We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location for a stay in York”

Grimston House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grimston House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Deighton B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A great location for a stay in York”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A very warm welcome from Pat and an enjoyable and comfortable stay in a lovely house .Room was warm and clean, as was the shower . Breakfast was excellent and the close proximity of the pub was a bonus in the evening. With easy access via the park and ride to York as well it all made this a great break. We will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 which was large and self contained and at the rear of the house with views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for one night, in order to spend a weekend as tourists in York. Room 4 was very big, and although we were told the ensuite was small it was more than big enough! The bed was so comfy, it was my best night's sleep in ages. Breakfast was delicious, and very generous. The view of the gardens from our window was great, and although it is close to the main road, the traffic is barely audible. Very well situated too, we don't drive so it was nice to be able to get to a bus stop so easily. Will definitely be back if ever in York again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshLDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It is a lovely house with well maintained gardens. We had a nice spacious ground floor room with a very comfortable bed. All clean and tidy and a good breakfast in a lovely old fashioned sunny dinning room.

Room Tip: Sunrise at the front of the house and there is a road so perhaps better to get a room at the back ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After booking a hotel closer to York as a romantic weekend (which was more expensive & was very dirty & cheekily rated as 4 star!!) we felt a bit worried having to find another place at short notice. after speaking with Pat we were overjoyed with Grimston House, lovely building on a lovely plot nicely presented, clean. We had the four poster room for one night (we would've loved it for the 2 nights) it was just what we wanted with a gigantic en suite. The standard double was adequate a tiny shower room in a cupboard and not worth £5 less than the four poster.

The breakfast was lovely & pat went out of her way to tailor the breakfast to our liking.

If you're visiting york book the four poster room at Grimston house you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverlyandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here July 2013 for one night. We had been unable to access accommodation in York.

What we liked: Room was an excellent size and the grounds were lovely. Breakfast was freshly cooked. Room was clean.

What we didn't like: Some have already commented on the lack of conviviality as far back as 2010; nothing has changed. We were told that some guests wanted an 07.00hrs breakfast so the latest we could have breakfast was 08.00hrs (even though the literature in the room said 08.00hrs 09.00hrs); this was due to the fact that the owner had 7 rooms to clean the following day!!!
Bathroom was poor. Shower had been in situ that long that the plastic had discoloured. Complimentary bathroom essentials were basic. Tea and coffee making adequate.
This appears to be a business persons haunt, not somewhere for a well earned break.

Overall view: This could be a fantastic bed and breakfast, but needs so much attention that it is difficult to see this moving forward (note the absence of any reply to the average,poor and terrible reviews from the owners). Neither owner seems that motivated. Sadly, this is decidedly ordinary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickeymodem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A brilliant experience, the service was excellent! Pat was really welcoming and made our stay as enjoyable as possible. The price just right for a short weekend stay with breakfast included- the facilities avaliable maed it all the more worth it. I would defintely recommend although there is around a 15 minute distance to the town centre. Overall a very good experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeinab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent service, excellent facilities and very good quality! 15 minutes away from the train station in a cab. We stayed in as 4 adults in two adjoining rooms. The rooms were well kept and tidy with all facilities available. One of the rooms featured a television, a wash room and a wonderful view of the front garden. The beds were extremely comfortable. Lovely housekeeper who offered to make us breakfast without pre-ordering it! A very pleasant stay! It was £120 for four adults for one night including breakfast. Amazing for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nafeesa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grimston House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grimston House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Grimston House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Deighton, York YO19 6HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Deighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grimston House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grimston House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing