We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Judge a Book by its Cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Camaray Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oroville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camaray Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oroville
Certificate of Excellence
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by its Cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

When we drove through town late in the afternoon, I glanced at the hotel and thought "mh!"...it turned out to be the only hotel in town so we put our initial worries aside and were in for a pleasant surprise. Great staff, clean rooms, friendly everything. It was my Dad's b-day the following day and I asked Sandy if she had a little candle, by chance - and she did - thank you, Sandy, it put a smile on my Dad's face.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde A, General Manager at Camaray Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
I think I should put on our reader board "Older Building - Newer Rooms". Today we finish the complete makeover of one more room. We appreciate you taking the chance with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    38
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
18
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We were going to stay in Osoyoos but the rooms ran too high ($140 for most basic). The Camaray offered us a king-size bed in a very clean room for $65 including taxes. We went for a beautiful morning walk along the Similkameen River and then breakie across the street - would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karensheffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was clean with all the necessities. The AC unit was a bit loud but worked well. Check-in staff were friendly and helpful. This is an older property but it appears to be well maintained. There are a handful of restaurants within walking distance. Really an excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2006VFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Camaray Motel was an excellent value for an extended stay. The room was clean and well furnished. It included a microwave and small fridge. Free Wi-Fi was a definite perk and made handling business activities in an efficient manner. The motel has a swimming pool and laundry on site. Be assured the cost of doing laundry is well below that of most other facilities. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this motel to all who may be in the Oroville, Washington area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Camaray Motel seems to be the only motel in this small town and it does not even show up in most online hotel booking sites. To make a reservation, just call the friendly folks at the hotel. We did not expect much from this motel and we were pleasantly surprised by it.

Even though the hotel was non-smoking, our first room smell of smoke. We did not have any trouble changing to a different room which did not have the smoke smell. I think the problem is that some people smoke just outside their rooms so the smell drift into the rooms.

Our room was clean and it was big enough for 2 adults and 2 children. There was a fridge, a microwave and a TV with ample channels. The shower and bathroom was clean, the beds comfortable and they even have a DVD player in the room. DVDs are available for checkout from the office. This motel also has a swimming pool. One thing we found lacking was insufficient power outlets for charging electronics.

As others have indicated, parking at the hotel can be a issue when the hotel is fully booked. I was told that they have 40+ rooms and 20+ parking spots. We did not find parking to be a problem though because there were lots of street parking, which seems to be safe and nearby.

There a several restaurants along Main Street near the hotel. Several blocks north is a Subway and Prince's Center. The latter is a grocery store with a deli with OK cheap food. Breakfast special is $2.99.

If Camaray Motel is full, your other options are:

Eden Valley Ranch cabins about 10 miles east
Hotels in Osoyoos, BC, Canada, about 7 miles north
Hotels in Tonasket about 17 miles south

Overall, we were happy with our stay at Camaray and we will not hesitate to stay there again. It provides clean, basic accommodation at an inexpensive price.

Room Tip: Ask to check out the assigned room in case the smell of smoke bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleTravelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde A, General Manager at Camaray Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the generous review. We apologize for what we call the "old motel smell" which is harder to get out of some rooms than others. I'm glad that though we were full, we were able to find you a room that worked. Just think of us as in a huge city where the only parking is either paid for or on the street. Yep, big downtown Oroville... maybe that's why they built this place with only 28 parking spots for 40 rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very Friendly staff (even the cat!) Clean rooms, great location! We have stayed in lots of com parables & this one comes out on top! The only improvement would be to make that free coffee in the a.m. stronger! Us Canucks don't like weak Java!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tajim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde A, General Manager at Camaray Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We have heard that Tim Horton's coffee is not as strong as Starbucks. Hmmmm... what do we do now?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
305 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and paid $65 a night.
The room was very good, I have stayed in a lot worse places for a lot more money.
Bed was very comfortable, shower was good, wifi had a very good single and AC worked excellent.
Not sure about the pool area as we never used it.
Quiet at night.
Lobby has coffee on from 7 to 9.
Very pleasant stay

Room Tip: There online reservation system showed there was no vacancy but when I phoned he had rooms available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERDFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde A, General Manager at Camaray Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Out of fear of overbooking, if we are close to being full, we turn off our online booking system. Give us a call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oroville
6.6 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunrise Inn
7.1 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
6.9 mi away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#9 of 26 in Osoyoos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
5.5 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#4 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camaray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camaray Motel

Property: Camaray Motel
Address: 1320 Main Street, Oroville, WA 98844-9384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Oroville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camaray Motel provides clean, comfortable and convenient accommodations in downtown Oroville, Washington. There are 6 restaurants within walking distance (4 less than 1/2 block away). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing