We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Rest”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pacific Beach
Oregon
1 review
“Peaceful Rest”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I took a solo, weekend, retreat at the Sandpiper. The hosts were gracious and friendly. The Location is stellar - from the beach you cannot see any other property. It feels isolated only 2 miles from the new Seabrook! There is gas and food closeby in Pacific city. The guests seemed middle class and friendly - lots of kids and dogs. It was peaceful, quiet and restfull. I read and wrote and relaxed.

Room Tip: all rooms face the Ocean. Uppers have better views, ground floor only steps from your car and the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    16
    20
    27
See reviews for
52
37
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Two things going for it; cheap and beach access. If you want anything else, this place is not for you.
We booked a room and they called back the next day to say it was already taken. The room they put us in was above water purification and heard loud banging the whole night. Complaining went no where, the owner said she was quoted $400 to fix the problem but was trying to get the utility company to fix it. Horrible service. Place was clean.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank terryguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We found this place after searching for a place to stay while traveling through and we were VERY disappointed!! It is apparent this place used to be nice at one time but has been run into the ground. The room had a very pretty view but was disgusting. The water smelled rusty and we weren't even sure the sheets were clean. The rooms are in desperate need of updating as well however, I would much rather have an outdated room that was clean. I will never recommend this place to anyone. Someone needs to buy this place and take care of it!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Darlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A-Town, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Paper thin walls and very squeaky mattresses allow you to hear EVERY bump and grind from the neighbors around you. Enjoy - or not!

Our murphy bed was right next to the drain pipes from the upstairs bathroom so we knew exactly what was going on and when from the neighbors above us. Easy to hear all the details before the flush.

Broken arm on the rocking chair on the deck.

S-L-O-W desk clerk. The office reserved the wrong room for us, so our group of 15 (that was supposed to met in the large room with a large kitchen) had to make due with a smaller place. Pretty crowded, but we survived.

The accommodations are mediocre, but our memories from the past are what bring us back here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SBCHRAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I give them that the room was clean.

But noise! The toilet ran (the repairman stopped by just after I checked in, but then the toilet wasn't working at all; when he left it ran continually). They let dogs stay there, and, of course, I ended up next to a couple with two barking dogs. Fortunately, they eventually simmered down. Then, when I was trying to sleep, machinery in the room below mine whirred on an off, and then banged loudly every 15 mins. That went on for hours. At 5:15 AM I was awoken by loud water-running-through-the-pipes noise. That went on for 10 minutes or so.

Have you ever been in a place where everything is done tackily? Well, if you haven't, you can check out what I mean by visiting this place. Paint that doesn't cover. Drapes that are droopy, missing hooks. You get the picture.

This is a good place if you don't want to camp and don't want to pay exhorbitant amounts.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank huck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

A friend and I were there mid week in late May. We had an end unit on the 3rd floor. It was very clean and had wonderful views of the beach/ocean. I loved the rocking chairs on the deck. While the furnishings were a bit older everything was nice. I imagine it is much busier on the weekends but mid week there were only a few guests. Kitchens were well stocked and we had a great time!

Room Tip: End units are best but all are fine. People with small children or dogs may want a ground unit room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancylouisewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

It had been a few years since I had time to get out to the coast, but I was very glad to find a last minute vacancy at my favorite lodging the Sandpiper Beach Resort in Pacific Beach. And I was even gladder to see that the Sandpiper was as wonderful as ever. The Sandpiper is located right on a quiet section of beach, unlike Ocean Shores with its crowds and vehicles everywhere nor like that new monstrosity Seabrook which requires walking across the highway and down a long staircase to reach the beach.

I booked Unit 17 which is a ground floor studio unit in Beach House II with parking a few steps away. I made this particular choice as I’m still recovering from knee replacement surgery and this unit meant I never had any steps or slopes to navigate unless I wanted to walk back up to the Office/Gift Shop area. My unit consisted of a fully equipped kitchen, a bathroom with large walk-in shower, a queen bed as well as a twin trundle bed, small dining table, chairs, and a nice fireplace. On my private patio were two chairs and a small table; the beach itself was just steps away. My only negative issues where that the refrigerator made rather unique noises and was only about 10 feet from the bed and there were no teaspoons, only tablespoons in the kitchen. And, unfortunately, on the first day I had a smoker on the patio next door disregarding the no-smoking sign regularly. Otherwise the place was perfect beachside casual and my unit was spotlessly clean.

Sandpiper is very popular with families; there is a playground in front of Beach House II and lots of room to safely run around. Units range from studios to three bedrooms. Another unique feature is that they welcome dogs in all units. I spent hours sitting around watching a variety of dogs happily chasing balls and sticks on the beach with their owners.

And a new great addition since my last stay was fantastic high-speed Wi-Fi in all the units. When the fog rolled in my last evening, I kicked back, lit a fire and streamed a television show on my tablet—a perfect ending to my stay.

I was sad to read some of the negative comments on this website about Sandpiper, but perhaps I am willing to trade off a chipped piece of furniture or an older appliance for the wonderful setting and the affordable rates. This is the Washington Coast not New York City or some exotic island resort. If you want to pay twice as much, leave the dog at home, and have your children crossing the highway (or dodging trucks on the beach) to play, be my guest at one of those other places. At the Sandpiper we happily leave the 5-star ratings for Mother Nature.

Room Tip: Their website has quite clear descriptions of each unit with photos and a diagram showing the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank comcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Beach
3.7 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
12.2 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
13.1 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
12.7 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#6 of 14 in Ocean Shores
293 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#3 of 3 in Moclips
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Beach Resort

Property: Sandpiper Beach Resort
Address: 4159 State Route 109, Pacific Beach, WA 98571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pacific Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper Beach Resort is located on Washington's wild Pacific Coast, two miles south of the town of Pacific Beach in Grays Harbor County, roughly 3 hours' drive west of Seattle. The resort, founded in 1973, is nestled on a forested hillside directly on Mocrocks beach, a miles-long strip of flat, sandy beach known for its crashing surf, adjacent clay bluffs, and solitude. Offshore, fishing boats and whales ply the pristine waters of the Copalis National Wildlife Refuge.At the Sandpiper, our goal is to provide you with a clean, comfortable, functional and affordable place to get away from it all and enjoy the company of those you're traveling with. Accommodations range from small cabins or studios with room for 2-4 guests, up to large cabins or multi-bedroom units that are perfect for groups as large as 12. Each unit includes a fully-equipped kitchen, fireplace, sweeping ocean view, and a private deck or patio with rocking or lounge chairs for taking in the sunset with a glass of wine in hand.Sandpiper guests pass their time in a range of activities. Long walks on the beach are a must in any season. A winter day might be spent inside by the fire, watching a storm roll in off the Pacific. The wind is often perfect for kite-flying, while a warm day in July or August finds many guests swimming or body-surfing in the cool ocean waves.The Sandpiper infuses kids and dogs with a special energy; both are welcome and encouraged here. Generations of Northwest families have made the Sandpiper a home away from home.Our position by the world's most productive razor clam beds, together with our handy Clam Kitchen, draws visitors during licensed digs throughout the fall, winter and spring. Fishermen don hip-waders and stride into the waves after tasty surfperch. Indoors, you might cook up a delicious meal, read a good book, or tackle a board game or puzzle. At night, a cozy bed and the soft roar of the ocean will allow you to drift off and perhaps even sleep in late.If cabin fever strikes, head over to our Gift Shop to sip an espresso, use the free Wi-Fi, and shop for a memento of your stay or a gift for a loved one. Hop in the car to explore all that coastal Washington has to offer, from horseback riding on the beach at Ocean Shores, to hiking the temperate rain forest or alpine peaks of nearby Olympic National Park. The closest town, Pacific Beach, housed a secret Cold War-era submarine-listening post, which is now a recreation facility open to the public.A bit further north in Moclips, the Museum of the North Beach chronicles the unexpectedly rich history of the area. The beaches of the Quinault Indian Nation hide remote treasures like the much-photographed Tunnel Island; visit tribal headquarters in Taholah for a day pass, or engage a tribal guide for world-class salmon fishing on the Quinault River.The Sandpiper is a true retreat, with no TVs or phones to disturb your stay, and only limited cell phone service in the area. Join us at the edge of the earth to get away from it all! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beach Hotel Pacific Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing