We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decidedly Ordinary”

Grimston House Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grimston House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Deighton B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Decidedly Ordinary”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here July 2013 for one night. We had been unable to access accommodation in York.

What we liked: Room was an excellent size and the grounds were lovely. Breakfast was freshly cooked. Room was clean.

What we didn't like: Some have already commented on the lack of conviviality as far back as 2010; nothing has changed. We were told that some guests wanted an 07.00hrs breakfast so the latest we could have breakfast was 08.00hrs (even though the literature in the room said 08.00hrs 09.00hrs); this was due to the fact that the owner had 7 rooms to clean the following day!!!
Bathroom was poor. Shower had been in situ that long that the plastic had discoloured. Complimentary bathroom essentials were basic. Tea and coffee making adequate.
This appears to be a business persons haunt, not somewhere for a well earned break.

Overall view: This could be a fantastic bed and breakfast, but needs so much attention that it is difficult to see this moving forward (note the absence of any reply to the average,poor and terrible reviews from the owners). Neither owner seems that motivated. Sadly, this is decidedly ordinary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickeymodem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A brilliant experience, the service was excellent! Pat was really welcoming and made our stay as enjoyable as possible. The price just right for a short weekend stay with breakfast included- the facilities avaliable maed it all the more worth it. I would defintely recommend although there is around a 15 minute distance to the town centre. Overall a very good experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeinab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent service, excellent facilities and very good quality! 15 minutes away from the train station in a cab. We stayed in as 4 adults in two adjoining rooms. The rooms were well kept and tidy with all facilities available. One of the rooms featured a television, a wash room and a wonderful view of the front garden. The beds were extremely comfortable. Lovely housekeeper who offered to make us breakfast without pre-ordering it! A very pleasant stay! It was £120 for four adults for one night including breakfast. Amazing for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nafeesa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Pat was very welcoming, pleasant room overlooking the pond and beautiful garden. Lovely well balanced breakfast, locally resourced. Convenient position, local pub newly refurbished served good food. Highly recommended

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Comfortable, warm and welcoming. We had a family room to accommodate two adults and our little boy, which turned out to be two rooms in one and he had a proper bed. Friendly, helpful owner, giving us advice on where to eat and visit. We ate at The Black Bull Inn, which was brilliant and again child-friendly. Great breakfast at Grimston house and ideal for York, The Outlet Shoppng centre and reasonably priced.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Very nice house with very nice service room clean and very pleasant
Enjoyed breakfast and in good striking distance to the races about six mile but on the correct side for the traffic on race days
Two minuite walk to local pub for dinner
Will go back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is always difficult finding good quality accomodation that accepts two dogs. Well, we were delighted that the owner Pat made us and our dogs feel so welcome. A downstairs room was convenient if there was any requirement to take the dogs in and out of the house. A purpose made dog garden was just fantastic. The house was conveniently situated and warm and welcoming. The breakfast was just lovely and finally, we are booking again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank stevesmith10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deighton
0.0 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.0 mi away
York House
York House
#61 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bothy Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deighton Lodge
Deighton Lodge
#1 of 2 in Deighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Grimston House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grimston House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Grimston House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Deighton, York YO19 6HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Deighton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Deighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grimston House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grimston House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing