We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could visit every year!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Veranda Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oroville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Veranda Beach Resort
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wish I could visit every year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My fiancé and I were lucky enough to stay at this amazing property a couple of years back and all I can say how magnificent, family friendly and truly magical it is!

We live in Australia and just wish we could make this a part of our expanding families annual holidays, we hope to return soon though!!!!

Room Tip: Lake front if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelsyDSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patty L, General Manager at Veranda Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy to hear you had a great time. We certainly can accomodate a family reunion or a group stay and we would love to have you back! Making and sharing family memories is what Veranda Beach is all about. I would be happy to help you coordinate a group stay. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me.

Warm Regards,

Patty Lawrence
General Manager
Veranda Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at Veranda Beach Resort for a week while on work travel. I was in a two bed, one bath house. The houses are so amazingly laid out and tastefully decorated. Someone was concerned about staying out here, and I told them "it's better than home." What I mean by that is that the lawn, the gardens, the house, everything is probably better than your house. The lake is beautiful, the pool is gorgeous, and the property magnificent. You even get a laundry room! I slept like a rock, so quiet and nice.

On the flip side, I am used to having someone come clean up and make my bed in a normal hotel, but if you are in Oroville, this is where you need to stay. Everything was really great.

The Diner was closed all week, open only on Friday-Sunday since we were here after labor day.

Room Tip: Obviously try to get a lakeview. Units that I liked better than mine were 135 Malarkey, 106 Fireroc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kukrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patty L, General Manager at Veranda Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello Erik R,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very happy to hear that you felt at home while away for work. I do hope that we will see you again and maybe next time it will be with your entire family for a vacation.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Veranda Beach.

Warm Regards,

Patty Lawrence
General Manager
Veranda Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just returned from our 4th year at Veranda. We had never had a problem before the staff was always very helpful and accommodating until this year. We have an older dog that always comes with us, so we specifically ask and pay for a pet friendly cottage. We arrived late and were frantically unpacking and putting away groceries as the dog wondered around the cottage. We noticed the dog was eating something, we pulled a very chewed up black plastic piece out of her mouth. We assumed it was something from our groceries. A few hours later my daughter was playing with the dog and found more of these black squares, they were ant bait traps. There was a poison control hotline on the back which we called; to say the least it was a very long restless night checking on our pet. We spoke to the desk staff the next morning, why would they not inform us at check in, why would they put these is cottages with pets and small children? Best we got was, sorry for the inconvenience. We left our information so that the General Manager could contact us, the desk staff knew how unhappy we were with the situation. We checked back later, no word from the manager. Nine days later still no word from the manger. At check out time the same desk staff was there, I expressed are disappointment and anger at not hearing from the manager. Patti the manager happened to be standing right there. She claimed she had never received the complaint, which I found hard to believe, especially by the looks on the faces of the two other staff members. She then changed her story and said she had been too busy. The lack of concern, interest, excuses and manners this manager showed in dealing with the situation was appalling. It’s a beautiful place, but we won’t be back. Please check your cottages, our dog only ended up with a bad case of diarrhea; we would hate to hear of something more tragic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patty L, General Manager at Veranda Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please understand this during the hot summer months, critters such as ants sometime find their way into our cottages and cause discomfort to our guests, so in order to minimize this, we place ant traps in the most common places just like one would do in ones own home. I am really grateful that you have brought this to our attention and the scenario you have described is not something we had thought about…maybe we should have but didn’t and only had the overall enjoyment of our cottage guests in mind. Now that this has come to light and trust me we take it seriously, we have implemented new procedures for cottage guests such as yourselves in order to alleviate this problem in the future.

I truly apologize for not attending to your problem in an orderly and timely manner, its August, the resort is full and things are hectic, nevertheless, I should have been more attentive and can only apologize and learn from this. I am hoping you could contact me directly at the resort as I would like to make this up to you as well as explain in detail the procedures now in place thanks to your actions.

Patty Lawrence
General Manager
Veranda Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just came back from our second trip to Veranda Beach. We love it to death. There simply is no other place like this place. The property is magical: quaint and well-appointed single family cottages with huge screened-in verandas set among sprawling expanses of lush lawns, where packs of wild (or at least feral) children run amok playing tag, throwing water balloons, or tossing a ball. The cottages don't have garages: you unload your luggage and toys, and then must park just off the property. This is the key to the aesthetic of the whole place: with no cars to get in the way and create hazards, kids and adults can freely roam the charming laneways on bikes, scooters, skateboards etc. Seriously, you will think you are back in the 70's; where else can you see a gaggle of children riding bikes with no helmets or anxious parents hovering behind them? The pool area is wonderful, with poolside drink service (happy hour after afternoon with very tasty maragitas!), the Globe Diner serves up tasty food at reasonable prices and with very friendly service, the general store sells staples and enough candy to make your kids REALLY annoying about begging you for loose change, there are outdoor movies a couple of times a week, and various other activities that keep the place fun. If you are a fitness buff there is a great trail that goes straight up from the property to the top of the hill to the East, about a 30-45 minute climb, and if you are into road riding (as I am), the local opportunities for VERY hilly and astoundingly scenic riding are about the best I have ever experienced. The beach is superb, the lake is warm, and the marina has a good selection of power boats, jet-skis and catamarans for rent if you are into that kind of thing. The staff at Veranda Beach are universally friendly and eager to please - this is not the Four Seasons and there were a small number of issues with our cottage during our stay but they were all of a minor nature and easily and quickly remedied with a call to the front desk. The real star of the show, however, is the Okanagon Valley - if you have never been to the Osoyoos / Oroville area, it's difficult to explain how beautiful it is. Veranda Beach is located on a prime, very quiet penninsula of land on the East side of the lake just next to the Canadian border - there's no border crossing on that side, so there's no through traffic and the resort really is a paradise unto itself and very safe for families. The contrast of the sun on the water and the arid, eroded hills covered with silver sage and cacti is just astonishing. It's a non-stop buffet for the eyes (and I mean like the buffet at the Wynn Las Vegas, not Uncle Willie's). The bottom line is that although Veranda Beach ain't cheap, it's worth every penny and everyone I know who has gone there has already made a return trip or is planning one. You'll love it, you'll wish you could buy one of the cottages (and maybe you will!), and your kids will one day remember it as their Happy Place! My three little ones (4,6 and 7) already do.

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage as close to the lake as possible, although they are all great. The cottages on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vergroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Simply amazing.... Beautiful lake, swimming pool, sandy beaches, general store, restaurant (so if you want lunch or drinks by the pool no problem! .....And mostly the fun events constantly being organized by the spectacular staff. Events include Wednesday and Saturday night drive in movies on the wide open parks We take our blankets pillows and popcorn and enjoy the show! The list goes on and on with holiday specific events like Easter egg hunts, fireworks, lobster events, sock hops, sports day, wine weekends, girls getaways with shopping, wine etc etc etc. once you have been there you will go back. Memories to last a lifetime!

Room Tip: Lakefront is amazing if your budget allows or if you are sharing with another family. Check out 119...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have stayed at least once a year since the cottages were ready. Have magical memories of each visit, especially the time spent with family/friends on the huge screened porches at night. Love the white picket fences, window boxes & green lawns to the beach. Everything is so pristine, yet family friendly. A little slice of heaven on the quiet U.S. side of Lake Osoyoos. Imagine "Pleasantville" and you have Veranda Beach!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerEMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Peterborough in an excellent location (103 Bootlegger Lane). Pleasantville is what came to mind as we approached the charming resort.
The cottsge is well appointed with a full kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a huge screened veranda where we spent most of our time. It was bonus not having to shoo away bugs because of the screen.
The beach area has a lovely grass area as well as a shallow area of
sand. The pool area was comparable to one found in a 5 star resort with the except for the lack of towel service.
Overall, it's a perfect family getaway tucked away in Oroville.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raincoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oroville
3.5 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
2.3 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#4 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Bains' RV Park
#3 of 4 in Oroville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Beach Resort

Property: Veranda Beach Resort
Address: 299 Eastlake Rd, Oroville, WA 98844-9544
Location: United States > Washington > Oroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Oroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda Beach is located on over a mile of private, sandy beach on the sun-drenched shores of beautiful Lake Osoyoos, a few minutes across the border in Oroville WA's Okanogan Valley; Famous for its world class wineries and golf. Clusters of cottages masterfully set in a village reminiscent of the "50s". Guest check-in/out, marina, moorage, boat & watersport rentals, electric chaise loungers, fun boats with waterguns, beach volleyball, firepit, miles of walking trails and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Veranda Beach Hotel Oroville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing