummer. But our house had 2 bikes in the garage we used. We were so happy!
Unfortunately, Sweet Spot was the least favorite of the places we've stayed. Some boards were rotten at the front door entrance, there were 17 messages on our answering machine from debt collectors. Really awkward for renters. When the sewer backed up into our shower, the rental office wasn't friendly, they were in fact, kind of rude. Which is really sad, because they could've handled it so differently. And decor of this home left much to be desired.
But the kids LOVED it, the hot tub was wonderful and the location was fabulous. And none of that distracted us from the relaxation that surrounded us.
Just be careful you rent a good home. I HIGHLY recommend "Our Family Beach House" it's the best out of the 3 that we've rented over the years.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadrach3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Seabrook was a last-minute decision as a surprise birthday present. We were surprised all right, but boy was it a happy one! My wife had been wanting to visit Seabrook and stay in a cottage for quite some time, but we never found the right occasion, right weather, right weekend to go. This time, we went for it. And we brought some other family members too. More on that later…

But first, I have visited Washington and Oregon ocean-front towns and lodging properties from north to south on many occasions over a period of around 40 years, so I’ve got some history to reference, and my wife and I have both traveled extensively throughout the U.S. and the world. We’ve stayed in absolute luxury hotel and resort accommodations, and we’ve camped in near-squalor, plus just about everything in between.

This was the best destination value and overall experience I’ve ever enjoyed anywhere on the NW Pacific coast. Not posh, just a delight. It was a splendid combination of charm, quality, fantastic beach location and access, amenities and “feel” that is simply unavailable (while still offering amazing options for a variety of travel situations) anywhere else around these parts. Period.

Here are the details, and remember that our lodging was in a particular cottage (Aloha Cottage, see separate review), but our positive experience with the Seabrook operation and their guest service orientation (in all but one case, the restaurant – not their direct fault anyway) says you’ll likely be pleased as well with whatever rental choice fits you and your party best.

The Basics: You have your choice of many different cottages, homes and arrangements throughout the compact, walkable or rideable (many properties have free cruiser bikes to borrow, others you can rent for about $15 apiece/day at the center) town. Overnight cottage prices start from about $300 for a two night weekend stay including tax and cleaning fee, maybe less during the week depending on specials. If this sounds high, remember that it includes everything, and could easily cover at least 4 adults in a 2-BR, 2 BA home, with all the associated kitchen, comfort and bedding arrangements included. In summer season, you’ll likely have a two-night minimum, and costs will increase substantially, and frankly, you wouldn’t want to stay for less than that anyway...at least if you drove the 2 ½ hrs. from Tacoma or 3- 3 ½ hours from Seattle or the Eastside to get there.

If you travel with dogs like we did, you will pay around $50/each for your stay as a nonrefundable deposit, but there are a number of houses of all sizes that will accept them, and people are very good about keeping their dogs in check while ensuring fun for all. If you bring them, you and they will have fun running around and on the beach, and if you don’t I doubt you’ll find others’ pets a bother either.

You’ll select your cottage or house rental from among the Seabrook association choices available online in real-time with pictures, comparison tools and other stats right on-screen, and you can also call a toll-free number to reserve with a person if you like. This comparison tool is an outstanding way to narrow down choices with a variety of options, then a call to the reservations folks (as in my case) can be very helpful in the decision between the results given your particular needs, size of party, etc.


First-Visitor Hints:

*You have lots of lodging choices. Seabrook consists of a large number of different-themed and sized homes, all with a somewhat similar “New England Seashore” motif. They are NOT cookie-cutter though, and some are more attractive in design and function (and price) than others. Get the size and type of unit you want (if it’s available) by using the Seabrook website’s online comparison tool. Very useful. Then call them if you have questions. Remember that unless otherwise specified, you’re not limited in people per house. Bring the gang (within reason) and split the costs and cooking and you’ll find it a VERY good deal for a quality vacation experience.

*Pets. Bring the dogs and they’ll have fun too. But you’ll pay a lot extra for the privilege, which isn’t that surprising anywhere these days at any quality hotel or resort that allows them.

*Watch the weather reports and be prepared to act fast if you can. OK, I like storm-watching as much as anyone, but I’d still rather be at the beach enjoying the sun than inside watching it rain when I’m at the ocean and have driven several hours to get there. And it sure is nice when it’s 70, clear and bright– giving you lots more choices on what to do while you’re there.

*Choose the time of year you go carefully and take advantage of specials. Prices vary substantially depending on the dates you plan to visit. The shoulder seasons (like Spring right now) are the best chance to combine lower prices with better weather, but you may not get both during ANY time of year. When we went, they had a 20% off deal for reservations made less than 2 days before arrival. That paid for 2/3 of the $69 basic cleaning fee for us, and was a nice incentive to check the weather first before deciding to go. But we were lucky on all counts, as it turned out. See above.

*Think about bedding arrangements and specific amenities you’d desire when making your choice. Don’t worry too much about location, as almost all properties are convenient to the town center and the phenomenally wide, deep and soft-sanded ocean beach. You’d have to try hard to take more than 5-7 minutes on an easy walk to the town center area from your cottage, plus maybe 2 more to the beach stairs and ocean promenade, but you may be in no hurry. Or you can always ride your cruiser bike (or bring your own, like we did, allowing some longer scenic road or mountain-bike rides to complement tooling around the town on the basic one-speeds provided.)

*Accessibility. This wasn’t a problem for anyone in our party, but once you leave the gently sloping town streets and nice, modern sidewalks and crushed-oyster shell side paths there are some small hills and lots of stairs to and from the actual beach across the “highway.” (I know that for safety and accuracy they call it one, but in actuality, crosswalks on the walkway include self-activated lights and with care it’s about the same as a typical in-city side-street intersection.) The stairs to the beach are in superb condition though, and there are sitting and viewing areas situated at regular intervals along all stairways, so those who need to pause for a rest or to contemplate an ocean or sunset vista will have the chance to do so.

*Food and Drink. There is a nice, basically-supplied grocery store, Lil's Pantry, (with a selection of expensive to good value and fairly-priced quality wines, beers, (including some excellent local NW micro’s) custom desserts/bakery and a service deli (featuring Beecher’s Cheese from Pike Place in Seattle), and espresso stand plus a small variety of produce items too) It was nice to visit in a pinch, as we did for some beautifully prepared butter-cream frosting “flower” decorated cupcakes for the birthday “boy” and “girl” in our party. Recommended.

We cannot, however, recommend the restaurant, Mill 109, because as of Spring 2011 it is apparently under new management and does not execute on almost any level. We (and several others there that day, or excuse me, that hour we waited – and it was a Saturday and not crowded by the way) don’t really know if we would have enjoyed our food, because it was doubtful with the lackadaisical kitchen staff and utterly inattentive service that we would ever receive it if we ordered it – and many eventually gave up and simply left in exasperation. The menu LOOKED interesting, the appetizer we FINALLY received was tasty, and the microbrew selection was ok, including several decent brews on tap. The wine choices went from pretty good to very bad (Charles Shaw) and the bar expertise and liquor selection was just a bottle of Maker’s Mark (or Monarch “amaretto”) above skid-row tavern grade. We really, really hope that new management and kitchen “expertise” prove better than we saw, as Seabrook deserves better, but don’t hold your breath. But at least the setting is nice! Which brings me to…

*Groceries. Bring your own. Include a cooler for transporting the “refrigeratables” if you have one…prices are certainly higher on the coast, even in Ocean Shores which has the closest full-service grocery store and liquor store and it’s 16 miles (20-25 mins. drive) away. Who wants to drive to the store anyway? Once you’re in Seabrook, I’m betting you’ll want to spend most of your time hanging around and kicking back, on the beach or otherwise. But don’t panic if need to pick up a few items at the store there, it’s a nice place with nice people too.

Special Itinerary Suggestion – if for any reason you aren’t prepared beyond packing your Keen sandals, your sweatshirt, jeans/shorts, sunglasses and other clothing, plus a couple of good books (or a Kindle/IPad, etc. but don’t count on cell service) I have a great idea that will save you time, money and enhance your visit to Seabrook – especially if you’re coming from the Puget Sound area. Take a break from fighting the traffic and 1) Stop at Trader Joe’s in Olympia to get dips, chips, wine, beer, juice and whatever else you need. It’s easy to find just after you get off the Black Lake exit, which is soon after you leave I-5 to head to the ocean beaches. 2) If TJ’s doesn’t have everything YOU need, you can visit the Top Foods across the street for a fuller selection of stuff, or visit one of the many other stores in the vicinity, and then it’s an easy trip back onto Hwy 8 (and later various other highways) out to the coast. You’re about 2 hours, possibly 1 ½ hours if you’re lucky, from your destination at that point, and if you fill up with gas and get on the road and on your way you won’t need to stop at Aberdeen – though that would be my second choice for a useful supply point.

*Stay tuned…a new indoor pool is under construction in the largest park in town (as are new houses around the town, but the work wasn’t intrusive or loud while we were there) and come Fall 2011 (exact completion TBD) swimming will offer another attraction in addition to the nice sprinkling of bike and walking trails, pathways, parks and woods around Seabrook. If you stay at Aloha Cottage like we did, it’s about a block away from the new pool, by the way.


PRO's
• Location. Conveniently less than 3 hours from Seattle, less from Tacoma, yet far enough away from Ocean Shores to be a higher quality experience. And down a different (and less crowded and straighter) road too!
• Amenities in rental cottages and town better than most, and improving
• Value of lodging and total “package” great for larger parties sharing flexible living, cooking and bathroom facilities
• Scenery and beach superior to many resorts on coast, probably in top 10% overall
• Town and construction is all less than 8 years old, some properties much newer. No old and tired, moldy rooms here. Everything’s pretty clean, crisp and quality.
• Atmosphere. Fun for families. Safe, friendly, well-maintained.

CONS:
• Relatively expensive compared to some other proximate lodging options for short stays for two, especially with dogs, and especially in season. Even so, because we took advantage of the last-minute discount, we would have paid just over $400 for two nights (and 2 glorious days) for a one or two bedroom cottage with 1-2 baths including cleaning and dog deposits. That’s $200 per day – not much more than a nice hotel room in the city with a lot less beauty and scenery at your doorstep than Seabrook offers. And splitting it with another couple, well that made it a REALLY good deal.
• The restaurant, Mill 109. Terrible. Avoid at all costs unless you hear lots of people talking about how it’s improved, but if you do go, stick with a beer and allow lots of time (I know you’re on vacation, and time shouldn’t matter, but sheesh!) and hope you get your appetizers. At all. Keep your eyes on the lookout for the professional “chef” staff – they’re the ones gabbing behind the bar avoiding doing any work, while they eat ice cream, sample the beers and parade around in their “Salty’s Executive Chef” smocks and other relics of jobs they once had before they burned out in REAL restaurants (or got fired) and moved to the coast – where they thought nobody cared. They don’t, but you should and can do better on your own barbecue!

Room Tip: Time your visit well to get best value
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank 1StepBeyond7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Our book group rented a home (cottage) here for the weekend. It was the last weekend which was considered mid-week. These are actually owned homes/cottages. They are rented to the public. The homes are available to accomadate from two people up to twenty people. Our home was a 3 bedroom, 21/2 baths, hot tub. You can rent whatever you would like. It is really a town that looks like a set from a movie. The beach is across the street. The town has a little grocery store and a small cafe, and also a little ceramic studio. There are also bikes available for families to use. They are working on a pool now which is to be finished by August. It is a walking town, and they are continuing to develop this area. A restful type of family vacation, or fun weekend spot with friends!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teacher34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

A couple of glasses of wine into the auction at my daughter's preschool and three of us found ourselves the giddy winners of a weekend at the Moon Dance Cottage at Seabrook. "Cottage" doesn't really begin to describe this house (it's nearly bigger than my home) but there are smaller properties available. The ad said it slept 12 and it did! And comfortably too. Furnishings are new and stylish (no flea market and garage sale finds here!) and the kitchen was well-stocked. Three families easily shared the accommodations and the kids really liked the 3rd floor playroom with a Wii (which we don't have at home!) and a DVD player.

The beach was wonderful. Lots of real sand (not like the rocky beaches on the Sound where I am) and gentle surf for the kids to play in. Seabrook also has a restaurant (we didn't try it) and a market where we picked up a few treats and forgotten items. Quiet streets were great for bike riding and the parks were nice for the kids to run around. The cottages don't have much of a backyard but who needs it with the beach and parks?

The staff were responsive to the few minor issues we had. We visited in September. Lots of rain but some sunshine too. The cottage is large enough to spend a rainy afternoon without getting cabin fever. We would definitely return, perhaps in the summer to enjoy even more beach time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkleflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Beach
3.3 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
13.5 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
444 reviews
3.1 mi away
Moonstone Beach Motel
Moonstone Beach Motel
#1 of 3 in Moclips
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
10.7 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#7 of 14 in Ocean Shores
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabrook Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabrook Cottage Rentals

Address: 4275 State Route 109, Pacific Beach, WA 98571
Location: United States > Washington > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pacific Beach
Price Range: $99 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seabrook offers wonderful vacation rentals in a new coastal neighborhood just south of Pacific Beach on the Washington coast. If you're looking at lodging accommodations in Ocean Shores, Westport, or Long Beach, consider Seabrook. We offer quality vacation rental homes ideal for getaways, family vacations, reunions, business conferences, and retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seabrook Cottage Rentals Hotel Pacific Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing