We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply an amazing, well planned vacation destination!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Veranda Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oroville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Veranda Beach Resort
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply an amazing, well planned vacation destination!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have stayed at least once a year since the cottages were ready. Have magical memories of each visit, especially the time spent with family/friends on the huge screened porches at night. Love the white picket fences, window boxes & green lawns to the beach. Everything is so pristine, yet family friendly. A little slice of heaven on the quiet U.S. side of Lake Osoyoos. Imagine "Pleasantville" and you have Veranda Beach!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerEMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Peterborough in an excellent location (103 Bootlegger Lane). Pleasantville is what came to mind as we approached the charming resort.
The cottsge is well appointed with a full kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a huge screened veranda where we spent most of our time. It was bonus not having to shoo away bugs because of the screen.
The beach area has a lovely grass area as well as a shallow area of
sand. The pool area was comparable to one found in a 5 star resort with the except for the lack of towel service.
Overall, it's a perfect family getaway tucked away in Oroville.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raincoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent a week there last summer and rented two cabins with another family. Check in was a breeze, even though one of us arrived fairly late at night. Beautiful and quaint cottages, and I generally found he staff to be very friendly and helpful. Couple of small points: dogs running freely were a bit of an issue while we were there, and there was occasionally dog crap lying around. Even when notified, it took the grounds staff a bit of time to deal with it. I feel like that could be a bit better policed as there are a lot of small kids around. Also, there was some disparity in terms of how well one cabin was outfitted/decorated compared to the other. I understand these are individually owned, and it's a very minor point, but it would be nice if there was a minimum standard in terms of what's expected.
Other than that, a great place and we are already making plans to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryCanuck69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We knew from the minute we arrived that we were going to enjoy ourselves. The cottages are just like the ones you picture in your dreams but better. We were there mid-september and it was so quiet and peaceful. The pool and beach were fantastic and we spent most of our time there. My husband was happy with the gym facilities and used it daily. When the sun went down we were happy to relax in the cottage reading on the veranda or visiting in the cozy livingroom. They also had movies to borrow which was nice in the evenings when our child was in bed. We were happy to have the option to cook for ourselves and there was more than enough supplies available to make that easy for us. We were able to cook healthy meals instead of having to eat restaurant food the whole time. It was nice to have laundry in house so we could leave with suitcases full of clean clothes. The only complaint we had was that the beds were not very comfortable but that would not deter us from returning and just trying out another rental cottage. Make sure you check in by 6pm because the front desk closes then. This is a rental not a hotel. Overall, one of the best holidays we have had. Try it!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you know exactly what beds are available in the specific cottage you are looking at becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeaneneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Veranda Beach is like a beautiful woman who can treat her suitors poorly, knowing they'll keep coming back for more.

The property is unparalleled. Gorgeous, charming, and well-planned cottages, lush gardens, an endless, groomed beach, playground, and salt-water pool with service.

However. . .upon arrival our charming, sunny cottage had HAIRS in the bath tub. The BBQ was not fully stocked with propane. There was inadequate toilet paper. Truthfully, the floors were filthy, leaving our barefeet dirty from our first day. (Consider that you have to pay a restocking fee, and yet the cottage was not fully stocked!) The upstairs TV was coated in dust. (Also, even though it is the desert, there were not duvets on the beds, just cheap "hospital" style blankets.)

Other guests told us they were given five-star treatment, a tour in the cute golf cart to their cottage, charming staff to unload their luggage. . .this did not happen for us.

Also, I had asked customer service if laundry detergent was provided before we arrived. They assured me it was, but when I asked for another packet they were perplexed and baffled. Providing something as basic as laundry detergent, when there's in-suite laundry, was overwhelming for them.

Also, their check-out time is much earlier than any other establishment we have ever stayed at: 10:00am. Also, they expect you to do some housekeeping at the end of your stay. Knowing they have a cleaning crew, we thought this was pretty bold. (And consider the early check-out, you're racing around cleaning up the place!)

***

Really, why not go the distance with excellent customer service? Why not aim for consistency in all policies? Why not have your staff reach for the highest standard?

Veranda Beach, we know you can do it! Go for the gold. Have your personality match your looks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malarkey-Traveller, General Manager at Veranda Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Amber C,

Thank you for your constructive review of Veranda Beach. I truly appreciate your taking the time to bring these issues to our attention both on tripadvisor and via e-mail as it enables us to learn from our mistakes. I am very grateful that we have spoken since and that your family will be giving us a second chance to prove your first experience was an anomaly and provide you with the service and vacation experience that you not only deserve but also for what we have become known.

Best regards

Claus Larsen
General Manager
Veranda Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We rented a beachfront cabin here last summer. We got it off of an online auction site so it was about half of the normal rental cost and it was still pricey. It was perfect for our family since we could put the baby down for a nap and still keep an eye on the kids playing on the beach. The only downside of being right on the beach is being woken up everymorning by the noisy equipment grooming the sand. The pool was great but a little bit cold. The kids loved sitting by the pool and ordering food from the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry_brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

If you want that safe old fashion feeling of lying on the beach and walking a neighbourhood this is the place to be. The cottages are fantastic with; washer, dryer, dishwasher, blenders and everything you would need to call it home. Go fly a kite, bounce on the trampoline on the lake or just lye by the pool and have a delightful drink, truly relaxing. The bar service around the pool is a little slow but the personalities that serve you make up for that (Red headed Eric) Always look forward to getting away and this time we had the entire family including everyones pets had a great time.. Don't forget to go hike up the mountain and take a picture or two.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VancouverCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oroville
3.5 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
2.3 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#4 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Bains' RV Park
#3 of 4 in Oroville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Beach Resort

Property: Veranda Beach Resort
Address: 299 Eastlake Rd, Oroville, WA 98844-9544
Location: United States > Washington > Oroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Oroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda Beach is located on over a mile of private, sandy beach on the sun-drenched shores of beautiful Lake Osoyoos, a few minutes across the border in Oroville WA's Okanogan Valley; Famous for its world class wineries and golf. Clusters of cottages masterfully set in a village reminiscent of the "50s". Guest check-in/out, marina, moorage, boat & watersport rentals, electric chaise loungers, fun boats with waterguns, beach volleyball, firepit, miles of walking trails and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Veranda Beach Hotel Oroville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing